Getting their hooks in

in LeoFinance3 years ago

A few weeks ago, I bought about 200 UNTAMED Splinterlands packs for about 400 dollars on Hive-Engine and today, I opened them all and gained cards to the value of around 2100 dollars. That is not a bad turnaround and while I have no idea if in the future the unopened packs will be worth more, currently I am enjoying playing the game a bit and now I have a little bit more room to expand.

splinterlands.png

While I still have no idea how long I will play for before I lose interest or decide I am spending too much time on it and go cold-turkey like I did with other games, what I find interesting is how addictive it can be. Not the game itself, though it is more interesting than I thought it would be, but the play combined with the economic aspect means that the "game" is far more complex than something on the Playstation.

And, because of the skin in the game, it becomes more addictive again, as it essentially demands attention, as there is real costs to play and, playing attracts more rewards. This drives an internal demand loop that at least most people will be affected by.

After opening the 190 UNTAMED packs I had left, I jokingly asked @abh12345 and @azircon if in two years time I would be a millionaire and the answer was "yes, but not from my Splinterlands card"

Keep writing.

This is what I plan on doing anyway of course, because while I have quite liked sitting building some teams to play while I am watching the Olympics, I prefer the feeling I get from writing. Plus, I suspect that at least on a daily level, I will probably earn more from my writing than I will from my playing - especially since I pretty much suck at the moment. Though after only about a week of playing in the evenings, I am doing okay, though I do have a couple cards delegated to me to help me along.

The joys of holding social capital!

The social side to this is also a big draw for the game and while I have barely stepped into the Splinterlands Discord and likely won't spend much time there, it is pretty clear that the active players communicate a fair bit and all know each other, if only by reputation. This is a massive thing when people are saying, "So and So are the best players in the world" and speaks of the potential to come.

I think in the future, not only will Splinterlands need to build more around the community aspect, it too becomes an integral part of the value potential, for as we know, Hive already has a massive amount of experience with tokenization and rewarding of content around communities. This is already happening now, but I see a future where it becomes smoother and more polished, where millions pf people are able to play, breathe and live off Splinterlands globally.

Before opening the packs I was asked if I was an investor or a speculator and I think that just like Hive, I am both, but on Splinterlands I am currently more interested in the game itself than the desire to sell unseen packs at some future profit. Ideally, I could be both, but at this point, I am not going to spend thousands of hours and dollars building from scratch to try and earn from it and I will keep it at the distance of fun.

Who know though, perhaps at some point the cards I have are worth something significant to players coming into the game and they will want to rent or buy and I will be willing to sell, but for now, it will remain the most expensive game I have ever played, even though what I hold pales in comparison to the majority of players out there.

What I am most interested in personally is the effect that this can have on the greater Hive ecosystem and the people interacting on the Hive blockchain. I think that for many, Splinterlands is a good enough reason to be here, for many others, it is a great secondary reason to be here. I see that in the future, there will be more secondary products and services that pop up to interact with Splinterlands and add more value streams to it.

For Hive this gives an attractive gateway in and for Splinterlands, Hive gives access to a whole lot of supporting aspects that mean the community can grow in multiple ways simultaneously, without the dev team having to do it all. Not only this, all of the secondary channels will also benefit from tokenization and gamification, creating dozens of games for players to play, while they play the main game itself.

what is cool about Hive, is that it can support many such experiences and offer them all access to a lot of positive aspects that they can leverage and compound with each other, so that they all reside in a complex ecosystem where technology, economy and society can all reside and interact with each other in a feeless, transparent and decentralized way. Pretty cool.

While a 500% gain on an investment is great, as most of my skin is in the Hive ecosystem game, the most exciting financial part is what it means for everything else. As I have always said, I believe the potential to build a massively valuable ecosystem on the Hive blockchain is huge and current market is only a drop in the ocean as to what will be arriving into the industry in the next couple years. When people come, they will find far more than a game or a social platform, they will find a place that they can interact with daily and make part of their habits and a piece of their homes.

Ownership is what this is all about and the more hooks we own, the more value we can capture.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Well i did got my Hive account three days ago after i joined Splinterlands and purchase my Summoner's SpellBook with WAXP as i do play few games on the WAX blockchain.
The game is pure Dope!
I am already Bronze 1 and on my way to Silver 3 despite the fact that today was a bit of a really hard day with a lot of losses for the Daily Quest (one point even down to Bronze 2, but i manage to recover)... but it was pure fun!
Hive blockchain is Dope too... and i notice there are more games as well. I have my eyes on Brewmaster and Rabona in the near future!
And yes... congrats for the cards open! You did wow!!!

Check out the Hive Gaming community if you also enjoy posting about your experience with games :)

splintertalks.io is the forum where you can learn unimaginable tricks. good luck.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Well i did got my Hive account three days ago after i joined Splinterlands and purchase my Summoner's SpellBook with WAXP as i do play few games on the WAX blockchain.

And you are here posting? Awesome!

The game is pure Dope!

For an FPS player, I like it more than I thought I would :)

I am already Bronze 1 and on my way to Silver 3 despite the fact that today was a bit of a really hard day with a lot of losses for the Daily Quest (one point even down to Bronze 2, but i manage to recover)... but it was pure fun!

I keep forgetting to do the quests... There should be a reminder :)

Hive blockchain is Dope too... and i notice there are more games as well. I have my eyes on Brewmaster and Rabona in the near future!

While I have been around here "a while" this is the first game I have played. I think @revisesociology might be a good source of some other games as well.

I have no idea what is good or not, but opening is fun :)

I will give you a bit of a vote to make sure that you can start earning some HIVE too :) You will get a reward in 7 days from now and you can "power it up" and start earning on your Hive interaction also.

Welcome to the Hive Blockchain mate!

This is the Hive Gaming Community gateway:
https://peakd.com/c/hive-140217/created

Great! I already subscribed... Thanks a lot for the warm welcome and great to see i manage to get a massive upvote from your side! I love this concept of "Sharing is Caring"!
Next week i will buy HIVE and i will "power up" as well...

Glad to see you are liking it so far. Lots of stuff to get into here and it will keep growing in every way it can :)

@Exodegame too - check that out!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Welcome to THE game.

I have played a few on hive, put some money into some as well, but other than this one nothing stuck.

I am a Pokémon player of last 22 years in various formats, but currently this is taking 90% of my gaming time. That is saying something.

Like all turn based card playing games this went through lull too. I know many quit during those times, but I am glad I stuck with it.

The earning aspect of this game is unique and it can get quite deep in terms of strategy. There is a professional aspect to it, which I will introduce you later.

Enjoy the game for now. You have excellent support and years of experience behind you.

I can imagine that when there were mostly bots playing, the social side wasn't too great.

I like the strategy part of it, though I sick at it. Often I lose and have no idea how :D

I think I have close to a lifetime worth of experience for support from just three people :D

Play the first season intuitively, and then slowly we will point you to a few basic techniques. It is in a way like chess, only simpler. You will have to memorize combinations, and set up. You will land into your own preffered set up that you will play over and over again, and master them. No body is invincible, and this is not a pay-to-win game (although you do have to pay quite a bit), it requires a lot of skills. However, currently I am not aware of any game in the world that pays this much and is functional and interesting.

It's going nuts at the moment. That kind of growth is brilliant for the chain. Every player who buys the Spellbook is a new Hive account.
Many will be looking at other games being built, looking for the next Splinterlands,to get in early.

I tried to onboard an axie player once, upon choosing username he asked me what the odds are someone had already taken it as it was very, very unique with both name and numbers attached to it. I looked it up on hiveblocks and asked him if he plays splinterlands, he said yeah and I had to explain to him that he already has an account. He still had to request his keys from splinterlands as far as I know but was cool how he already had an account and could plug into the rest of the community right after. Maybe the splinterlands team could make that more obvious in the future and incentivize players to post 2 earn as well. (could be things have changed since then, this was over a year ago)

@kiokizz hosts - https://kiokizz.github.io/Splinterlands/seasonReportCard.html - which lets players (signed in through keychain) generate a report card at the end of each season, and post it to the chain.

I think team already does incentivise - The weekly card and drawing challenges and now the social media play to earn challenge.

It's not bad, TBH!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Alright cool, as I said this was like a year ago!

It has taken me 4 years to get interested enough ;)

I am quite interested to see what kinds of other activities new accounts make on the chain over time.

I've taken a small punt on https://www.risingstargame.com

Also maxed my Golem a few months ago, just in time!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Haven't explored rising star. Big fan of rabona.io and I don't even like soccer.

I've been slowly. learning the dynamics of the game because I'm with you...I'm much more comfortable with a control in my hand and playing a FPS lol

But the 'collecting' of cards is what really drew me to it. I'm in love with that and started buying some GFLs way before I even knew about SPS...Now it's just icing on the cake.

Loving this experience!

I haven't got into the "collecting" side of it yet. I have still to learn what is worth holding and not, as well as what all the combining things do. It is a bit of fun :)

Guess you haven't played Magic: the Gathering then :D

I remember being told something or other about unopened packs as well and I was like nope if I have them they're getting opened and used XD

not that I play these days, I kind of go in bursts x_x

Never played any of these kinds of games. I have friends that played D&D and similar as kids with the million different dice etc, but I never even played a round. Perhaps it is because I had girlfriends ;D

I lose a lot!

I don't like DnD so I'll say you didn't miss much and then I'll probably get downvoted to nothing XD

I've only really played DnD, Shadowrun and World of Darkness and the last one is the one I've created little monsters in eldest's friends. We're having a great time though :)

Yep I know that feeling XD

My friends (as teens) played a huge amount of shadowrun. I sat in for one session with them, just to get a feel, but didn't go past that.

Do you remember the choose your own adventure books?

Yes, they had some rereadability following the different paths but I didn't really get into them past that.

Damn. I never won a golden legendary...Well again I never bought 200 UNTAMED Splinterlands packs either😜

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I didn't even know what I had opened :D

By the way, you might want to add your referral link to your splinterlands posts?
So far no one used my link but it could make a nice bonus. Who knows maybe you will be lucky here as well...

I played for a while. But, I realized that it felt more like a chore than an actual desire to play. So I sold all my cards and converted my gains to Hive Power. I think that if I were retired with no other obligations, I might play again to pass the time. I can’t spend all day writing.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I think the people who are doing it for the rewards must feel the chore of it, but I have no idea about any of that, and am just enjoying experimenting with teams. I spend so long writing, that I don't have a huge amount of time to play and, I find that if I "play or consume" too much, I don't have much to write about.

It's definitely got it's hooks all the way in at the moment. The gameplay is so much more interesting than it was a few years ago... with lots of different combinations available to everyone.

If you find that you don't enjoy the game... you can now easily rent out all your cards... so you'll be earning no matter what.

Love that though... keep writing.

I have rented one card from the market, but I don't think I have even used it! I should learn more about all of the options, but it is fun just playing battles. win or lose.

Yeah, I really enjoy it... I just had a look at some of your battles and it looks like you're structuring your decks well and doing great!

low mana games I am getting drilled on - same with the ones with too many rules. I don't know my deck well enough, what others might play, nor how to counter them anyway :)

I've honestly loved splinterlands since it first came out. I believe it was my friend crypto game. Doesn't take much to learn it and start getting involved but it can get as technical as you want in terms of strats etc which gives it depth for advanced users. Once all the new features roll out like SPS tokens, lands and Chaos packs things are going to get crazy end of this year.

Doesn't take much to learn it

Speak for yourself! I feel mentally challenged, though I did have a stroke a few weeks before starting :D

and start getting involved but it can get as technical as you want in terms of strats etc which gives it depth for advanced users.

I a, learnign by doing, which is my normal way. Hope it starts to click.

I have no idea about all of the other things coming, but I hope there will always be a "simple" version for people who just want to have some fun.

I hope you're doing better! and that's true since I started back in Alpha to me it seems easy and I've lost that how to get started from scratch not knowing anything. (one of the key aspects I think that is currently holding Hive back but that's another story)

What I like most about Splinterlands is it takes about 20 minutes to a hour to do my daily quest depended on how fast I win my battles. Unlike Axie which is a massive 2-3 hour + time sink seems excessive.

Agree simple version for new comers is important as Splinterlands has massive room for onboarding new players still.

The difficulty for me is that I have never really played RPGs before, so the process if foreign. I will get there though and it is fun to learn and thing about different aspects.

Are the quests meant to be done in a day only? :D

Agree simple version for new comers is important as Splinterlands has massive room for onboarding new players still.

Perhaps there should be a bunnies version :)

It's optimal to do the quests each day to unlock your rewards. At high tiers it unlocks a few bucks worth of cards, potions, dec and rare/legendary cards which help to level up your deck a bit more. I don't believe it has to be done in that day and will carry over of a max of two quests if you didn't complete one that day.

lol, I'm sure there will be bunnies soon enough

I will try to learn what Splinterland is :)

Might be fun, might not be :)

Congratulations @tarazkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

you seem to write like I play splinterlands, and I am an F’in good player.

!PIZZA
!BEER

Connect

Trade


@tarazkp! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @eii.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (4/10)


Hey @tarazkp, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Hi Taraz,
you express exactly what I feel. I am relatively new to the game and the Hive ecosystem, but I think I can grasp the overall value of the platforme and the spectacular potential, Hive as well as Splinterlands has.
This game ist addictive as hell and I don't think, I will ever be bored by it, even if it is due to the financial aspect of playing for yield, or renting out cards and work out a plan not to lose your deck power.
As I said, I'm in the early stages of this journey and those of you, who are further along the road can be role models or guides and I really enjoy those blogposts of enthusiasm and hope.
Keep on writing.