You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Now might be a good time Power Up Hive and CURATE!

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Thanks for the very informative post!

I'm very new to Hive, crypto, and blockchain as a whole but I've been trying to curate as best as I can. I have a question thou... I've read quite a few posts stating that it's a good practice to keep VP around 80% but I still don't get the logic behind it. Why is it a good strategy?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Ah - good question, simple answer....

It's because your voting power recharges at a rate of around 20% per day, so 80% will recharge back up to 100% after 1 day, if you depleted your entire VP it would take 5 days for it to recharge.

It costs 2% of your VP per full (100% weighted vote) - so you can make 10 full upvotes per day (or 20 votes weighted at 50%).

You reward and earn less the lower your VP percentage - so keeping it above 80% is better for your curation returns.

Ah, makes perfect sense now! Thank you very much!