Saved by American Express Fraud Alert

I recently received a fraud alert for the Hilton Honors Business Card from American Express. They got a charge attempt of $583.70 at the Sheraton Grand in Nashville, TN.

Untitled

I called customer service as soon as I got the alert to confirm that I did not make the charge. In addition to that charge, there was a $1 charge to a business named Jupiter. I suspect that this charge was to test if the card number was still valid before attempting to make the larger charge.

Ultimately, if the charges had been successful, I would have been able to file a dispute. American Express would have investigated. And, the matter would be settled. But, preventing the charge up front is a better option. It is definitely less costly to the hotel and to American Express.

The end result is that they sent me a card with a new number. Normally, I would update all the places that have the card stored for future purchases. But, I think I will keep the new card "off the record" for some time. I plan on canceling it on its one year anniversary. And, it is made redundant with the Hilton Honors Aspire Card I just received.

As for how it got compromised, I can imagine it happened while I was at a conference in Nashville earlier this year. The only place I used that card in Nashville, according to my account history, was at the hotel for incidental charges. Other than that, I used the AMEX Green card. Or, perhaps it is just a coincidence. The card may have been compromised online. The fact that somebody tried using it in Nashville may only be a random happenstance.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Congratulations @travelwritemoney! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 57000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 58000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ meetup in Amsterdam is next week. Be part of it and get your badge.
Our Hive Power Delegations to the August PUM Winners
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day