Would you please read and review?

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago (edited)

A few days after his wife died, he left home. He walked out the front door and walked out onto the street. He didn't lock the door. And he left the door wide open. He didn't care if someone came and stole everything. Or if someone came and stayed. Probably neither of these things would happen. But if they did, it wouldn't bother him.

This is the first paragraph on page 1 of a new yet to be published manuscript, a non-fiction emailed to me on Friday afternoon. My job is to read, review and give my feedback on the story, says the author Bill. What do you think? Do you like it or not? And, please look for any typos! The book has been edited but typos are hard to find.

I can not say no to such requests, it is not in my psychic!

Filled with both apprehension at being a very inexperienced book reviewer and excitement at reading a brand new book, there was only one way through this challenge, to read. And that my Hive friends has been my #weekend entertainment.

I am currently at page 164 and so far I am enjoying the story of a man called Harry who is very bereft at his wife's passing. He is a man who is not religious or spiritual, he has led a very practical and logical kind of life. But now he is confronted with endings and reviewing his life as he walks along with only a back pack and a wad of cash in his pocket. He has no credit or health cards, ID, mobile or watch. Nothing mattered anymore to Harry, his plan was not to go back home.

What do I think so far? I am finding this a fabulous book and am enjoying reading about the philosophical and spiritual mysteries of life. A book that epitomises man's search for answers on the what, why and how of living on earth.

Do I like this book? Yes, I do, I like the theme, the writing style and flow. It moves along smoothly as Harry meets very different individuals along the way, each one is at the right point to help him on his reflection journey. I am learning with Harry.

The story is called 'The Golden Bridge.' I plan to finish reading the next 152 pages by tomorrow and give Bill my feedback. He asked me to be kind!

oooooooooooOOOOOOOOooooooooooooooo

Thank you @galenkp for bringing #weekend to Hive, it has taken me a while to blog with this tag I am sorry to say.

And gratitude to @tobetada for creating #lovetheclouds.

``````````````````````

My Sunday was a lot of inside time happily doing quiet stuff like reading my book, and writing a post, upvoting and commenting as much as I could on the posts of fellow hive bloggers.

But, at the end of the day the beach called me, I could smell the salt air and seaweed and I am sure i could hear the waves rolling in and out on the beach. I love the repetitiveness of the tide, it is very hypnotic and I badly needed a top up after a day of stillness.

I wasn't disappointed as the different shades of blue ocean, sky and clouds were simply divine. My walking was a mixture of strolling and stopping as I took photos of the scenes home with me. Refreshed is what I got! It finished off my #beautifulSunday and made it a #sublimeSunday.

I love reflections and managed to get some good ones of people standing on the wet sand.

New Note.jpeg

I am always infatuated with beautiful colourful clouds and yesterday on Sunday close to sunset the sky was breathtakingly gorgeous.


New Note.jpeg

Gratitude to the clever @ace108 and @cOff33a for bringing #beautifulSunday and @sublimeSunday to Hive. I take the opportunity to write on Sunday often.

...............................................

ecc271f6_e973_4747_bc60_452edf6eba13_1_201_a.jpeg

ladies_of_hive.jpeg


7D164C0F-082B-461D-99AE-D51A49188971_4_5005_c.jpeg

And so I end my long post of many topics and tags as I finish my weekend of stillness and action. Now it is time to still my mind and look at my multitude of abundance in the form of pretty flowers in the garden. I wish you all a very good day and don't forget to smile.


New Note.jpeg

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

img_4972_2.jpg

Sort:  

Sounds like a book the whole world of ageing population can relate to but I'm not sure if people want to think about the situation when they read it. Hope you finish the book in good time and be gentle enough to the author although I'll prefer a frank opinion if I'm the author.

Yes you are right, Bill would much prefer frankness and I plan to be. The younger characters are as skilful as the older characters in the book so it is very much for all ages. The defining factor from my perspective is whether one wants to reflect on spirituality.

I love the way the book starts! From the few sentences, I could tell it was a good book and I'm glad you confirm that it is. I hope you get a copy with the author's autograph and I think your feedback will be positive.

Walking on the beach, especially in the off-season is an unfulfilled dream for me, thanks for taking me there for a bit. Gorgeous photos, thank you!

Good morning @bluemoon, such a lovely comment to read first thing in the morning. An autographed book is a good idea and shall work on that one. It will take a while to go through the publisher road.
I hope you get to walk on a beach somewhere sometime, just keep manifesting. Wishing you a happy day.

Glad I was the first to send a good thought your way!
I have to wait until the end of spring and then I'll walk on the beach, I'm determined to as much as possible in the next few years (of course, if I can).
Thanks a lot!

Regards and stay warm🙏

A few days after his wife died, he left home. He walked out the front door and walked out onto the street. He didn't lock the door,(leaving it wide open).And he left the door wide open. He didn't care if someone came and stole everything,~~ Or if someone~~they came and stayed. Probably neither of these things would happen. But if they did, it wouldn't bother him.

I like what see and it sounds like something I would read. Enough in the short beginning to give me a pull in. I combined a few things. I am not sure if he did it that way for effect or what.

Oh Denise, I am glad I looked back and read your words. It is a fabulous story, one that focuses on how and why we are here on earth, It is about making the best of life, loving, forgiving, laughing, being kind and accepting.
Harry, the main character goes on a very steep learning curve after his wife transitions over to the other side so yes I think you would like this book. I will let you know when it gets published. Much love🌸🌸🌸