I Found My Old Pokémon Cards This Weekend!!!

58B958C8-EBD1-4C99-B617-00E7564EDD34.jpeg

It Was On Purpose Really ..

I am still rummaging through my past, and things I I have collected along the way. With some purpose lately, I have been going through some things and listing them on a popular auction site. You may have read some past posts where I explained this. It continued this weekend.

It was a rainy weekend.. for the most part. It rain Friday, Saturday, and on Sunday. By the time Monday, Memorial Day, rolled around I was sick and tired of it.

A view out the back door toward the lake… A depressing view. Just another rainy day.

F7ADC0A4-5737-4AB6-8AD2-958F88F421B3.jpeg

Taking Advantage Of The Free Time ..

So I couldn’t really get to all the fun things that I want to do outdoors, because of the rain, so I may use of my time on the inside. I’ve been listing things for sale, taking those proceeds and purchasing things that are important to me now. Things I will enjoy as well. Currently I am investing in some silver coins that I have been wanting. Also purchasing silver coins is an investment strategy of mine, that will also hedge against inflation in the future.

So what did I find this time? well I remembered I had Pokémon cards, so I don’t those out with a bunch of other items. I took all the photographs that I would need to list my items and listed a few of them. Things kind of slow down tonight, memorial day night, after I started rummaging through Pokémon cards.

B72CDC59-2906-4204-9DDF-4772233C8192.jpeg

Oh boy this is going to take a while. I decided that this is one of those moments that needed a drink. I wanted to sip on some thing and reminisce about my past. About when I used to actually play with these things. So, I located some 1800 tequila and poured myself a glass to enjoy while browsing.

2FBC8B29-16CC-4D4F-9F72-E38102BE4380.jpeg

42D8EB87-4DDF-4866-831E-5CE304196BFF.jpeg

There we go that’s much better. I forgot how cool these cards were. I was explaining to my wife how interesting I thought developing this Pokémon series of cards had to be. I think I lost her somewhere in the babble. Can’t blame her, the stuff is an interesting to everyone. As I’m looking through them it reminds me of lots of popular games today. Like Splinterland!

A51E8F5C-DBE6-4E2E-8029-2F2FDBC21EFA.jpeg

I can’t say I got much accomplished, not even a single car listed for sale, And the tequila probably didn’t help. Ha ha. Seriously though, it was fun looking through them and I am trying to figure out how exactly I am going to list these for sale. Am I going to list them as a group or individually? Not sure just yet.

847707D0-C128-449F-977F-FF1775C489D8.jpeg

I’ll figure it out, just give me a little time. Once I organize the cards And actually remember which ones are decent cars and which ones may not be, I’ll be better off.

348044CD-0128-4347-B26A-69C949B67FCE.jpeg

Some of them may be a little hard for me to read… I’m gonna need to find some help!

0CDBA957-F0EC-4229-93A0-1FF3C2B98FCF.jpeg

That Was My Weekend ..

Well not just pokey man cards and tequila, but a little bit of rain or a lot of rain, spent some time with Molly and my wife, the in-laws, a few barbecues, A few beers, some much-needed sleep… I guess I did an awful lot this weekend! Now that I’m writing it all down that is. Well I have to go, I’m keeping my eye on some auctions that are ending. I have my eye on a few silver coins I’ve been wanting, and the price looks pretty good so far. Time will tell!

Hive text divider.png

1DBDC6D7-380D-4503-B87B-64B4CDBBFBD2.jpeg

Never put off till tomorrow what may be done day after tomorrow just as well.
~Mark Twain

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

NFT Showroom Member

Are you interested in creating an NFT for your art AND using a HIVE based project???

Here Is A Link, in case your interested in listing something yourself!.. NFT Showroom

Are You Ready To Tokenize Your Art???

Come Check Us Out To Find Out How and To Get Started Selling YOUR Art as NFT’s!
NFT Showroom Thumbnail.PNG

Hive text divider.png

The Orchid Lovers Community!

Love Orchids? Consider joining our community. We look forward to seeing you there!!!

The Orchid Lovers Community

A place for people who Love Orchids!

Sort:  

Yes, it can be fun stumbling on and finding our old treasures, @bdmillergallery.
Batman.jpg

Oh.. 😯 Look at that! Is that your lost treasure??? Cool stuff 😍

It's always nice to reminisce a little about ones younger days and the good thing is now we're older we can pour an adult beverage to assist the moment. 😊

I never got into Pokemon, I was probably too old by the time it started off, new kids of friends that got the cards though, watched the cartoon. You're selling some off - I hope you get some good coin.

I dug my old teddy bear out the other day, @bulldog-joy dared me to do a post about it and, never one to back away from a challenge, I'm doing it. He's not for sale though. 😬

Thanks for using THE WEEKEND community.

I wasn't drinking to get buzzed, just to enjoy the taste of the oak aged tequila. It sparks memories of vacations past, and helps make the moment of reminiscing more enjoyable. I couldn't afford the beverage as a kid.. hehhehe.

I ended up getting into Pokémon, when they first came out, only because a friend of mine wanted to play. Now I have the cards and they are of no interest to me. I would rather have the Silver Coins that they are going to supply me once they are sold. A good trade in my book.

Oh Boy! Can't wait to read the Teddy Bear story. And your right not to get rid of that. Never! It has sentimental value that would out weigh any monetary value you could recover from it. It's nice it survived G-Dog's abuse through the early years and still provides you some joy later in life. I hope he still has all his eyes... lol😁

I'm not much of an alcohol drinker - I do it but in moderation so when I drink it becomes a moment rather than just glugging fluid down my throat. I've had many a glass [or three] of a nice cognac or Scotch whiskey whilst reading, writing or talking with someone and have enjoyed them, and the moments, greatly. So, I get what you mean. 🙂

I'll probably start work on that teddy post on the weekend. Not sure what I'll write yet but I'll come up with something. I have kept many things from my childhood, my stuff and my brothers also, for posterity. I guess I thought I'd hand my things on to my children but that didn't happen [children]. So, I'll write about it instead. You'll have to wait and see if he's got his eyes and ears. 😉

Also, I love me some shiny, silvery round things so I concur with the card sale. ✅

I have plenty of 'Things' that have no sentimental value, that need to go. I am not ready to move just yet, but I am thinking about it already and that I don't want to be bothered figuring this all out then, when the time comes.

Children.. I know we talked about this before, you and I, and we are in the same boat. We tried.. lost a child.. and have come to terms with what life has given us; Each other. We are blessed with having found each other, regardless of the fact that our family tree limb will be a stub. lol. I am hoping some of the nieces and nephews take an interest in something, but that may be grasping at straws. I'll enjoy what I enjoy and they can decide later whether to sell it or keep the item around. No hard feelings or pressures.

I've been on a journey of shedding stuff for a few years now. I still have a lot of it but it's stuff I use for hobbies etc. Most of the superfluous stuff has gone. Simplicity is the key for me. It keeps things... Well...Simple. Lol.

The kids thing is a sore point at times but look at the world now, not the best future in store so maybe it's not a bad thing. I have two nieces and a nephew, all thousands of kilometres away but I value them nonetheless. They're my beneficiaries and will end up with my sentimental stuff someday. Old stuff from uncle G-dog they'll call it I guess. 😁

Old stuff from uncle G-dog they'll call it I guess. 😁

😆 You know it! Exactly how it will go to. hehe. Hopefully nothing shocking though.. like the full subscription to Playboy or Hustler. May want to pass that along to thrift store. 🤣

Lol...Yep just as it should be. Old 1970's Playboy magazines. I'm sure my nephew will appreciate it. 🤣

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Very nice! I was busy sitting around a campfire all weekend. We had zero rain, but it was epically cold for the end of May. We pretty much had a fire going all weekend. It was a great time. The idea of decluttering has become a bit of a fad these days, but it is surprising how freeing it can actually be. Nice cards there! I have a bunch of old baseball and football cards in a toolbox that I need to go through sometime.

Yeah it rained here every dang day but yesterday was awesome! I did inside stuff. I hate 30-50's and cold rain... brrrrr. My allergies sucked too. A campfire sounds great right about now. Hope you brought enough wood along! hehe

I am on a kick lately. I go in waves when I am motivated. haha. I figure why not trade some of this stuff up, that may have value to someone, for something I would enjoy. AND at the same time it could work toward my hedge strategy against inflation.. so silver and gold it is!

You have a tool box filled with cards?! I guess that is good as any place to keep them. It's fun going through them, but VERY time consuming. Takes forever to look each and every one of them up. I have to 15 gallon totes filled with baseball, hockey, football, basketball... yada yada cards. I DRED going through them.

Yeah, that is why I haven't bothered to look at them yet because it is going to be so time consuming. I don't think many of them are worth anything anyway. We probably spent about $100 in firewood for the weekend between what we spent and what our friends spent. They discourage transporting firewood due to invasive species, so it can end up getting expensive when you need the fire 24/7.

They discourage transporting firewood due to invasive species

How far from home did you go? I doubt you could transport anything of concern out of your temperate zone and area. I could see traveling many states away, but maybe I am wrong about that. Better to be safe than sorry I suppose.

I always think about that around Christmas time when all the pines, furs, and spruces come flooding in from up North. lol

We were about an hour and a half away. Not too bad, but there wouldn't have been much room in the back of the truck after you figure in all of our gear and our nephews bike and stuff. We don't really mind. They are pretty strict in Michigan though I have never seen anyone get fined.

No.. I don't blame you. And supporting the local economy at the same time 🤑

Yeah, at this particular campground I always go around the corner to the same house. Nicest old man, always has some really great dry stuff.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Not a bad way to spend the weekend. Tequila and pokemon. Reminds me of college. 😂

Me too, but I think the Tequila was of the cheaper variety. All I could afford at the time 😆

Don't need to wait for rainy weather here, with our power outages one is forced into two hours a day with no connection, that is when I start going through things slowly.

Yup much to sort, too much like pooch above you only need one but end up with half a dozen!

Miss Molly has about 13 or 14 puppy beds now, since that photo above was taken. Spoiled are we??? hehe. Sounds like you have been doing some sorting too, but with no light!! Power outages suck. Hope the weather is cooler there now at least.

Most probably the coldest for awhile, snow inland on mountains we enjoy between 12 to 20 deg C her on coast, a week of this is a holiday for me with sun only showing again around Friday.

Miss Molly could supply local pet shelter with beds, look how happy she is with her collection...

Clean house when electricity is off, or get stuck into cupboards, start clearing during the daytime, at night sit and chat or go to be early. Today off between 16h00 and 18h00, first option comes into play! Have fun checking out all the Pokemon cards, way before my time, both sons enjoy Magic of the Gathering collection and still play when they have time.

If you don't need them, then you sell them, hehehe.
Wow, that quite a number of beds Molly when through!!!

That's Pepper sitting there next to them, asking why we picked them up.. hehe. Now that he is gone, Molly has twice as many to choose from. I think we have 13-14 beds. My wife has a problem leaving doggy stuff at the store. 😆

Oh wow Pokemon😍😍Instant good memories, you are so lucky to have these!

I am conflicted on whether to sell them or keep them. I am having fun again looking through all of the art and appreciate more today (then back in the 90's) the creative thinking that went into the series. If that makes sense. They SO remind me of splinterlands NFT stuff.

I would so keep them, they're so freaking cute

I really am considering it.. or for a while at least 😊

I never played pokemon. I was past all that by the time they came along. But i would give anything to find my old garbage pail kids. #gpk #ftw

I ended up getting into it when they first came out, because a friend of mine wanted to play. I ended up buying a few cards here and there and ended up with a good few. It's funny you mention Garbage Pail Kids cards. I found a bunch of unopened wax packs and a whole box of those giant cards. I'll be looking to unload those too soon. 🤑😆😁 We'll see if they are worth much of anything.

I bought some of the giant size and a complete set of the series 4 gpk on ebay a few years ago and it hit my nostalgia button pretty hard. When i was a kid i had all of series 1-5, all the giant size, and thousands of dupes.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

LOL sounds like you did have a good time despite the rains.
My son used to be crazy about pokeymon cards when he was little. I need to show him your collection, he might have a fit. (I just did and we laughed so much talking about his madness.)
That is Pepper right in the last image? Handsome boy.

This weekend looks to be a bit nicer here. Hot but not rain. "His Madness.." haha, I hear ya! It's easy to get sucked into these things or games sometimes.. Sort of like blogging on Hive hahahaha

Yeah, That's our little guy Pepper there in that last photo. 😌
He was always quite the charmer.

Congratulations @bdmillergallery! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 6000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation