Foolish Update

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Dear investors,

never put all your eggs in one basket! Same is true for investments. I just mention it because I guess many here are heavily invested in crypto, but diversification is key, if you want to be prepared for everything! Despite all the moon hype one should not forget to hold some cash as well, you never know.

Thanks to the wild Bitcoin run (sadly not the Hive stake I have), the pie chart of my investments (as of today) is also quite heavy on Cryptos:

image.png

And I am a gold bug, too - I admit it!

But today it is about stocks. The Motley Fool is a company, which offers decent stock tips (app. one buy recommendation per month) via a subscription service, including analyses and company updates. In my last post about it (here) I showed you my (initial) experience so far.

image.png

Start was in early July, so I can oversee now almost half a year.

My investments in Fool-recommended stocks so far (buy price includes transaction fees):

StockDate of purchasePrice at purchasePrice today/when soldPerformance
Adesso SE07-Jul-202057,74€67,5€ (sold on 23-Sep-2020)(1)17%
Crowdstrike13-Jul-2020102,42€172,6€68,5%
ASML27-Aug-2020321,35€408,6€27,2%
Shop Apotheke17-Sep-2020128,89€148,2€14,9%
JD.com23-Sep-202063,77€71,63€12,3%
LPKF01-Oct-202021,29€29,45€38,3%
Bandwidth21-Oct-2020158,84€125,23€-21,16%
Aumann AG11-Nov-202011,07€11,42€3,16%
BYD CO.30-Nov-202019,12€21,54€12,6%
Lemonade28-Dec-202095,59€99,83€4,43%

(1) After fees, taxes

All except one in the green zone, some of them quite considerably! One could say that the Nasdaq has developed well, too. But not all of these are Nasdaq-stocks, and there is not a single index, that reflects these picks. By the way, I would never ever buy an investment fond or index certificate. To much fees, too little flexibility. Why should I pay the salaries of those fond managers?

Last stock pick from Motley was Lemonade (LMND), a US-based insurance company with a digital platform and high end AI tools. It is growing super fast and shaking up the entire insurance industry (worth 5 tri$). Expect some volatility though, as the stock ran up high already (350% since its IPO in July 2020). I got my order filled only after it dropped back from >114€. Also there was a lockup expiration of insider shares that lowered the price, but seems that´s over now.

image.png

Other than that my best performing stocks in 2020 were Tencent and Ballard Power, my worst flop was Nicola which I recently got gid off with quite a loss.

So all in all so far I am still quite happy with the "foolish" recommendations. And 2021 should be also a good year for stocks. Why? The biggest chunk of freshly printed money (and there is a lot printed right now!) will eventually still go into the stock market. More and more will flow into Cryptos, yes, but not yet the majority.

What do you think? Are you "all in" with Cryptos or do you diversify? What were your 2020 top performers (apart from Bitcoin and LEO)?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Du wurdest als Member von @investinthefutur gevotet!
Dazu noch ein kleines !BEER & VOIN-Token

Congratulations @stayoutoftherz! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Happy New Year - Project Activity Update
First Hive Power Up Day of 2021 - Get a Hive Power delegation