Playing the gold keys

in LeoFinance4 years ago

When I write I take my inspiration from all over the place, conversations I have, little things I observe and like this post, images. I liked the edit of this image, so I decided to use it as a basis of a post.

Gold keys.

I don't have any gold, but I do have some keys.

OI000731 2.jpg

People talk about Bitcoin being gold 2.0, but I think it is somewhat better than gold due to the mobility and additional layers of security. Gold is hard to travel with, crypto is about as transportable as something gets. I still don't have much Bitcoin myself, but I do have a little, along with plenty of other shit coin bags I am holding. Will they everbe worth something?

Perhaps it doesn't matter if they are not, after all, since I don't use them to finance my life, of they all go to zero, I am pretty much where I would be if I had never got in at all.

Would it be a waste of time, energy and nerves?

Yes.

But, at the same time I have learned a lot and had a fair amount of fun in the process. Just think how much tume people waste normally for no reason whatsoever - at least the last 4 years had the potential to give some return.

I am pretty positive that not everything I hold will go to zero. It is good to be prepared though.

Time wasting is something I frown upon, although we all do it. Just imagine if all the time, energy and resources that have been put into various social movements or talking about Covid was spent on something that really mattered, like improving the economic conditions or the environment, would things look better? Imagine if even half of all the mebtal power wasted over the last 30 years was focused into improving air and water quality globally, would the problems be as dire?

I remember hearing that enough energy is burned in the 100 meter sprint final at the Olympics to boil a bucket of water.

I dont know if that is true, but I can imagine that if all the mental power was put into solving a few global problems with the same focus, things would look a whole lot different. I believe that a lot of the reason why we can't do that is that it is not economically viable to do so. Solutions don't make money, subscriptions and incremental upgrades do.

I think we are going to profit-focus our way into extinction. We will get to the point of no return before we put ourselves before profit.

We are all part of the problem. You included. The laws of supply and demand dictate that the world we have created is a direct result of what we have demanded. To change the world, we need to change what we demand.

it is inconvenient though.

We like to have easy and the world we have that we have created yet we despise, is easy. Sure, we want different to what we have, but not enough to demand it. So the supply keeps coming. What people should realize is that regardless of how freaky or terrible something is, if there is a demand for it, someone will be willing to supply it, for a price.

How come we want a better economy, companies and governments, yet we keep consuming them as they are today?

There is a difference between vocally demanding change and consuming in a way that supports that change. If you want a better, more opportunity filled economy, you best kit keep looking to fiat as your solution to your future - that is just more if the same and exactly what will ensure that change is impossible.

The gold keys we all hold is to our decision making on what we consume - each time we opt into the status quo economy, we are giving a little of our gold to the system - each time we opt out and into crypto, we are transferring a little of our wealth into a new way, a new future - one that we own a small piece of and collectively, all of it. With continued opting out of centralised and into decentralised economies, the more economic mass and therefore power, gets transferred off of the traditional vehicles and onto the new. In time, the pendulum swings far enough that the mass topples on its axis and the whole world changes direction.

I think most of us as individuals go not understand that collectively, we have the economic power to change anything, because consumer demand drives everything. There is no bank, no government, no company or social platform that can operate profitably if we truly choose to restrict them.

Or empower them.

It requires our gold active key.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Posted Using LeoFinance

Sort:  

I think this is why in many ways as successful as I've been in recruiting a number of folks to the #hive the majority just can't be bothered. Even though you explain you are rewarded for the effort you put in. In a subliminal way i think this is why they don't sign up. Faecesbook is passive, like gormlessly staring at a tv. Very little effort is required yet they will spend vasts amount of time on both of these activities. Because its largely passive. The few that have signed up don't expect riches but have none the less reaped a fair bit of reward as they applied themselves. Spent some actual energy on something. People want change but it's like they expect someone else to implement it. I don't think it's because the majority feel powerless but I see a lot of apathy and alor of lazy people. it's also sadly why it's easy to get the lazy and apathetic to follow certain types of people. people who promise things that for them is the path of least resistance

Faecesbook is passive, like gormlessly staring at a tv.

Yes, it is all entertainment, all consumption all not going to give any return other than filling time for the majority of people.

as they applied themselves. Spent some actual energy on something.

And, there is value in application - I feel better about myself as a creator over me as a consumer. Doesn't that matter to people?

I agree. It's why I enjoy this platform so much. I have to actually have to put some real thought and application into it even its me having fun. I like to mess with the new comic format for things and put some thought into any creative process. It's fun first, feedback is the best reward frompeople I really don't know. $ reward is last . I don't expect a fortune for every post. If it was that easy it would just be selfies all over the platform and no depth to the content.

I have to actually have to put some real thought and application into it even its me having fun.

It is like having a hobby of playing tennis or going to the gym - play hard, life personal bests, improve.

If it was that easy it would just be selfies all over the platform and no depth to the content.

A lot of the disillusioned who believed it was like this, didn't last long. I guess there should be a place for the content - but there should be no expectation of it getting rewarded.

100% agree. I sometimes run into a mental creative block but thats why i like my coffee morning post. It's more catharsis for me to do every morning but even the I decided to funk around with it and make it more interesting for me if not the reader. Had some really excellent feedback too which was cool. Also it keep me engaged and then my inspiration comes along. I've only recently made a favourites feed as i was missing peoples posts that i like to engage with. that's now been corrected

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I don't have any gold, but I do have some key

Your creativity marvels me and I hope to write this well as time goes on.
The problem with crypto is the volatility and the rate at which a mighty person can reduce to nothing. Today hive is fourteen cents. when it was 18 cents thought to myself that this should be the best time to buy, however today if i Had bought hive my loss will be about 30 percent which could be very frustrating.

Although I buy the idea of still investing in crypto, however, if I am to invest in crypto it should be with a very little percentage of my money...

Overall I can imagine how people will get convinced to opt into crypto in my part of the world

however today if i Had bought hive my loss will be about 30 percent which could be very frustrating.

Just think about the volatility of Bitcoin now - and imagine it 10 years ago. But, if you had bought 18 cent bitcoin... :D

Although I buy the idea of still investing in crypto, however, if I am to invest in crypto it should be with a very little percentage of my money...

Only ever what you can afford to lose completely - but, everyone should be trying to set up some kind of investment portfolio of some kind - which means having some resources that can be lost completely. To each their own at the end of the day - but we also have to live with the decisions we didn't make too.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Interesting piece. Writing with inspiration from our immediate environment is key to a fun contenting. I learnt this art not long ago and it's amazing.

On your theme, truly, our keys are as golden as gold itself, though they never go through the goldsmith's fire and hammers. I've been with Gold keys for just 2 years and about 8 months. It's an interesting journey. The learning has been more amazing than anything else.

Posted Using LeoFinance

What do you think has been the most important or surprising thing you have learnt since you started here?

Posted Using LeoFinance

  • Social creative writing
  • Everything cryptocurrency

Posted Using LeoFinance

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

To change the world, we need to change what we demand

Very true. And I think that in order to change what we demand we need education which will change the way we think and make decisions

Do not expect any formal education on this for years - it is about self and peer education for a while to come.

I agree. Self education is of paramount importance, especially now. Actually, I think it has always been.