Where it all began

in Planetauto4 years ago

vlcsnap-2020-06-21-19h39m20s745.png

A quick intro, for anyone wondering who we are - and a thank you - I’m Ben and my wife and I have our own Automotive media company, I started a website in 2005 which ticked along, then nearly 4 years we were urged to start video car reviews, this freaked me out, age 40 going from behind a camera to in front - greatest thing I could have ever done, this took us in the YT direction, I could video edit, well 20 years ago I could😆 anyway we begged a manufacturer to give us a car, borrowed camera gear etc, and tried our first review, 2 of us, our former partner.

The review was interesting, no content, no info no style looked like I was on class A’s 😆 . We then edited it, and uploaded, 6k subs later we have around 500k mins watched a month and regularly receive new cars from manufacturers and attend the biggest auto events all as press, tik tok is another part of this legacy yet to be fully written.

This is just the tip of iceberg, we strive to do more everyday, yet relax equally, you can achieve anything if you believe in yourself, one thing to note, we had to walk away from some old friends, energy vampires who weren’t in our alignment.

Anyway, and now a thank you to the Hive community for the continued support.

Sort:  

It's good to have you around, you've done some great work and put a lot of effort into it.

P.s. I'm test driving the new D-Max next week. Ours is the 3.0L variant as the 1.9L would never sell well here. It looks good so I'm keep to check it out.

Ah, and thank you, that means alot, this last few months have been 10 times more challenging than ever, balancing multiple things :) and the support and love means alot from you and the rest of the Hive guys, nice -

Funny you should say that we've got the new D Max blade in October, I would love to see what the 3L is like, enjoy it and report back, be interesting to see what else differs.

You're welcome...It's people like you that we need here, interesting, well-crafted and enjoyable content. It can be difficult here but with persistence good things can happen. Marathon not a sprint ethos I guess.

Yeah, It'll be interesting to see how it goes. It's a definite option for me at some stage as I'll want a pickup again eventually. The LC200 works right now and to be honest I'll probably run that and a pickup simultaneously at some point. I want to drive it so I know what it's like now, as opposed to the first upgrade which is when I'd probably pick one up.

Very kind of you to say so, and we both love this place, lots of genuine people who are far more so than people you'd meet in the street, I love writing and reviewing the cars, editing, with 2 people it has its challenges, tik tok, instgram, fb, yt . Hive is my escape, a relaxed chat to Dragon dictation software, then edit on the screen, then reading an array of always positive comments, yet truthful remarks and with creative criticism and valuable feedback.

My aim as always is to contribute more, we have a 2 day break in Cardiff after Salon Prive, meaning i can blog some more.

Enjoy the drive, and keep your varied content coming.

Salon Prive...Ah yes, someday I'll be there. 🙂

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Ah, adding a new piece to the collection?

Cool to get to know you a little more! I would be apprehensive to get in front of the camera too. I tried a video for my car DIY and I didn’t get in the camera but it was still a pretty interesting experience! I’m glad that your business has grown and you’re given lots of different cars and the ability to travel to cool cafe shows!

Thank you, it was downright daunting the prospect :) looking back the biggest ever business risk i've ever taken, yet the best. My first DIY vids were me fitting a MK2 Golf window, i never spoke and the camera was static - it's such a learning curve, would you do it again? and thank you yes onwards and upwards, and thank you for the support and love.

Sometimes you have to leave those energy thieves.

You're absolutely right, it may be challenging, but the rewards are infinite and you feel far less tethered and free #loa thank you for the support and love too.

Cheers for sharing the story, and all the amazing content. I guess I'm still a fairly new audience member, but it's incredible to see where you've come, and you're getting better every day! I hope we'll be seeing even more from you in the future :-D