History Introduction of Benggol coins: scrap metal in colonial times

in LeoFinance2 years ago

I want to show you Bengal coins. Do you know what Benggol coins are...? Follow my blog post below... because I will tell you a little about the Benggol coins in the archipelago. Especially in our country Indonesia...

Photo source
Kerokan is a unique method used by Indonesians. This is a very traditional way to treat colds, especially among the Acehnese and Javanese people in the archipelago. In addition to functioning as a means of payment, it turned out that during the colonial era there were coins that were often used as a means of exchange, namely the Benggol coin.

The History of the Introduction of the Benggol Coin!

I love a bit of Indo-Dutch currency, this particular subject was born while I was working on the "We Inspire" campaign for HISTORY. On a typical day at work, writers will be informed by our Senior Artistic Director with ideas they want to convey through advertisements, and we (writers) need to find words or phrases to communicate the same. After getting such unflattering results, I started scratching my head thinking about a possible catchy slogan for the ad. And this is where it comes to mind; simply because it was something I read in a book and childhood memories filled my mind.

The bumpy coin, especially the 2-cent Nederlandsch-Indie note, was always used for scratching because it was big and thick. I've seen people use other coins for scratching, but I honestly don't know how comfortable the 2-cent Nederlandsch-Indie Indi (Netherlands India) coin is.

Photo source
The price of this 2-hundred 1856 rare coin is around Rp. 55-60 million (USD 4,762). These coins may be smaller in face value but are very large and thick, so they are usually used for scraping. I think this 1856 piece from the Dutch colonial era is slightly better because the thickness of the piece is thicker and the size is also larger than the other pieces - about 5 to 6 mm in diameter and about 2 to 3 mm thick, it becomes difficult to issue any coins that can be issued. divided into small pieces.

What's interesting is that by using these coins, the community can have a new method to contribute to the ecosystem by depositing coins.
All this from me @zul212
Hope this is helpful