You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do you receive requests from Family and Friends about kinda Absurd Money making Offers?

in LeoFinance3 years ago

There seems to be a consistent pattern to a lot of online selling. I have looked at some music courses and some of them do a similar deal where you get lots of 'free' stuff if you buy now. It is open to question whether anyone ever paid what they claim for it. Some of these people also want you to buy further courses before you have even started the first one. Personally I want to see if it is any good. I am more likely to trust someone who does not rely on such 'tricks'.

A while back a guy I worked with tried to get me onto a scheme he did of selling some health products where you got a cut from anyone you signed up. I'm just not a sales person and I would not feel good even trying to sell to friends and family.

I guess that some of these schemes work for some people.

Sort:  

Indeed, most of the online selling follow very similar patterns. Some of them leading to true scams, others may just take money from people thinking the world can give them more or less free money. Or actually think some task is as simple as it is told by the seller. They pay for the package, they get decent information and service, but then discover they are not sales people at all. It's best to discover this before making the effort to pay.

The pyramid sales, is something that is around quite a lot. Not all bad, to be honest. Tupperware is sold in a similar scheme and very successful; This is ongoing for decades, maybe half a century. But this type of pyramid sales is profitable for those who live B2C sales, on- and/or offline. One must be born with the right gen's to be such a sales guy, it's something very difficult to learn.

Great you didn't go for the teaching courses. I believe: Best is to spend some (more) money and get private teachers, or go to physical or online schools where one can talk directly with people before enrolling into the program. Call me old fashioned, but like you, I want to see things first, before I spend money on something :)

My mum sold Tupperware when I was young and we still have some of it.

I have bought some of the music courses, but just went for the basic offer to see what it was like. The high pressure selling does put me off. Mind you, most of them provide some decent quality free lessons too. I think they may operate through some agency that persuades them to use the 'buy now to save lots' strategy. I have seen it too many times to fall for it.

Tupperware is great! I don't have it, but my mom has a lot.
I just told her, I can find something else to Tupperware that is as good. Then I went to some store with all sort of super professional stuff (and expensive) to proof my point 🤣🤣🤣

This pushy sales, I think is something that is quite American (North American.... well, USA). It's not for me as well. And true, its a selling technique for products and services that may be of good quality. However, like you, I usally don't go for anything when a something is sold to me in such way.