The will to pay the cost of the game

in LeoFinance3 years ago

While everyone is counting their Bitcoin gains, here I am trying to earn a little HIVE, as I have done for almost four years now and have really enjoyed the process. I am not sure what the biggest value point on Hive is for me, but I do like earning and work hard for it. I have never been the kind of person to want to get paid for nothing, so I do what I can in the best way I can do it. I see writing as a creative pursuit, making me somewhat of an artist, and I don't think self-respecting artists like their sub-par performances, even if they get paid.

IMG_20191103_154415 1.jpg

But, poor performance is possibly a more informative result than great performance, because the poor gets dissected and analyzed, while the great gets accepted as such without much thought. It is an interesting inconsistency - we spend more time understanding where we went wrong, rather than working out what we did right.

A lot of people ask me what they should do to be more successful on Hive and the answer is pretty much the best I can give - work. What that work is, might differ significantly from person to person depending on what kind of skills and preferences they have, but at the end of the day, nothing comes for free and to get paid, Something has to be done.

Personally, everything I create is exclusively for Hive, but there is still the cultural sense that people shouldn't talk about their earnings and if like me who earns relatively well, it seems like bragging. It is uncomfortable for me to talk about my earnings, but I force myself to speak about them at a high level at least because I think that there is value in getting some background in what it could take. I find it interesting when people look at the "bottom line" and would like similar, but don't really understand what it has taken for me to get to this point. For other people, it has likely been a different journey.

The funny thing is that there is transparency of earnings on Hive and people tend to be stickybeaks at times, since they don't get to see that much of it in the real world. And a lot of people are quite curious as to what others might be up to. It is a bit of a strange concept to have financial transparency, but I think that if there was a little bit more conversation around it, a lot of the stigma would be taken away and people could possibly start learning from each other, rather than guessing at what others are doing and being filled with some kind of envy of result.

Hive is a funny world in this regard, as while everyone has their own private life of various kinds off Hive - people look at the on Hive situation as the indicator of success. Someone with no HIVE POWER must be poor, someone with a lot must be rich. According to @Arcange's http://hivebuzz.me/ranking, I am the 88th largest HIVE POWER holder on the platform. I find that pretty incredible, even though it has taken a lot of work and foregoing to get to this point. People don't really consider the opportunity cost of work - other than the leisure time they might rather be spending on something.

If my memory serves, at the last All Time Highs, my account had about 15,000 staked tokens in it and was worth over 100K dollars - I now have 11x that amount and it is worth about a fifth of what the total was. That is quite a price retraction over the last almost three years in January, but I haven't missed posting on Hive since some time in mid-2017. Does that make me an addict, desperate, insane?

Perhaps. But I enjoy this a lot. Not just the writing which I love, but also the game of Hive, the interaction, the numbers, the earning - I am not a maximizer by any stretch of the crypto imagination, but that doesn't mean I don't like playing. Don't you like being good at what you do?

How do you know you are good?

There is always a score of some kind, even if it is an internal board based on feelings. I know that I have written some very good posts that I recognized as such, but they earned next to nothing, some of them literally nothing. There was still value in the posts, it just wasn't financial value. What is the value of sitting down at a Playstation for 5 hours of your day, or in front of Netflix? How come as soon as people get onto Hive, they expect a return for their activity?

Ah, your Playstation gaming or Netflix isn't work... And you see the work on Hive as a job.

One thing everyone who posts to Hive for a reward should remember is, no one employed you. There wasn't an advertisement, there was no interview, you didn't sign a contract with a salary and remuneration package attached - you opted-in and chose to post in the hope for reward. You expectations of how much you deserve are invalid and while you are free to question and even influence changes to the system that affect this, at any given point in time, you are subject to the rules of the current blockchain, just like everyone else.

The earlier people accept that Hive isn't perfect, but there is opportunity, the better. The way the blockchain computes today will change at the next hardfork, the culture of the community of people posting to Hive is changing daily. Things change - perhaps there is an alignment problem.

There is about 400M HIVE out there, so if it was worth 10 dollars each, the market cap would be 4 billion dollars worth and the pool of currently about 800K would be worth about 8 million dollars, with a lot of that going to user rewards, through creation or curation. Currently, that same pool is worth about 100K dollars, so expecting to earn significantly off it, is unrealistic.

But, if a person is looking long, perhaps their earnings are significant at the future price. The problem is of course, the people that need the value now. I feel for you, but it really isn't Hive's problem. Without Hive, you would have one less opportunity to earn something, which means you are worse off without it.

Some will say "I can earn more at McDonald's" which is likely true. I used to be a crew trainer at McDonald's and I will let you in on a little secret - it is a good job and you will learn a lot in your time there. All you need to do to get a likely job is walk up to the counter and ask for an application form, fill it out and don't be completely useless in the interview. The pay isn't great but manageable, and your "job" on Hive might not be keeping the ends met anyway. What is stopping you?

Sometimes I wonder if "hustle" is a lost art in this world, as it seems that very few people are really willing to do what it takes to get to where they purport to want to be. If it isn't handed to them, if it isn't easy, if it isn't fun - it isn't for them. This is obviously not just on Hive, as it seems to be a pervading attitude - Everyone is a "get-rich-quick'er" and expect it to come at no cost of capital or loss of opportunity. Another secret -

Everything has a cost.

The difference between many people isn't the availability of opportunity, it is the willingness to pay the cost of participation, to make sacrifices now for a future, to forgo or be uncomfortable, to survive without, to put up with, to adapt, to be patient, resilient - to live in the constant fear that all of what has been done, all that has been gone without - is for nothing.

This isn't the mindset of an investor, it is the mindset of the invested, someone who is fed up with current conditions, tired of the cultural lies and at the point that they ask themselves, there has to be another way. It doesn't mean that way is easy, it doesn't mean that it is without risk and cost - but doing the same thing and expecting a different result is the definition of insanity.

We are all playing games, some play theirs, some choose to create their own.

What's on TV...

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I just discovered the hive community, and i am on my way to make my first full 1 Hive. Exciting as the beginnings always are. I am reading your articles and waiting excited for the next ones, hopefully soon. I will follow your steps.

First aim: 100 Hive.

In 2018, when i said i will invest at least £50 in crypto every month some people laughed at me, saying that it is not enough, yet now, 3 years later i am at almost 20k value of my portfolio. Keep going mate, be strong and your efforts will be rewarded.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Welcome into Hive.
You are right about the small amounts mounting up to something far greater. 5 years from now, what do you think your 20K will be worth? ;)

I vote all my comments, so you will at least get a little Hive from this too :)

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I think patience is the name of the main game.

patience is. But in the meantime, we can also do something to help it all a long a little. :)

Suppose you make 10-15 USD a day on your activities on Hive. Do that for a year and you will have earned an extra monthly salary that is pretty good even by first world standards. If you can do that when HIVE is worth 12 cents, HIVE only has to pump 10x during a bull market peak to make that extra month's salary an extra annual salary.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

This is exactly how I think about it. I have the current luxury of not needing to live off it in any way. As they say, price only matters when you buy or sell.

We are all addicted. Someone addicted on games, someone on food, someone on sex, someone on creativity.

I think the last option (on which you also addicted) is the best addiction possible.

I think it is about finding a healthy focus for our addiction, something useful rather than wasteful, generative rather than degenerative.

Does that make me an addict, desperate, insane?

All of the above but in a good way ;0)

It also makes me horny - but I will leave that for another post :)

Hive is what you make of it. And if you're smart, you post more the lower the price is ;)

people post less when the price is low, which means there is more in the pool for those who do post, plus, the active eyes are always watching :)

What's on TV...

I'll start at the end, maybe work my way up. I recently finished re-watching the TV series Angel, (a Buffy the Vampire Slayer spin-off), I keep thinking about the series it spun off from, but have yet to watch a single episode, I don't know why.

...isn't the availability of opportunity...

Opportunity is almost everywhere, 80% of people or more wont see it. 15% of the people that doe see will think it is to much work. 3% that see it and take up the reins will fail. 2% will succeed. 80% will be completely flabbergasted at the luck of the 2%. 15% will say to themselves if only, and 3% will be completely pissed off because 2% make it work when they could not, that they cheated, they had more help, they had this or that advantage. The 2% will be happy and glad they saw the challenge of the opportunity and were able to rise to it's occasion. (well my view anyways)

Getting started in anything needs work, and an ability to see the opportunity. You either rise to the occasion or not.

So you have watched Angel twice, but not Buffy?

and 3% will be completely pissed off because 2% make it work when they could not, that they cheated, they had more help, they had this or that advantage.

I think that they will have some justification, as at least they tried - But I find that many people think that if someone is successful, they did something wrong.

I think I have watched the Angel series more than 4 times, I like it and it has been out for awhile now. I think I have watched "Stargate Atlantis" more often, but I enjoy both when I just can not find something new to watch.

I think almost everyone thinks the successful cheated in one way or another. I don't think the 3% that failed will continue to fail, they are the people that try, they are the ones that are going to join the 2% and 1% clubs eventually.

One day I may watch the Buffy series one day, the concept behind it of High School kids and violence is something I have a hard time getting past. At least with the Angel series it is all post high school, I am not sure about the Buffy Series being post high school though.

I'd watch any show starring Amy Acker, four times.
Have a watch of Much ado about nothing by Joss Whedon from 2013.

I'll have to look it up and check it out.

But, poor performance is possibly a more informative result than great performance, because the poor gets dissected and analyzed, while the great gets accepted as such without much thought. It is an interesting inconsistency - we spend more time understanding where we went wrong, rather than working out what we did right.

We should do more of the latter. Esko Aho who was prime minister during and after the great recession of the 1990's said the same when he discussed the state of the country in a few high-profile interviews and newspaper articles that came out a couple of weeks ago. Dwelling on failures teach us to fail. The really useful lessons are in the successes because pathways to success are much more scarce than the myriads of possible ways to fail.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

the biggest percentage improvement gains can be made in decreasing the fail percentage. The best way to do this is learn to fail less by building successful processes. I find a lot of companies focus on the failures because it is where they will feel the cost - but they don't necessarily reward good process, which will reduce failures. Pay for prevention, rather than pay for treatment. It should be the same for health - incentive people to be healthy, rather than treat them once sick.

That's a good analogy.

You know I got my account on Steem January 3, 2018? If not the absolute high point certainly very near it.

I bought Steem that first day. Then and now, it isn't about the return, it's about the potential, the possibility.

At least I can say that my posts that earned literally zero were worth a hell of a lot more than a zero post today :) I had no idea what to do to leverage or maximize or any of that. While others, many others in my 'class' chased the whales and begged for votes, I set about embedding and endearing myself with people I saw as leaders.

I have a really good friend who is unfortunately not on Hive who is close to an ultimate hustler. She cut her teeth in the fast food industry ending up in management in two different chains. Now she's a freelance who tends to pick up long term good paying gigs that she can sink her teeth into. Anyway, I wish I could convince her to spend some time here. I think she is afraid of the rabbit hole effect and that she would spend too much time not making a living.

Anyway, it is an investment. Even if it only becomes a time investment, the ROI to that is perfecting your writing. At the very least we can all aspire to that. Though unfortunately few do.

Jan 3 was the high day at least. The low was my birthday, Mar 10.

I set about embedding and endearing myself with people I saw as leaders.

I got lucky and met some good people who saw some potential in me and gave some advice. A leader or two. It took 6 months alone before I started to "get it"

Not making a living on Hive is what makes it so attractive - imagine if it was a job... :)

The aspiration is an interesting point. What would people do if they did get what they want? Money is a tool, how would they use it?

Not making a living on Hive is what makes it so attractive - imagine if it was a job... :)

Or even if there were hard and fast rules? My nose crinkles up just thinking about rules :)

The aspiration is an interesting point. What would people do if they did get what they want? Money is a tool, how would they use it?

90% would piss it away and then bitch because it was gone and the price had gone up. My very best guess.

No one likes rules - except rule-makers and people who like to wear ballgags ;D

I have seen the "piss away and bitch" many times :)

Please sir. Teach me how to do the Hive.

How about I teach you something valuable. This is how to make cheeseburgers...

You make the cheeseburgers with words? Do they taste like the?

the is only one of the flavors needed. an is the real secret ingredient.

You should try the ass.

Is it better than an ass?

I'm not too familiar with an ass. You're the expert here.

Can you imagine what will happen when Hive is $10 as many miss the point. We know many would sell most of their stake and still expect support. Those that do will never have financial freedom and talk a big game but the truth is greed will always beat them. I wonder in 10 years time how many individuals will own any Bitcoin and the so called crypto revolutionaries have all cashed in for money leaving the corporate investors holding all the bags. Already we can see the weak hands have given in allowing the big players in when they should have been kept out for as long as possible.
You have been waiting patiently for 4 years and myself a little over a year behind you and nothing has changed in our approach. I need financial freedom at some point like you do and surely it is worth waiting for yet many are not ready for financial freedom as they will just spend it like everything else they get their hands on. It will be interesting to see who is around in 5 years time and what type of stake they have.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It is interesting with how many talk about the future of crypto, yet seem to sell a lot. The corporation are buying from somewhere and it isn't in the exchanges.

A little bit if financial breathing room would be nice, but not yet :)

I just can't sell and addicted to staking lol. The concept of having more stake to be able to earn more is what grabs you and yes some breathing room would be good but waiting is also more important as the time will come. If you believe in something then there is no need to worry. With Leo around these days leading the way then I think the future is looking rather good.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Nice words sir. Hive it's for enjoying I think, obviously, all the people came here to make some money, but we have to enjoy the process, writing things that we like and can be informative for others. It´s inevitable to feel a little sad when a post doesn't valorize well but as you say:

There was still value in the posts, it just wasn't financial value

We just have to enjoy this, personally, a big part of my time when I'm not studying, I am here reading haha.

Sorry for the bad English, it´s not my native lenguage .

Enjoying the processes of life is what life is about the goals missed or met are symptoms of process - and some luck.

What are you studying?

Veterinary medicine. I'm nearly to get my title, like in one year (without pandemic). Right now the classes are on pause, but I'm going to a veterinary clinic to keep practicing and learning from the cases.

that sounds good. I hope you like animals a lot and treat them kindly :)

The world needs more Vets. Pets and work animals are a part of life everywhere, and bring so much joy and fear at the same time to us. A good vocation you have chosen.

there has to be another way.

A way you decide when and how to get involved, as you have total control of your time, dedication, and learning pace. To me, this is what makes it beautiful.

Yes. I think that once people realise the real potential of this, they will embrace it openly and it will diversify and simplify.

Everything has a cost.

I am stemming my reply from my unsettled experience. I have been all over as you religiously stayed put and did the work. Time eroded the same way for us and as you hold the 88th position, I am still struggling to make this an investment.

I am still positive that this will work out. I hope it for many, many people.

we spend more time understanding where we went wrong, rather than working out what we did right

That's because when you know where you went wrong and avoid doing that and everything now looks right then you're right XP

Though as far as I can tell even the writers and artists I know that put out amazing stuff that their viewers deem flawless still see everything that went wrong from that misweighted line to the wrong shade of black, or in the case of writers that one word repeated slightly too many times or that sentence that could have been that little bit tighter or that description that could have been that little bit more show than tell xD

I wonder if we explored the stuff we dd right, if we would realize there was a lot more we could have done.

Artists are a different breed in many respects - perhaps art is about expressing an opinion of some sort and the artist can recognize the disconnect, even if the viewer can't?

Actually now that you mention it I think that a lot of the good artsts probably are analysing what they did right (which could be how they find everything they did wrong in that right even if no one else can see it).

Actually I really think artists (including writers, musicians etc) just have on average a higher chance of some kind of clinical depressive thing and/or low self esteem which then naturally inclines them to being overly critical of themselves XD

Congratulations @tarazkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 680000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 690000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP