Are We Seeing A Bit Of A Shift On Hive?

in LeoFinance4 years ago

A couple days ago, I put out the monthly Hive Power report that I did the past couple years. The numbers this month were fairly flat which got me thinking. We really have come a long way from when I started it.

At that time, there were really only a few options for HIVE. One could power it up to increase his or her standing within the platform. This increased voting power which enabled for greater curation rewards. We also saw the choice of selling it for another currency on external exchanges. Finally, somewhere along the way one could purchase Splinterland cards (Steemmonsters).

Those were really the main options. Of course, if one was not into card games, that left two basic choices.


Source

That is not the case today. With the addition of Hive-Engine we are seeing a lot more activity take place outside the scenarios I presented. We also are watching more games emerge which are providing individuals with options that did not exist before.

While we cannot establish a trend after only one month, it was noticeable that the Whales were the only group to increase their Hive Power. I use the percentage held against the whole as the barometer for increase or decrease. Every other category saw a drop, albeit minimal since it truly was basically a flat month.

Initially I considered the fact that the price of HIVE dropped and maybe the Whales were taking advantage of that. This would make sense since they tend to load up when they feel that opportunities are presenting themselves. We see the same thing happen in Bitcoin and Ethereum. Whales are whales for a reason; they tend to know how to play the markets.

Nevertheless, as I considered it more, it dawned on me. I am seeing a lot more post detailing how people are loading up on other digital assets in addition to HIVE. Whether it is LEO, NEOXAG, SPORTS, CTP, or a host of other tokens, many are posting about how they are staking more each month. Of course, the only way to get these tokens is to use HIVE.

At the same time, I know a number of people who literally put thousands of dollars into some of the games that are on here. Considering the fact that $1,000 is roughly 5,000 HIVE at the moment, that is a significant amount.

Could it be that smaller accounts are finding more success with some of the tribes and games, thus not really interested in powering up their HIVE? Instead, it is a mechanism simply to be used to get the other digital assets they desire.

My view is that it is most plausible.


Source

To start, we see a number of people who are actively blogging yet finding they are getting larger payouts from the tribes (as priced in USD) than HIVE. This makes total sense since the tribes are smaller in numbers, thus it is easier to stand out and garner some attention. With less competition, those holding large stakes in that particular token will see the posts a lot easier.

In my view, what this does is it starts to change the mindset of people. If they are having more financial success through their efforts with a particular tribe, that is where their focus will be. Suddenly, that token takes on greater meaning, perhaps even more so than HIVE.

Not only are people pursuing this path, but the prospect of other opportunities could also be changing behavior. For me, I have a few thousand HIVE on H-E ready to be used as I see other situations present themselves. I firmly believe there will be other projects popping up, presenting themselves as fantastic opportunities for those who get involved. For this reason, liquidity is a valuable path to take.

The question is whether or not others are following a similar thought process? I have a feeling many are.

A big reason this might be a valid concept is due to the fact that gaming is becoming more popular on Hive. Some of the games require "fuel" of some nature. Whatever the base token is, the likes of DEC or SIM, players need to have some to keep advancing. In other words, there is a reason to swap HIVE for those tokens. Suddenly, the utility is much greater for both since the game is of importance to that individual.

All of this is making HIVE into more than just a token to be powered up. The utility of it keeps expanding as there are more use cases for it. This does pull things away from the old "get HIVE, power it up" model. Instead, we see some instances where HIVE is actually being used as a currency.

Certainly, there is a lot of speculation taking place right now. However, it seems much of it is beyond just the view of Hive and where it is going. Just like Ethereum is enjoying great success due to the explosion of DeFi, Hive is seeing a foundation being laid where the applications are starting to pull the focus away from the base layer. I believe this is a positive as we move forward.

For a while now I felt the opportunity for newer accounts was to focus upon the external. Hive Power is very valuable since it does provide one with a voice on the platform. Two of the biggest factors, outside voting power, is the proposal system and witness voting. Here is where we see the governance and development coming into play. Thus, people who accumulate wealth via the tribes and games can than use some of the gains to power up to gain a greater voice.

That said, the getting there is the hard part. Diving headlong into Hive as a blogger is not easy. This is why I feel those joining today do have an advantage with the different communities. Being specialized brings about greater rewards in many instances.


Source

All of this starts stacking upon itself. Whether people are moving from HIVE to another token or vice versa, the key is to keep expanding and growing. In this regard, I think we are witnessing a shift in the entire Hive ecosystem. This is no longer a one trick pony. A few of the applications (games) are progressing faster than the main platform itself. Again, we see the same thing with Ethereum where DeFi development is eclipsing the pace of upgrading the main network.

It is often easy to see the process taking place yet realize how slow it is occurring. Naturally, most everyone involved wants to see this sped up. However, the process is what it is. Development takes time and it is often learned that "overnight sensations" take 10 years to get there.

We are still in the early days. Nevertheless, when we look at the progress, we see a lot more happening in a shorter period of time than before. Hive, since the fork, is a little over 4 months old. Considering where we were the day the fork happened, I think the progress is remarkable. A case could be made more was done in these 4 months than took place in all of 2019.

This bodes well for the second half of 2020. I know of a number of projects that have a lot more development ready to roll out before year end. This is only going to expand the options people have even more.

For this reason, I definitely feel we are at a turning point with the platform. The Layer 2 applications are taking on a lot more importance, providing everyone on Hive with greater opportunities. This is only going to keep enhancing the holdings of all who are active in their different niches.

It might actually get to the point where people have too many options. Where do I focus my attention is becoming a bigger problem.

I guess, on the grand scale, it is a nice problem to have.


If you found this article informative, please give an upvote and rehive.

gif by @doze

image.png

Posted Using LeoFinance

Sort:  

Well taskmaster, I think the way I got here, to this comment just kind of proved your point a little bit.

I used to be a Steemit user, and I have been off the blockchain world entirely for the past few years due to a combination of technological/financial/health problems. I just bought a computer about a month ago and have been poking around a bit.

I was really excited to find HIVE. I originally went straight back to Steemit; but it took me about 2 minutes before I realized something had happened. I found Hive, found the same community, and started getting into it. It wasn't long AT ALL on hive until I started discovering all these new projects, communities, games, etc.

I quickly became distracted with all these new things and started looking into a few of time. I remember around the time I left Steemit, there was a lot of talk about a future that looks similar to what has been built on Hive. It's fascinating. It seemed a little like a dream back then(to me, I'm still learning), but to see it start to talk it's stand is quite amazing.

Now, to prove your point. I joined the LEO community on Hive blog a few days ago out of curiosity but haven't had a chance to look at it much until today. I actually already had written a comment on your post over there, but I got about halfway through it before I thought I wasn't making sense so I just deleted it and moved on. A few minutes later, I find myself visiting leofinance.io for the first time and what's one of the first articles I stumble upon; yours!

Thank you for the article. It's very helpful. You've always been a big help to my newbie-ish understanding of these things(I used to read everything you posted during my Steemit years) and I look forward to letting you help me understand more in the future :)

Posted Using LeoFinance

While I did power up the bulk of the liquid I had on the first of the month. I am finding myself wanting to have a bit more liquidity than I have in the past. There is just more things to do with Hive from buying artwork to game assets.

I’m also at a point now I feel I have a decent amount of Hive power. So I don’t mind having more liquidity at hand to take advantage of any opportunity that come by.

There is just more things to do with Hive from buying artwork to game assets.

This is certainly the case @enjar. We are seeing many who are involved with games such as Splinterlands, eXode, Cryptobrewmaster, and DCity. We are also seeing a remake of Holybread which will also offer opportunities for people I would think.

Posted Using LeoFinance

Brilliantly written, I think with the inception of tribes it even makes people to earn creating the kind of contents they specificialize in, I feel this Makes for more use case and gives hive more utility as well. With the inception of more tribes more people will diversify their holdings and having other choices to build and even become Influencial in some community.
I'm also building on both hive and leo and this is basically my goals going forward.

I'm also building on both hive and leo and this is basically my goals going forward.

I think this sums the point up @josediccuss.

I am seeing more who are accumulating HIVE and (fill in the blank) token (or cards). This seems to be the norm as opposed to the rarity. I have a feeling many are using some HIVE to accumulate more of the other token(s).

Posted Using LeoFinance

This seems to be the norm as opposed to the rarity. I have a feeling many are using some HIVE to accumulate more of the other token(s).

Absolutely true, well before I even bought some leo I needed to buy hive first to make the purchase really. So it's all interconnected. We can't grow Leo without simultaneously growing hive

Posted Using LeoFinance

Very true. That is where the demand for Hive will come from. Enough expansion in other areas means more people will be holding HIVE to make other purchases.

Posted Using LeoFinance

We have players of Holybread that have small HP accounts.
If you monitor them on the blockchain, they play many of the games and funnel most of their earned HIVE/HP back into the games.

Thanks for the information on that. I had nothing more than intuition but you were able to verify it to a degree.

I would think as the games proceed in development, the games will offer more opportunities for its players. This is going to help build the overall wealth.

Posted Using LeoFinance

It is really nice to be somewhere we can have a choice to do what we feel good at, if it is blogging, gaming or just reading (or al of the above).

Freedom of choice starts by having choices to make

Build up an account its a nightmare for a newcomer, you need to be a very good content creator (and a persistent one) in order to make some contacts and being noticed. Isn't strange then that the newcomers look up for alternative ways to grow their accounts.

I personally made it with SL and now in Hive with eXode, others with dCity or other crypto games. Invest in these games is a more entertaining way to grow, not sure if its more effective (that depends a lot of the success of the game you're playing)

I would like to see more development in this matter, imo Hive is an ideal blockchain for games development, the announce of blocktrades about the second layer implementation for hive is imo a good decision.

Building an account takes time, effort and patience. Those are sometimes hard to find lately but if you are able to persist, you can be successful.

The other aspect that many people seem to forget or ignore is that you can't just post a bunch of content but never get out there and look for others to talk to. Engagement is a very important way to grow your account and followers. If you post things to your account but never venture out to others, you are most likely not going to get a lot of traction for a long time, if ever. People like Task here have been on the platform for a long time but he gets out there and talks to people. We all have to do that if we expect to be able to succeed, so please don't forget this very important piece of the experience!

Yeah, I agree with you, that's what I'm trying to point out actually, i'm not complaining for it, in my personal case is too time demanding for my taste, i guess that also will be for many others. What harms Hive imo is that perception that some people has that will win money posting here easily which is very far from the reality, as you said requires a lot of interaction and persistence.

Fortunately as I wasn't looking for profit. I've been here (first in Steem and now in Hive for two years) enjoying the experience and avoiding a lot of frustration. Imo if we want to retain more users we need to avoid that idea that you'll obtain quick and easy rewards and expand the idea of enjoying a blockchain where you can play, look good content and be rewarded for it.

You might not have come here for profit but, depending upon your holdings in SL and some other games, you might just end up making out well if those games really take off.

You might be playing them for fun but Web 3.0 offers you the opportunity to share in the financial success of the system.

Posted Using LeoFinance

Yeah for sure! I've been including that little tidbit in all of my new user comments to make sure they understand they can earn money here but it isn't fast or easy, it takes work.

Thanks for the reply!

!ENGAGE 20

There has already been too much ENGAGE today.

I always look at it from the perspective of wealth. HIVE is one way to build wealth by blogging. However, there are many who own a great stake on Splinterlands, as an example, that would rival large Orcas. Whether large account or small, there is a lot of opportunity in the games you mentioned.

Personally, I have a good amount invested in eXode.

Hive for gaming development is very appealing. I only hope the word reaches the proper developers.

Posted Using LeoFinance

It does seem like there is a fairly good shift on Hive to users focusing more on the tribes versus the parent token itself. That's good in many regards, especially when the token is paired to a community and one can earn rewards for posting in the community that far exceed the hive they would earn. Several strong accounts in some of the tribes have very little hive power but substantial holdings for the tribe so a vote on Hive may not appear much but the tribe itself could be a lot.

What I find challenging sometimes is balancing the liquidity conundrum. I want to power up more of my Hive but I also need to try and have some liquidity available for things. That's been an increasingly difficult thing with so many cool things popping up! Good problems to have though, but it would be great if we started competing with places like Ethereum. Perhaps we could be the blockchain gaming go-to similar to how Ethereum is the DeFi and crypto related blockchain go-to for new projects.

I feel you on the balancing of liquidity. It is a great problem to have. Now people feel they do not have enough HIVE but for different reasons than before. It is because they want to load up on something else associated with Hive.

I think it would be great if Hive could get a reputation even 1/10th of Ethereum by attracting gaming. That is a huge market and would really impact things in life changing ways for the people involved in Hive.

Posted Using LeoFinance

Your current Rank (38) in the battle Arena of Holybread has granted you an Upvote of 20%

It sounds great and maybe a roadmap can be placed for those of us that know nothing about trading?

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 17 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
1


Hey @taskmaster4450, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

We will be having Hive expand in several ways from DApps to communities and probably what we haven't experiment with yet until we get Hive and communities out there.

I can't stick to blogging alone and miss out on the games, so I have started playing Splinterlands which I'm surprise it is quite easy to play.
The opportunities here are a lot and I can only them multiplying.

I am proof of that, we can have a growth of power through the tribes and fortunately people are noticing. With the increase in membership in these communities, we can see this impact through the market.

A good example I can give is about the partnership between the game dCity and STEM. When the announcement of the partnership was launched, the market quickly reacted and today the token that used to live "leaning" is costing around US $ 0.01, I don't exactly remember its price but it had an increase of at least 10x.

The games on the blockchain HIVE are showing their value and more are coming. I am very anxious about what Exode can bring us. Really many people are investing heavily in games instead of being staked. But it is their strategic decision.

The important thing is that we have and will have many ways to obtain wealth. Everyone can prosper in different ways here and that is incredible.

Posted Using LeoFinance

Brilliant article, well-written, straightforward, and informative. I have to re-think my traditional approach to blogging in Hive. I am one of those who post every single day, comment, curate some, and delegate.
Thanks for sharing your thoughts, and take care 🥰🌺🤙

Posted Using LeoFinance