Anyone have a spare £50k? I may need £80k....

in LeoFinance4 years ago

Screenshot_20200911_213553.jpg

Every now and again, I come across an interesting story I can't wait to share with you lot. Not only am I big silver-bug, but I'm also a keen metal detectorist. So when I saw that this little coin was heading back to auction, and the expected price it was due to fetch, I just had to share.

A 1,200-year-old silver coin will go under the auction hammer for the second time in six years next week, and could break its own record to become the most expensive Anglo-Saxon coin to ever be sold at auction. The penny, found by a treasure hunter in Pevensey, East Sussex, during a hailstorm six years ago, will be sold off by London auction house Spink next Tuesday, one of 32 lots of coins dating as far back as 700.

Screenshot_20200911_213358.jpg
Screenshot_20200911_213523.jpg

The coin already holds the record as the most expensive Anglo-Saxon silver coin ever sold at auction, when it went under the gavelled for £78,000 in June 2014, after it was previously expected to fetch just £20,000....

Screenshot_20200911_214637.jpg

It was found after his metal detector went off when he was sheltering in a farmer's field during the storm. He expected it to be a World War II bullet case, although Pevensey's history dates back to Roman times in 300 AD and was where William the Conqueror landed in 1066 ahead of claiming the English throne at the Battle of Hastings.

However, it is unclear why a coin displaying the name of the king of East Anglia, Ethelbert II, who was killed in 794 in Herefordshire on the orders of the then-king of Mercia, which covers much of the modern midlands, ended up in East Sussex.

Screenshot_20200911_214930.jpg
At the time, England was divided into seven Anglo-Saxon kingdoms, including East Anglia, Essex, Kent, Mercia, Northumbria, Sussex and Wessex.

The price of the coin starts at £50,000 and the collection of Anglo-Saxon and Viking coins dating from 700 to the Battle of Hastings goes under the hammer at Spink on 15 September.

Want to find out more about gold and silver? Get the latest news, guides and information by following the best community on the blockchain - #silvergoldstackers. We're a group of like minded precious metal stackers that love to chat, share ideas and spread the word about the benefits of "stacking". Please feel free to leave a comment below or join us in the community page, or on discord.

UK_Hive_C0ff33a_mk1_2.png

Posted Using LeoFinance

Sort:  

Hi @welshstacker,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

You received an upvote of 100% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

Looking forward to seeing how the auction goes. Thanks for the heads up!

That's just amazing @welahstacker, makes me want to go get a metal detector! I remember the story, it made the National news...what a find!!! I don't think I could part with this coin if it was me , just think of the History behind it!

Ummmmm... did you say £50k? Gosh... do you know that I have not bought a new dress this year (well, I have no parties to attend anyway with the COVID), and I only buy a pair of shoes a year, and have not bought me a handbag since I started stacking, and do you know that I have not bought coffee from Starbucks since I started stacking (except when I am with friends and they want to get coffee? But I do have a little fiat, hehehe... but I won't lend it to you for that coin, dude. Go metal detecting!
Hugs to 1/2 and 1/4 pint, @welshstacker 🥰🌺🤙

That would take stacking to a whole new level would love it if I could help. But to be honest i'll probably buy it myself if I had that kinda money spare sorry 💯🐒