Weekend Engagement in 300 words

September 12th, 2020

Weekend Whats-up Post

Kasilof Beach

Weekend started with a trip to town, I have been food experimenting, learning to make creamy and pureed soups. Using a standard blender is not a very safe thing to do with hot fluid, so we went to find a handheld immersion blender.

Over the last couple of weeks I have made my first total home made no cans involved tomato soup, and a potato leek soup. The tomato soup blending process was just a tad bit scary. You can not have the blender lid fully locked on, and the top cup part needs to be loose and given a gap so the steam build up can escape and not build into an explosive escape.

The first time a couple of drops of hot tomato soup did escape and two hit me in the face, a good thing I had glasses on. The stuff was hot. I was pretty lucky I thought I had it under control and knew what could happen, but even so a few drops did still get me. So dipstick style blender hunt was on.

Along with the soups, I have been learning to make a white cheese sauce for noodle dishes. and I am unsure what I will experiment with on Monday, but tomorrow I will hopefully be able to pick up a couple of other cheeses. My first experiment was with Monterey Jack cheese. I want to try adding in a Pepper Jack cheese since it has all those nice peppers in it.

Other than thinking about soup and cheese practice I pretty much plan on taking it pretty easy this weekend. Watch some Amazon prime shows, and play some games, and of course look at Hive. After our shopping Friday we stopped by the beach for a quick view.

Thats all.


Tiny Picture links back to my blog:

Sort:  

I love béchamel sauces

Sounds like it has been a nice weekend so far. I watch Netflix shows as well (too much). I get a free account with my T-Mobile® cell-phone plan.

I am very fond of white sauces as well. I often make a Béchamel for pastas and potato dishes. Yesterday I forgot about a bag of potatoes I left under the sink. Wondered what the strange smell was in my apartment!

Thank you for sharing your weekend and hope the rest of it finds you and yours safe and happy.

Oh yes the forgotten bags of root crops. At least potatoes can be planted when the long spindly stems start on the potato.

I had to look up that sauce, good to know for when I don't have half and half or heavy cream. I have been enjoying experimenting with the sauce, and soups.

Soups are one of my favourite foods; Add in some toasted crusty bread and butter and I'm a happy man. I guess coming into winter for you guys it's probably a food you'll eat more of. We're coming into summer so it's all salads and BBQ's here...But soup season will come back eventually.

I hope you have a great weekend. I'll catch up with you around the place I'm sure.

Yeah, what if you didn't have glasses since it's hot? So you're into cooking these days? I think it was yesterday when I read your post about what you did for most of the week, cooking. So eating will be your activity now while watching Netflix since its Sunday?

Actually just finished a mid-day meal, homemade tomato soup. Not a lot of calories in it, and nope I don't do netflix, I do watch Amazon Prime TV though. Most of the recent soup experiments are geared toward winter when it starts to get real cold and we want something that taste good and is hot.

So tomatoes will be on our shopping list, which used to be just a spring salad thing, for fall and winter. We will likely add leeks to our winter weekly shopping also since we like the potato leek soup. I had never used a leek before earlier this week.

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

mmm love soups. When I was in Tanzania they had all kinds of cold soup recipes. The concept was weid but in a hot climate they were awesome. Hmmm in Alaska though you'll need warming up :)

I love white cheese sauce. My mom will put it the pizza base before adding the toppings and it elevates the taste of the pizza to a whole different level! I'll often dip my chips into white sauce too, I somehow prefer it over ketchup.

I have been having fun with the learning/experimenting with cheesy sauces and soups.

I think that's really cool that you are learning new things in the kitchen. I have done a little experimenting with Red Potato french fries and the way I roast beef and pork. Nothing near as special as learning two new food skills.

That's a pretty nice view on the way home. Thanks for sharing it all...

It has been fun learning them, we are trying to move away from canned/packaged foods and expand what we can eat, and with winter approaching soup and noodle dishes always taste good.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 22 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
4

Thank you it is appreciated.

Nice Alaska photography.

Thank you.