Birthday with a twist

I have a recurring problem that comes up around this time of year and over the years I've learned to begin working on it a little earlier each time...but it gets a little more difficult to decide what to do and how to solve the problem each year.

Problem: My partner's birthday

It's not the birthday that's the problem really, just that he doesn't like a big deal being made out of it; a quiet dinner at home or out and he's happy. Boring!

Last year we went to a dessert bar/cafe and when his dessert plate came along it had happy birthday written in chocolate on it - The guy at the counter asked what we were doing that night and I made the mistake of saying it was my guy's birthday. My partner wasn't pleased. He prefers it low-key: No happy birthday songs, no cake, no gatherings and no presents. Boring!

This year I want to do something for him...but what could I possibly get away with?

ghy.jpg

I took this image

A plan formulates

Around the end of January, I begin to think about his birthday and what I will do for him. Remember, he has a no happy birthday songs, no cake, no gatherings and no presents preference, and I usually comply, but this year I'm thinking something different, and probably a little devious, but I think he'll like it.

We aren't big spenders usually, and both prefer simple things. We like quality in the things we buy and the experiences and activities we do however and will be happy to spend a little to get it. We also get the things we need or want as the need arises which puts pressure on special occasions as we generally don't need anything...that's a problem come birthday time. I could resort to tools, he loves tools, but I'm going a different way this year...A birthday present with a twist.

I'm giving him a day out, with me.

His birthday falls on a weekend and I have a lot of plans in my head right now but I can't tell you all of them as they are personal.

You'll have to imagine how the morning begins and unfolds for a little while before breakfast and then the breakfast itself. That's probably the weak part of my plan to be honest, I'm not that good at making breakfast. Or lunch. Or dinner. Or really any cooking at all. I try though, and I he doesn't complain.

The day will be simple and is almost certain to involve a drive, nature and probably a picnic; although, there is a lovely little spot in the hills I have been told about that does the most amazing lunches served on a deck overlooking an amazing vista; that would save me having to make the picnic and would be way better than anything I could make.

The twist

As for presents, well that's the twist. He's not getting any.

Ok, that's not quite true. I bought the dress in this image, a lovely handmade dress that I managed to fill out rather perfectly in all the right places; he's going to love it. I also went to Honey Birdette and bought a pretty little set which will go underneath the dress so...I suppose he gets a gift after all; Me!

I know, it probably sounds selfish of me but, if you knew my man, you'd know that this is exactly the sort of thing he would love and certainly prefer over anything else, even tools.

I'm looking forward to his birthday weekend, spending any day, with my guy is a good day, and I know we'll have a good time ignoring his birthday, out in the countryside. I also know him well enough to know he'll try and get us into a position where the dress comes off, but I'll resist of course...

...but not for very long.

Becca 💗

Sort:  

Well this is the perfect birthday plan!

And in any case, your partner is not…
Boring!

I understand him because I'm similar to him I guess, we're for simple and quiet things, what's wrong with that?

And maybe we also like boredom a little, so maybe yes sometimes we are..
Boring!

But be honest, isn't the man next to you the best in the world for you?
Come on, I know the answer 😉🤪

He's certainly not boring, but the way he doesn't like his birthday. There's nothing wrong with it though, I only added the work boring in to add some drama. He is everything, except boring.

I'd not trade anything about him, and the only thing I'd change is to stop time so I have him forever, but I can't. So, we make use of the time we have, and make the most of it.

Becca 💐

Well done, we need to make the most of the time we have and enjoy it... there is no going back but we can enjoy the journey as it flows forward ;-)

What is the most important thing to do is to spend your utmost time with him. May you have a blast day with him during his birthday. Stay safe and God bless.

I think so too, it's the time together that's worth anything that money could buy.

Becca 🌷

Oh that's a simple yet very good plan and I hope he will be happy having you as his birthday present. You know him very well so for sure he would be happy with it.

Enjoy, have some fun on his birthday and keep safe.

I hope he will be happy having you as his birthday present.

He will be happy, I know for sure.

Becca 🌷

I'm giving him a day out, with me.

Sweet, happy birthday to your man.

Thank you, I'll pass it on.

Becca 🌻

You're welcome (^_^)

I can understand it perfectly! Before I didn't like to do anything on my birthday! But some members of my family always organize something for that day, and I can say that they have made me like it now! What I still don't like are surprises! So days before of my birthday they tell me what they will do that day 😅, it sounds very crazy!, but that's how I am 😁.

So keep having those nice details with him, you'll make him love his birthday 🎂. Have a great time!

I love my birthday, probably because my man always does something so special and thoughtful for me. It's not just about a gift, something he buys, it's about the moment he creates on the day for me. That's what matters most. I don't like other people making something big out of it though, just my guy.

Becca 💗