You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Banned Books and the Streisand Effect

in FreeSpeech4 years ago

In my personal opinion, only books worth reading get banned. My reading list is full of them. I LOVE banned books!

By the way, the LGBTQIA+ people have now embraced the label of GRSM (Gender, Romantic, or Sexual Minority) to keep the label from getting longer. Of course, if you want to make fun of them (as I do), just call them the LGBTQXYZ or "alphabet soup" people.

Sort:  

I don't want to make fun of people who I suspect are battling myriad mental and emotional problems, but when they try to wield political power against their enemies, I will make fun of them just like I do the puritanical right.

Many great works have indeed been challenged or banned over the years. That is what I intend to encourage people to read in our display this year.

  • The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn,
  • Fahrenheit 451 (a most ironic ban)
  • The Lord of the Rings trilogy
  • The Harry Potter series
  • A lot of books featuring anthropomorphized animals, including Alice's Adventures in Wonderland

All good reads. Don't forget The Hobbit and Through the Looking Glass. I wish I could recommend The Silmarillion to anyone who isn't a massive Tolkien nerd like myself, but it reads more like a history book than a novel.

I used The Silmarillion in a British Lit class at a homeschool coop. We didn't use it all, but I did assign the creation myth at the beginning and the story of Beren and Luthien, of course.

Cool! Did you use any King Arthur literature? I read The Mabinogion during "high school" (I was homeschooled for all but two years of my life, and I took a lot of college courses during that time) and several other books from that era. I even picked up a copy of The Canterbury Tales in the original Middle English, but that was just for fun.

I am revisiting this old post as a reference in a new one, and I see I missed this thread! I have the Dover Thrift Edition of The Mabinogion, mostly because I wnated to see the source legends referenced in Stephen R. Lawhead's Pendragon Cycle novels. Have you read those?

I have not, I guess I'll add them to my personal reading list (so many books, so little time).