Football Training - First time in 30 years and We're Having a Blast!

Quiet Sunday night to prepare for the week ahead? 🤣 Hardly! It was football training night!!

The Thai business networking and referral club I have joined, BNI Believe - is participating in a Chiang Mai wide "football friendly" next Saturday, 7th November. Each business club fields a team of about 10 guys and 5 women, and there are 10 clubs in Chiang Mai. All participants & most spectators next week will be OWNERS of local businesses with more than 5 years experience, and consequently one really doesn't want to look like an utter clutz.

So we have been in training for 3 weeks now, 2 evenings a week for an almost 3 hour session each time, under the guidance of Coach Gai who is an avid football player and conveniently happens to own a private fitness coaching business.

Football1.jpg

I have to honestly say it's about 30 years since I last kicked a football seriously, and I felt it after the first training session. Consequently, I have been leading the warm ups and stretching among the women, many of whom are NOT sporty and were gasping after 3 kicks.

Football2.jpg

The women are frankly astonished that I, who will be 57 in 10 days time, can happily do push ups and a training run and am fitter than most of them in their 20's. Me? I believe aging is a mindset and about physical and mental fitness. Yes, I'm definitely sitting here soaking my sore feet in a hot magnesium bath after training, and I will most definitely be applying my Flexbeam Near Infra Red Light to my knee and groin muscles later when I hop into bed. But it felt GOOD to challenge myself!!

Football5 2.jpg

Football4 2.jpg

Football3 2.jpg

Yes, I DO love that "developing world" Chiang Mai here in Northern Thailand has state of the art community fitness facilities that cost next to nothing to hire: tonight? $2.10 each for the full 3 hours, which included the flood lighting and bottled drinking water. Training under the full moon on a very warm & fragrant tropical night? Just wonderful!

The best part? Laughing and getting to know our business crew on a basis that doesn't involve anything like a business suit or new clients; it is about fun and team building. In all the years I have lived and worked in Australia and throughout my year long hothouse experience with Leadership Victoria, I have never experienced something so simple and so effective. People paying to join a business network and committing to be an Extended Family of Choice, solely for the purpose of building and supporting one another.

The business owners represented range from very large big biz (the Nissan dealer for the three Northern Thai provinces and a substantial property developer) through to a local restaurant, my organic herbal products business and a small interior design and soft furnishing business.

Out there on the football field, we are friends and teammates FIRST. And we were all still laughing and sharing photos from Friday nights brilliant Halloween party.

And so there you have it. Football is a highlight of my almost 57th year - something I never would have expected.

Feeling challenged, supported, able, fit and enjoying the teamwork. Albeit with a slightly tight muscle behind my left knee. Applying magnesium and Near Infra Red Light.

Football6.jpg

A wonderful conclusion to a full and happy weekend focused on community, connection, health, fitness & leisure. BlissednBlessed.

Enjoy the Moments - Live by Design, Not by Default.


HiveOnBoard1.gif

Get Your FREE Hive Account



Fair Trade, Sustainable, Cruelty Free. Shipping Worldwide..png

Come check out my Pure Thai Naturals online store

TwitterTiny100x100.png
Find me on Twitter: Pure Thai Naturals @BreugelMarike & @HiveLift

Sort:  

Oh WOW! @artemislives this is SO AWESOME. Kicking a ball is the key to so many aspects of keeping our lives and minds healthy. This put the biggest smile on my face. I smiled at how much healthier you are at 57. Snap girl I am also 57 xxx and I can run up hills and kick balls etc too thankfully. Sports are such fun and the team spirit is also enlivening! I love this new emerging you that is energetic beyond containment. What a glowing light you are my dear friend xxx

Aaaw you made me blush!

I'm simply choosing to listen to my deep internal radar about the energy of others, and myself. Gently choosing more for people who build others up, are healthful, entrepreneurial, engaging and supportive. And it is changing the choices I make, and even who I connect with on Hive. All good!!!

Somehow in my mind you are a dark haired beauty of about 29... LOL. Clearly YOUR inner light glows and lends a glamour and a bewitching something to infuse even your words and your images.

So glad to hear you're fit and happening and running and challenging yourself - that makes me SMILE! Much love to you, my dear.

!ENGAGE 25

"Somehow in my mind you are a dark haired beauty of about 29... LOL."

Hahahahaha funny @artemislives, that made me smile. Much love to you too xx

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Oh gosh, I haven't played football since I was at school!

Just recently got back to bouldering after nearly 20 years and I hear you on the aches! I'm reminded of muscles I forgot I had. 😆 of course a magnesium bath is a must.

I hope you'll let us know how the match goes.

Bouldering. Hmmm - never heard that term before. Rock climbing with ropes?

Good on you for getting back to an old interest that's healthy and all about challenge and clean living.

You shall be kept duly informed, I fee sure! 🤣 How goes your splinterlands adventure?

!ENGAGE 15

Bouldering is rock climbing with mats instead of ropes. So you don't go to great heights. I never enjoyed messing around with ropes so much, although we occasionally used to do that too. I'll have to do a write up at some point and maybe get some more photos.

Splinterlands is so going, probably more than I should...

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

hahaha I am so proud of you man,,look at ya going!

And muscle aches? Hell yeah!! That is the rewarding stuff of when you think back on all the goals you made :D

Yeah - I should be so lucky to have muscle aches after football!! Feeling strong & choosing more fun, more health, more energy & more activity.

How goes it in the hospitals in NL? Worry about you girl!!

!ENGAGE 15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

That's just cool. I just love stuff like this. It's really cool that you are able to play and participate with the kids.

I'm going to be 70 in a few months, and my limit is a vigorous (cough) hike in the hills about once a week. I stayed quite active until an accident and back injury when I was 63 put me on the couch for weeks. I never did get all the way back. Some of my previous injuries and indiscretions have assumed a relative permanence so my ball playing days are ended. But I think keeping it going as long as one can is seriously important to the 'end of life' cycle. I KNOW it's critical to my continuing to ride so I walk and kick my dog every day. :)

I choose to NOT be one of the whingers or the complainers or the victims, but rather to be a change agent and someone fully ALIVE in every moment. Loads of fun mixing with new people who are different from me, even if it challenges me at times.

GREAT to hear you keeping active and staying on that bike!! 70? It's just a number. Cuddling your dog is good.

!ENGAGE 15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Congratulations @artemislives! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Next Hive Power Up Day is November 1st 2020
Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and get your Halloween badge

...And then they sallied-forth to face the foe; War-faces carved like granite upon usually friendly faces, lycra activewear clinging tightly to skin, leaving nothing to the imagination...Muscles limbered, strategy *strategised!

I hope to see a post-game post. :)