You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Drafting Tools: Dividers and Compass

in FreeSpeech4 years ago

I remember taking a drafting class in high school, and was even an art major for a while in college before I changed course and got my engineering degree. Still have my good compass and many of my old art supplies, but it's been a long time since I've used anything other than just rulers, pencils, and pens. And even those I've barely used since I got my drawing tablet.

I think there's still a place for the manual methods and do think they should be taught... after all, there's not always the right hardware and/or software around. But I gotta admit, the computer (and drawing tablets!) provide so much added value for drawing (and professional drafting too I assume) that I would have students and professionals spend more time on them than on the old methods.

Sort:  

CAD makes it so easy to design and make changes that there is simply no comparison.