The Crypto Journals - A beginner's journey on the blockchain. Part 3 - Officially a crypto investor!

in LeoFinance3 years ago


Source

After weeks of reading many posts here on Leo, learning the basic fundaments of what is the blockchain, what are cryptocurrencies, and how society interacts with those things, I finally decided I was ready to take the next step. Last night I bought my first bits of cryptocurrency!

It wasn't much and it won't make me a millionaire - unless the prices go insane hehehe one can dream - but it was an important step on my journey on this "new world".

Tt is more difficult to get a heavy object to start moving than it is to keep it moving

That's a little bit how I feel right now.

I'm not a stranger to investments, but, before last night, my portfolio was limited to more "traditional" investments such as bonds, stocks, and the likes (I live in Brazil and I'm not sure how all of the investments modalities we have here translate into English).

I've said this here before but when I first found out about crypto I was very averse to the risk of losing the little I had back then and that's why breaking the "shackles" of fear and ignorance regarding the crypto world is so important to me.

My tokens of choice for these initial investments were Bitcoin, Ethereum, and Rune. I had never heard about the latter before joining Leo but it looks very promising.

As for the exchange, my choice was Binance.


Source

I'll admit I didn't do a lot of research on the existing exchanges. Binance accepts Brazilian Real and I've seen here on Leo more than a few Lions saying they use it so I thought it should be good enough for me.

In fact, I didn't have any technical issues with it. The account creation and verification processes were all very easy and fast, so kudos to Binance! My money transfers were processed in minutes and before I knew it, I was all set to buy some crypto. Again, kudos!

The user experience of the app, however, could use some improvement.

Some transitions were not exactly smooth, and there were times I thought the app was about to crash. I got used to it quickly but still, not ideal. Finding my way in the app wasn't the easiest task either but at least they have a Lite version that you can quickly switch to - great idea by the way - that addresses that problem very well. And last, but not least, I swear the home screen of the app drastically changed like 3 times from when I installed the app to when I was done using it for the day. I don't know if that's some feature that adapts the home screen according to the way you use the app or if I accidentally messed some settings up but it was a bit confusing for a first-time user.

All that being said, I'm still satisfied with the app and the overall experience. This post wasn't supposed to be a product review but I wanted to share my first experience with a crypto exchange.

Anyway, that's it for now guys! I just want to thank this wonderful community again as it's been of great importance on my journey!

See you next time!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Well, it is AMAZING to have you on board! Solid choices for your first investments... and Binance is solid for a CEX. Think about a hardware wallet and DEXes at some point, but the way you did it is smart to get rolling. Best of luck to you. :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks for the warm welcome and for the tips!

Congratulations @tfranzini! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the February 1st Hive Power Up Day