You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Big Reset Is, In Fact, The Big Gap

in LeoFinance2 years ago

I've not read the book or seen the movie. The world can be polarised, but it's not purely black and white. Some people won't question how things are, but I think a lot do have their own minds. Just see the massive protests that happen all over the world for various causes.

We do need a better balance of wealth and resources in the world. There's little benefit to someone having $100b when others live on $5/month. I just consider myself lucky to be born somewhere that I could have enough of everything I really need.

We need to keen an eye on the leaders, both political and commercial.

!PIZZA

Sort:  

When you have some free time, try watching the movie. It is a very interesting experience, just trying to recognize the characters and observe their evolution, as they reincarnate in various eras.

There's little benefit to someone having $100b when others live on $5/month.

In and by itself, this statement is misleading, at least. There are many causes and conditions that led to those having $100b and to those living with $5/month. With that being said, an overall attitude of compassion and understanding can go a long way. Sadly, we're not seeing that yet, especially in places where you would normally expect it.

We are seeing a lot of rich people hoarding wealth, often where it cannot be taxed. Some of them do a lot of charity work though. Maybe Bill Gates really does want to do good with his billions, but he is treated with suspicion by some. Nobody's perfect. Anyway, the difference in income between CEOs and their workers has massively increased in recent decades. Those who decide where the money goes may have gotten greedier.

A lot of the poorer ones don't have much power to change their situation, so it's not their own fault. I am not fully convinced by 'trickle down' economics.

!BEER

I don't understand the concept of "hoarding wealth", but I'll do some research. As for "rich people" being the enemy, I openly disagree. It's a very dangerous generalization.

My standard answer for anyone praising the benefits of egalitarianism and communism is to practice it first with their own life, in the best place to practice this, which is North Korea at the moment. Live there for a month, and then come back with the insights. I've lived for 19 years in a communist country and I know what I'm talking about.

We're not living in a perfect system, but any attempt at controlling wealth is doomed. Working with the human, not with his wealth, trying to foster genuine compassion (which is not forced redistribution of wealth) may yield better results, IMHO.

Aren't some rich people buying up property, gold, art and probably crypto too. I'm not saying the rich are 'the enemy', but they tend to be the ones with the power to make a difference. If they can invest in schemes that allow people to improve their lot rather than buying yet another Ferrari then I think it's a benefit. Whether they want a return on that investment is up to them.

It doesn't necessarily need control to improve things. Some wealthy people have pledged to give away money because it seems a good thing to do. The rich can be compassionate :)

I'm not saying communism is the answer. The ideal version might have some benefits, but it's been corrupted everywhere it was tried from what I can see. People are imperfect and some will always be selfish. Of course I'm not going to live in North Korea. Your experiences having transitioned from communism will be different and so may our thoughts on these matters.

I might be considered rich by some. I own a house (actually more than one due to inheritance), have a couple of (old) cars and can afford to treat myself, but I don't aspire to a 'Lambo' or a Rolex or even 'designer' clothes. I don't need those to be happy, but our society preaches that consumption is good. I do give to charities and I also pay a higher rate of tax than many. I don't mind paying tax if it is well used and it may not be currently.

I am no expert on economics, but I see a lot of shitty things going on in the world driven by greed rather than need.

but they tend to be the ones with the power to make a difference

To some extent, yes, they experience less friction. But everybody has the power to make a difference.

Consumerism is a dead end, on that we agree. But it's not necessarily started by rich people. On the contrary, poor people tend to embrace the wrong values in their pursuit to become rich.

All I'm saying is that focusing on external attributes, like the perceived wealth of somebody, for instance, is not going to produce results. Focusing on humans, on their education, on their clarity, on compassion, I believe this will create a better place for all.

You are confusing rhetoric with practice. Best Korea is not Communist, and no country on Earth is, or will ever be, until there is no collectivisation. N. Korea and all purported Communisms are Oligarchies by deception.

Government and all corporations are vectors for corruption. In order for the fraud to be maintained, something more than lip service must be produced, but that is not a reason to praise collectivisation.

Goodwill is the only capital I have any confidence in.


Hey @dragosroua, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.