Lazy Like Lasagne

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago
Authored by @

IMG_20220611_192543-02.jpeg


For the last few weeks we've had very typical autumn weather here. Beautiful sunny days for the most part, but by 4pm the temperature drops fast and before you know it, you're freezing your bum cheeks off.

To combat this I tend to end up wearing multiple layers of clothing. I've never been that into artificial heating or cooling and when I worked in England it was customary to get to work wearing 4 to 5 layers.

This change of seasons has brought on sinusitis or a cold or whatever and I've only let it keep me down in the mornings when I really struggle to get out of bed because my body feels tired. I noticed that it's been bringing down my mood a bit too because I've been falling behind with the household chores. Today I slowed the pace and it actually felt like a real Saturday.

I tend to find it difficult to be idle because there's always stuff that needs doing and I wear multiple caps each day in order to get them done. I used to work until the early hours of the morning but it started taking a toll and now I try to get an average of 6 to 8 hrs of sleep a night. Some nights I do, some nights I don't.

This afternoon I even tried to have a nap on the couch. It didn't quite happen as LL wasn't interested in anything of the sort so I got about half an hour before I was up getting things organized again.

This evening I made a kick ass lasagne which was highly enjoyable. I don't know why I don't make it very often, but when I do, it is soul food.

The white bechamel sauce came out just right, nice consistency with hints of nutmeg and pepper. To the mince I added a generous couple pinches of oregano, and sweet basil herbs. I use Kudu and beef mince when I can get it, it's more affordable than beef mince. I love the taste of it. It seems leaner and less fatty than pure beef. A heap of mushrooms, grated carrot and garlic (even though LL doesn't like smelling it when I put it in the pot) and then obviously some squashed tomatoes and I let it all simmer down. Delectable.

LL and I had the best time "cracking the cap" of grilled cheese topping together. Then we devoured it like a couple of savages. I may have even licked my plate, no not really but I felt like I could have. Needed to set an example though so I resisted.

It was a nice day with an even tempo to it and didn't feel like I was running from pillar to post on my to-do list. I might even binge watch a few episodes of something mindless tonight before I go to bed. Not an overly adventurous Saturday but highly enjoyable and somewhat restful. I think it's exactly what I needed to get stuck right back in tomorrow and play catch up.


Heart Light Grey.png

Backing5.png

Sort:  

Hello Andry, I really congratulate you, you must lower 2 (as we say here in Venezuela), we know that we get anxious and stressed when things do not go as planned day by day, but you are recognizing that "TIME IS BILLING US", so it is best to make a list of priorities and go doing them little by little, without demanding our body more than it can give. But you went overboard with that lasagna or pasticho, I don't usually eat anything heavy for dinner but if at this moment you put me a dish like the one in the picture I wouldn't leave even a little bit, because that looks finger licking good, hahaha thanks for sharing it. Happy evening!!!

Hi Tibi

Thanks for the lovely message. I know that I should take it easy when I'm not feeling great, but I can't really afford to fall behind. It's just me covering the bases so I need to get it done or we end up living in chaos and chaos tends to breed more chaos. I got the basics done today, it was enough.

I am glad you liked the look of my lasagne, it really was quite a treat, my daughter polished almost her whole piece too. I would have been happy to share it with you, I think you would have enjoyed it.

Have a lovely end to the weekend, hope you get to rest and do some fun stuff too 🌼

Smiles in Garfield :)

I must say, I am quite disspointed in you Iris... You should've finger licked the freaking plate! A lasagna that good looking deserved much more than common forks...

I'm sure LL would've understand the need for your to do so...

😂 well I was so darn tempted! Thanks for the compliment, it was a good dish. I'm not a foodie and my photos relay that but my cooking hasn't killed anyone yet, so I think I'm doing something right 😜

This change of seasons has brought on sinusitis

I feel for you Andy, we are having four seasons in a day at the moment and it is playing bloody havoc with my sinusitis.

Lasagna is awesome comfort food, I can never have too much garlic in mine! It looks delicious and yes just get the basics done until you feel better.

Thanks Tengo, it's kind of comforting knowing that we're kinda suffering this together with probably loads of other people too. It's not fun, my sympathies to you as well. Sucks turtle turds honestly.

Lasagne is a winner, I also like the garlic so I sneak it in when she's pre-occupied lol. Thanks a stack for the comment, I hope you had a good weekend! Hopefully we'll both be back in tip top shape soon 🌼

With that picture and the description of the bechamel sauce and the meat I was completely distracted from what I wanted to answer.
Lasagna or pasticho is one of my favorite foods since childhood and I have commented on it in several posts hahaha, so you knew how to get my attention.

When your body asks you to rest, listen to it.
Regards

Hello lovely Lis

Thanks so much for stopping by. I'm flattered by your words.

I only learned yesterday that it's called Pasticho where you live, I quite like the name. It's my favourite too, I have tried lasagne in every town that I've ever visited. It speaks to me like music does.

I'm hoping this sinus story will get on with it and be over soon, I'm generally quite healthy but I get sinusitis at least once a year. Just sucks feeling tired like this. Thanks for the well wishes and I hope you had a great weekend!

🌿☀️🌷☀️🌿

I love lasagna but am not crazy about beef in it and can't do tomatoes. So I make mine with a white sauce seasoned for ground chicken. Lots of mushrooms and onions and 3 kinds of cheese. I can't do wheat so the noodles are rice lasagna noodles.

I last made it for Christmas and Tom's family, home sick with covid, got most of it.

Chicken lasagne I have never made myself, I should totally give it a whirl, I think LL would love it, she enjoys chicken. I've used rice noodles before and they are a great substitute.

It's such a nice gift to give and receive, but you gotta keep at least half for yourself! I hope they recovered well from Covid.

Have a lovely day 🌻

When people ask me how they should dress for Melbourne... I say, like an Onion.
We add different layers, or take them off .. but maybe our layers should be like a lasagne

Lol exactly! I don't mind the layering but these temperature fluctuations are crazy. I think I'd rather layer like lasagne than being like an onion. This reminded me of the movie Shrek. 😁

Congratulations @andrastia! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 3750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 4000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Month - New Tracking Calendar

Lasagna is about one of my most favourite meals, ever. I think it may have been the first that I learned to bake on my own.

Like you, it seems, I find it very hard to settle down and Not Do Anything. I've gotta always be doing Something. The interesting thing about that is that I also appreciate the necessity to Slow Down, which is difficult for me, yet I really do enjoy a good Sunday afternoon nap. Sunday afternoon naps are nature's hugs to us.

I'm a man full of other dichotomies, too. I really enjoy chilly weather, but despise being chilly in the house. I'll go outside in the fall or winter and love it, but as soon as I'm in the house I must be warm.