[WE100] - Going back to the start

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago

pexels_monoar_rahman_100733.jpg

The #weekend-engagement topics for this 100th week is about engagement on Hive and I picked the prompt for going back to the start. Why?

If only I could wind back the clock.

The start for me wasn't that great. In fact, I nearly gave up with Hive (or Steem as it was then before we broke free).

Finding it confusing

I had been blogging for a while before I came across Hive. I kind of kicked myself initially when I discovered it thinking, "how the hell hadn't I heard of this earlier?"

However, when I started playing around and looking at it. I felt like I was walking through a mine field. There was so many things going on and strange posts. I actually found it difficult to find the interesting content that I was looking for.

Low engagement initially

I also found engagement really low when I first started. I think my first post had no comments and very few upvotes - like a handful. It all felt like a lot of hard work generating content to get no interaction.

At the same time, I saw posts that to me seemed bizarre and random yet getting hundreds of upvotes and big pay outs. Was there some sort of cult here in Hive?

Starting again

So what would I do differently.

First - research, research, research. There is a lot going on in Hive and you can't understand it immediately. Start from the basis like https://whyhive.co/ but build out and explore different Hive apps, communities and tribes. There is a lot of information out there but you need to patiently find it. You can't expect to just know Hive within a few hours of landing. Hive is too vast for that.

Secondly - don't just post, comment.

Collaboration drives communities and investing time on commenting on other peoples' posts is going to allow you to make friends, be recognised and hopefully increase your audience to your own posts.

You still need to concentrate on good content and catchy titles/graphics. However, you need to build that sense of community participation.

Things to avoid

Don't get tempted by buying upvotes. I know it is tempting and you can see people making money for it. However, it isn't want the platform is about and won't make you lasting friends. It is just short term gain. Instead, build those connections with others!

Also, don't spam and tag loads of people. It just annoys everyone and won't make you too many friends.

Finally

Enjoy it, and don't just make it about how much money you make. If you enjoy the community spirit more than the earnings, then you will naturally build engagement.

Have fun!


Image source: Pexels

Sort:  

I'm reasonably new and found your post interesting. I especially liked the part about buying votes as it seems a little wrong and anti-community. Your comment about enjoying it seemed most relevant though; I'm working at that and have been finding a good level of enjoyment.

Becca 💗

Hey - thanks for your comment. We have to enjoy it right? I hope you find lots of enjoyment in Hive.

Best of luck - cheers @becca-mac !wine


Congratulations, @awah You Successfully Shared 0.300 WINEX With @becca-mac.
You Earned 0.300 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 3/4 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.261


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

Thank you for your reply and also all the best with your own Hive journey.

Becca 💗

I can relate with you on finding it confusing the first time and the low engagements. And I think most of us go through such phase unless you already know a lot of people here. It's one of the challenges in starting.
And I totally agree with you on the pointers you mentioned (research, engagements, avoid tagging. It's my first time reading about vote buying. Where can I buy some? LOL! Kidding aside, I honestly am not aware that such scheme exists here in Hive.

Enjoy it, and don't just make it about how much money you make.

This is the little magic :) Enjoying the things we do. Focusing on the money takes out the fun.

Hi @ifarmgirl

Yeah, enjoying Hive makes it all the better - otherwise what's the point? The fun is in the interaction with the great community we have here.

!PIZZA

Great post Awah! Love the sharing of the links to Why Hive? Especially for newcomers to the blockchain.
sam.jpg
Upvoted on behalf of the VYB Curation Project

Thanks so much for your curation @samsmith1971 - we need to make the barriers to entry easier for people. It is a bit complex when you first start.

Have a great week - cheers !wine


Congratulations, @awah You Successfully Shared 0.800 WINEX With @samsmith1971.
You Earned 0.800 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 4/4 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.261


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

Hi @awah,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

I wasn't aware of vote buying but I agree it's definitely not the right way to go.

Unfortunately it is around.

WE THX image (1).png

Thank you for supporting the #weekend-engagement initiative conceived by @galenkp and featured in THE WEEKEND community

The image belongs to @galenkp

Congratulations @awah! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

We have finished upgrading our website
Our Hive Power Delegations to the April Power Up Month Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@awah(2/5) tipped @ifarmgirl (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

In fact, I nearly gave up with Hive

It took me four months after joining before I started to use Hive on a regular basis and in those four months I went weeks upon weeks without using it, but was determined to give it one last go!

If you enjoy the community spirit more than the earnings, then you will naturally build engagement

Exactly once you enjoy it and it becomes fu, the rest flows automatically.
Thanks for sharing your great thoughts and have a great week.

I think to increase users we need to concentrate more on making it easy for people to get started.

Yes easy and fun is the way for Hive to grow I think!