Coins of the UK - Sovereign

in LeoFinance4 years ago

Screenshot_20200913_204201.jpg

Since The Royal Mint struck the first gold Sovereign in 1489, the coin has survived retirement, rebirth and reform to become a modern classic. One of the most trusted bullion coins in existence, it is highly sought after and relied upon by investors around the world. That's been true since at least 1819, when the Ricardo Ingot Plan almost saw gold coins replaced by banknotes. Although production virtually ceased for a time following the First World War

Screenshot_20200912_210612.jpg

The Sovereign endures and its story continues with the 200th anniversary of the first modern Double-Sovereign and Five-Sovereign Piece. These larger coins gave engravers like Benedetto Pistrucci and William Wyon RA even greater scope to showcase their artistry and ambition. The Sovereign 2020 range includes a gold Double-Sovereign and gold Half-Sovereign bullion coin.

IMG_20200913_211505.jpg
Screenshot_20200913_211926.jpg

I'm not just a "silver-bug".... I do buy gold sovereigns from time to time and here's a sample of full (above) and half (below) Sovereigns.

IMG_20200913_211621.jpg
Screenshot_20200913_211948.jpg

Want to find out more about gold and silver? Get the latest news, guides and information by following the best community on the blockchain - #silvergoldstackers. We're a group of like minded precious metal stackers that love to chat, share ideas and spread the word about the benefits of "stacking". Please feel free to leave a comment below or join us in the community page, or on discord.

UK_Hive_C0ff33a_mk1_2.png

Posted Using LeoFinance

Sort:  

Yes, that is an impressive stack, Welshstacker, Thanks for showing.

Hi @welshstacker,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

You received an upvote of 99% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

I want to add some Sovereigns to my gold stack, but they tax the shit out of them here. So I pretty much have to stuck with 999 fine to stay tax free. But next year, if the border opens, I want to go pick one up somewhere. Cheers @welshstacker!!

Now you are talking @welshstacker!!!! .2354 oz of Gold...The Gold of choice in movies and many stories! Sewn into flight jackets, carried in walking canes, and just collected! Mint marks from around the World, one of my favorite Gold coins!!!😀

It totally slipped my mind to mention that. The full Sov is London (no mint mark), the half is from South Africa (SA mint mark)

One of my favorite Gold coins, I guess what intrigues me, is that I can stack these grand old Gold coins, much like Morgan silver dollars...for bullion!!!

Congratulations @welshstacker! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Yeah...now we are talking stacking... you just reminded me to show them... but maybe not... okay, here's a peak... no... I changed my mind. I might be attacked again, LOL! Small-minded fools! I will just show my Mene, cause I stopped stacking those after being dissatisfied with their customer service early this year. Tomorrow is Mene Monday. Just in time. I am talking to myself here.... why am I rambling?
Anyway... have a great week ahead, @welshstacker 🥰🌺🤙

Ramble away my friend.. My ears are your ears. I haven't done a #menemondaycfir a long time. Well, that's tonight posts sorted.

Dang @silversaver888! What happened with customer service? I've had nothing but good experiences with them.

I have a few of these that have the dude with the sweet Mustache on them. Been a while since I looked at them. Now I'll have to do some digging. LOL