The state of the art for the Not-a-Lottery

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

So I hit a little bit of a bump in the road, when it comes to the artwork for the Not-a-Lottery: I was planning to ask @friendlymoose to draw me a similar avatar to his just a lion with german sunglasses. However he told me that that is out of his capibilities. However he had two good suggestions for me: Use royalty free art or ask a person on fiverr.

The royalty free art was not really what I was looking for. The lions were either way too childish or looked way too violent. On Fiverr I found a lot of decent to very good examples for original mascots, the artist I like the most is this one. But talking about Fiverr made me think: @rocksg is a Fiverr and he is also on hive. I really would love to keep the whole thing on the blockchain instead of having to go to Fiverr. @rocksg told me via noise.cash that he could come up with something, but I have yet to discuss details with him.

Scatches for my artwork

Well, I think I can make it pretty clear how I want the cartoon lion to look like: friendly but not too childish, similar to what @friendlymoose has as an avatar, but a lion with my german sunglasses.

I want to commission four different poses for four different occasions:

LogoNotaLottery.png
A Logo where the mascot is behind the name

LogoJackpot.png
Mascot standing next the current Jackpot (price money tomorrow)

LogoYouWin.png
Mascot is congratulating you on a win

LogoyouLose.png
Mascot is sad because you lost.

Note: The arms are only upwards in the first three pictures because I can not draw :)

First I want to commission just the logo, but we can realize the additional poses rather soon than late if it comes to me. What do you think so far of my ideas for artwork? Any suggestions? Do you think the different poses are a bit much?

Payment for the art

We have our 'Funds for better art' pool which should be growing a lot this week thanks to the generous votes of @onealfa. If @rocksg is able to provide a similar level of quality as the artists on Fiverr, I would want to pay him a similar amount in Leo. No offense, but I expect a little less cause there are some guys purely focused on drawing mascots.

Not-a-Lottery vs Leo Lottery

Oh wow, I almost completely forgot I wanted to suggest a name change. First why Not-a-Lottery? I hate state-run lotteries, it is a way to make stupid and poor people even poorer, my lottery is about making poor people stupidly rich :).

However I also like simple names. Leo Lottery describes pretty precise what the Not-a-Lottery is: a Lottery where you can win Leo posted on LeoFinacne. It is quite the hustle to always type out Not-a-Lottery. 'Leo Lotto' is quite more snappy and has a nice ring to it, don't you think?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Update

We just got word from @rocksg , he is willing to take the Job for my Logo and the one for @no-advice (see comments) for a total of 80$. A reasonable price I would say. We need about 270 hive. The Not-a-Lottery should have about 50-60 hive in the fund for better art by next week (very rough estimate), I would be willing to put some of my own Leo into the fund, so we can put the fund at a -70 hive to fund the whole 135 hive. How does that sound to you guys?

Sort:  

that's really cool, I had the impression you wanted something more "je ne sais quoi" French art critique intensifies

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

nah, I want it pretty straight forward and inviting. What do you think about the name change? I just added that part

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I like the not-a-lottery name, it has personality and it's very you ( hating state run lotteries and all that)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

thanks a lot for your opinion!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

you're welcome :) and I see a few more people like the name so maybe you will keep it

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

they were also some who like Leo Lottery better, we will see

also i brokered a deal for the art

also this is somehow my best performing article ever when it comes to hive value, hooray! :D

hive party intensifies :)))

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Untitled.png

My graphic skills have limitations. I can combine multiple images into a new one, but I'm certainly not an artist.
I'm curious what the result will be like 👍

Mind if I take this as a mascot for now? Made me actually lough out loud in front of my PC seeing this xD

Sure 😂

I mean; no, I don't mind ;)

I think Not-a-lottery has already imprinted its name in some of ours minds.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Happy to hear that :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Not-a-Lottery it's like your brand, but Leo Lotto it's more easier to talk

about the draw, this time i can't help, i don't have the skills

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

thanks for your opinion, though

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I like Leo Lottery :) You might want to add free to join in the cover image?

I love the idea of different poses for the mascot :) ... Maybe we can get them one at a time as the money becomes available?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

aha, the first one to like Leo Lottery! I am pretty torn apart between the two personally.

Maybe we can get them one at a time as the money becomes available?

That's exactly what I had planned, I just wanted to disclose Phase 2 kind of

Mhhh I am not sure how much I like the word "free" tagged onto my lottery, free always means cheap or a trap. But I remember you hesetating because you thought you had to pay to play. 'Play for free' sounds pretty good now that I say it out loud though

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Leo Lottery sounds very good.
I am also interested to have some visuals for the weekly ETH guessing game and the weekly BTC guessing game on @spinvest. Maybe can throw our LEO together and give out a whole project to somebody here on HIVE. Are you intersted?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

oh wait, are you @spinvest? I just entered his BTC guessing game thinking you are the host.

Mhh, my first reaction was 'no', since I already have everything set for me at least from a creative point of view, but seeing that you are also making guessing games, we surely could come up with a united design

Maybe one lion with a bag of money and the other with a crown as addition to my german sunglasses lion

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I am one of the content producers for @spinvest, doing the weekly BTC guessing game.

If you are ready, I will not slow down the process with the idea. I am also not aware of the costs, but thought that it could be more price efficient if we go together.

Im übrigen könnten wir auch auf Deutsch schreiben :-)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

mir gleich :), aber auf english other people can follow our convo and maybe add something.

I don't have a response from @rocksg yet, but I expect to pay about 50 Leo for a good Job, I should be able to pull that out of my Lottery over the next few weeks, if onealfa keeps supporting.

I think the main thing would be to get the first mascot, different poses or iterations for your guessing game should be cheaper. Not really sure how we can split the bill there.

Natürlich können wir auch auf deutsch schreiben, wenn dir das angenehmer ist.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

oh and if we have to go to Fiverr:

they also just make 1 drawing per commission and we have to pay 100 Leo to get something proper

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You are right, other users may be also interested and therefore English may be better.
Just do the negotiations with rocksg for a Lion mascot with two different impressions (Glases and bag). I don’t think I need iterations. If we have a proposal we can agree on the split for sure.

Alright, do you want Text as well? I will have the Not-a-Lottery (or Leo Lottery) on my first logo, do you want "Eth Price guessing game" on yours?
LogoNotaLottery.png

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

„Weekly ETH guessing game“ please

Oh and thanks for the collabo idea, I honestly didn't think we would get a discount, but that's 10$ off for me :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

so we have a deal: 50$ for one Logo 80$ for two, I think that is a fair price. We pay in hive even though he tried to talk me into other methods of pay (BCH/Paypal) :)

I'm eager to see what he comes up with, he wants a small portion in advance, which is absolutly fine imo. I think we should make a post as a contract.

we need about 275 hive at current price. I think I am willing to lend my fund some money so I should have enough in about 1-2 weeks.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

magst mich kurz über discord anschreiben wenn du on bist? Bin im Leo Channel