You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Banned Books and the Streisand Effect

in FreeSpeech4 years ago (edited)

As a person with a Master of Library Science degree, I ignore all the pc garbage that comes out of the American Library Assoc. However, I do despise censorship of any kind. My philosophy of education is that you expose children to the best examples of literature from all times and places. Once they read enough of the good stuff, they will weed out the mediocre and the bad all by themselves. Banning something just makes it more attractive to kids.

Sort:  

Agreed. I started pulling books to display yesterday afternoon, and my focus will be on the classics, many of which do warrant criticism for their philosophical foundation and content, but still should not be banned.