My Post HF Post on HF 25. (just doing my standard bitch)

in LeoFinance3 years ago

A Crafty Happenstance.

border 1.png

Before the fork, I was sure something didn't add up. But then, I do most of my math in my head. But I also was not looking to the math as such. More I was looking to the effects. Maybe I should have looked deeper to the math. At the time, mot being able to place my finger on what did not seem to fit right. I waved an imaginary hand at it. Put it down to I was over-thinking it.

Then after the HF, as soon as I read the cheers go up about how great things were. The same thought came flooding back. Immediately thinking. Okay, let's find out what fecked up. For a while things seemed great. Then!

there was an error on the reward of things with the return to a linear reward system. The linear reward system, that is the part that bugged me. Returning to the previous reward system did not fit the profile history (personal view) of the witness actions.

I resisted the urge to post. By chance a few hours later. An announcement was made and that effect would only last for the first seven days. Hic-cups happen and that is a perfect example of one. (If I was a conspiracy theorist. I would add, or maybe not).

border 1.png

So I watched my rewards drop in the peak values they had reached previously, prior to the fork. Can't really make an issue over one day or two. But wait, Should my rewards not increase with return of the linear reward. considering they dropped when it was removed and replaced with a low stake tax.

The tax now removed. I thought wold increase the reward I got. That's why I should have looked at the math much more closely.

On the plus side. The low side of my rewards has risen slightly on average. It kind of came down a quarter and up a quarter on the average. A slightly lower median over all. It is still early days though and that average's do not exactly have enough information to draw any type of conclusion.

border 1.png

Why not an increase in the rewards though? that still bugged me. Then it clicked. They also changed the voting rules. So now voting early on a post does not offer a great advantage to the lower stakes. Not unless it is unseen and then gets voted by a whale a day later or even better 5 days later.

They returned the reward you would have always had should the rewards not have been changed. This reduced the rewards to low stakes an increase for whales. Now changing the linear rewards back to its previous state. Something got added, The voting timescales. If the return of the linear rewards pool was going to happen. It would mean a loss of daily rewards to the whales. So a compensation needed to be made.

Change the reward times so not so much from a big vote is taken away from the late voter whale.

While losing the gains from a previous HF to the linear rewards. Gains will be made by the change in voting times.

Once again when changes are made they suit one particular selection of people.

border 1.png

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Congratulations @thehive! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 5000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP