Weekend Experience [Week130]: My Eulogy 😪

Write your eulogy to be read at your funeral when you die.


This topic sent shivers down my spine as I was able to reflect on the kind of life I've lived so far and the footprint I've left in the heart of others.

pexels-photo-12461870.jpeg
Source

Welcome dear family, friends, and neighbors, thank you for sending your condolences to my family as it has been a source of strength in these trying times and of course evidence of the impact I've made so far.

I know it is heartbreaking to be here today and I wish you all were seated in this hall for a joyous purpose, I never thought I'd be writing my eulogy and it wasn't my plan to leave you all, I love you all.

However, death is inevitable and I'm glad I lived a life worthy of emulation.

Most of you know me in person but for the sake of those who do not. My name is Amie Geoffrey, the fourth child of Mr & Mrs. Geoffrey, I was born on the 14th of June 1904 in Lagos State, I had the best family ever.

Daddy, I'm glad you raised me to be a strong lady, you taught me the value of industriousness and resilience, and while I was with you all, I was able to conquer some battles nobody was aware of and still manage to show up every day wearing my million-dollar smile. I didn't give up until my dying day. Death is a way bigger, it conquered me. Dad,you're a gem!

Mummy, I know you'd miss our little chitchats and face time, I'm glad I spent most of my weekends talking to you, you taught me to be generous and selfless with my time, energy, and resources. Mommy, I reached out to the orphanage homes and helped those who were in dire need, ensuring I was a reason people around me wore a smile, even on their worst days, I showed up. Kudos to you momma. You're the best of the best moms ever.

Dear siblings, I couldn't have asked for any other siblings, being the last child of the house, y'all nurtured me with love and this love molded me to show love and gratitude to people around me. It, in turn, attracted good-willed people to me, Jessica, I know you'll miss the way I badge into your room to tell you how my day went, know that I'm at peace now and I'm no longer suffering, please don't grieve so much. If my absence caused a void, please fill it with those beautiful memories we'll stay up at night to talk about random things and laugh our asses out and of course the good Night hugs and kisses.
Emma, I'm sorry for all the silly fights, we never really got along, you're one sibling I'm fond of and talk of anywhere I go, those fights weren't because I had no love for you, it's just your baby sister getting silly at times, I know I was a pain in your ass always on your face even when you wanted alone time, maybe because I knew the life I have is not mine and I might leave one day. Please don't cry so much, that frame in your room is a reminder that though I'm no longer here with you, I love you so much.
Debby, my biggest sis, your show of love and support is amazing, you helped me reach my dreams with your words, prayers, and financial support. I appreciate everything you did for me, I'm sure I made you proud though for a short while.
Big sis, I saved a lot, invested, and reached most of my goals, and I could visit most of the places I had wanted to visit.

To you my dear friends, I'm sorry I left so soon, I couldn't stay any day longer to laugh and do all we planned to do.
Whatever task I left undone was beyond my power to do, I know you all will miss how I buzz your phones, my laughter, my voice, and of course the sweet and bitter memories we shared. Don't be burdened with this time of sorrow, I wish you light and love at the end of the day.
I'm sorry I didn't say I love you to you all too often, I really did.
If there's anything you can learn from me is being there for people in their darkest moments please let that legacy live on.
Tomorrow starts without me, do all your hands find to do, love and live your life to the full, and don't withhold good from anyone for no one knows tomorrow. Don't forget to connect with the one your soul believes in, your creator.
Don't remember me with tears, remember me with all the laughter and good memories, though I'm out of sight, I live on in your hearts.

To you all my neighbors, thank you for coming thru, please be nice to my family that's the least you can do for me, and don't give them a reason to miss me so much.

I hope you all live a good life, make someone smile and fulfill your dreams before you leave this world.
I am at peace now and I wish you the peace that surpasses all your burdens.

I love you.

20221128_122821_0000.png


Thank you @Galenkp for this most dreadful prompt, many might shy away, but someday we all will be gone. This has made me reflect on the kind of life I want to be remembered for.

Sort:  

I have no words. Wow.😇🥲

Your life is nothing more than a legacy. All the orphanages you’ve helped and the kids you’ve brought smiles to will certainly be grateful. Life should be like the way you’re living it. Strong bonds with family and friends and then doing so much to improve the lives of others.

Keep doing you.

Thank you for visiting my blog and dropping a beautiful comment. @yahuzah

This is beautiful i must say and you have really did a good job here 😊 Weldon dear 💕

Seriously, this is a very sad topic 🥺. Those who can read this if ever, they will your someone predicted their own death that they were able to write this jn advance.

Yeah, I loved the fact that it helped me reflect so much on the kind of life I've lived.

Why didn't you choose this topic @sammyhive? Hehe