Old things

I'm not quite sure what it is about old things that I love so much. Maybe the history that seems to have seeped inside the object over time, each scratch or dent telling a story. Maybe it's the way the item has withstood the ravages of time and usage and endures still, or maybe just that things made long ago were simply made better than they are today. I'm not exactly sure, but they appeal to me, old things, and I spend a lot of time in antique and second-hand shops looking at, touching and, occasionally, buying them.

I began collecting old things many years ago and have restored or repurposed many items. It brings me enjoyment taking something long past it's best days back to working order or to find it a new purpose that it may live again.

Last weekend I found another item I fell for, an old workshop cabinet.

20221106_122343.jpg

I took this image

The cabinet has a lovely patina of age upon it with certain areas, around the handles for instance, more worn from the use they have gotten. I'm not sure how old it is, but it's probably around a hundred years old or so and I assume came out of a workshop. When I first saw it, my mind wandered back to all the things it's seen, the uses it was put to, and then I began to formulate a plan for what it may be used for now.

My man has been talking about a new cabinet for odds and ends. He's a fastidious man, likes his workshop to be in good shape and for everything to be where it is supposed to be, but there's always stuff that lingers about and I figured it could all live in this cabinet.

I took my guy back to the shop to look at it and he agreed right away. There were a few repairs to make, hinges on one of the doors, some screws in the back panel to make it dust-proof and he'd have to fashion some sort of locking method, but that was it. He had no intention of stripping and painting it and I liked that, the patina is so pretty and speaks of many years of use.

My man will add his own dents, scratches and wear over time, and maybe someone else will use it and add their own in the future.

We purchased the cabinet and transported it home and it's ready for the minor repairs after having had a thorough clean up. In a week or so, it'll be in place, filled with those random items and in-use once more.

Living in modern society means living in a society of wastefulness. We talk about saving the planet, reducing waste, and clean living...convenient catch-phrases in my opinion. I know finding and repurposing a few old things won't make much of a difference, but it feels good to do so rather than buying something new and adding to societies' wastefulness down the track. It's also a nice thought to think that we'll add our own story to that cabinet and maybe in the future someone else like us will come along and see value and add their own story.

I'm planning to hit a few antique stores this weekend when my guy and I take a long drive out into the countryside...maybe I'll find something else to bring home, but if not it'll be fun nonetheless.

Becca 💗

Sort:  

I know that old workshop cabinet, have seen quite a few in my life.

I know finding and repurposing a few old things won't make much of a difference, but it feels good to do so rather than buying something new and adding to societies' wastefulness down the track.

Well said!

I'm also in favor of recycling, restoring old things and I wish I had time and space to recycle old furniture.

Good luck with the antiquity shop tour, I hope you can find a few nice things.

It's too easy for people to go out and get something new instead of fixing or repurposing what they have, and I believe that adds to wastage, landfill and the planet's problems.

Becca 🌷

That is a beautiful hobby you have there. I am collector of books because I love the smell of them.

I like books too, and have many old friends. I like reading from them over devices, something nice about the smell and the sound of turning pages.

Becca 💗

Yes. I always buy books over the softcopy. Unless that book isn't available in my region. Good morning!

Good morning 😊

What's your favourite genre of book to read?

Becca 🌷

It used to be Romance and Erotica. But now I want to try fantasy and CNF. I like Comedy too. Well, mostly RomCom.
How about yours?

The fantasy genre is pretty good and if you look hard enough you may find some that involve romance and erotica too. The War of Powers comes to mind, written by Robert E. Vardeman and Victor Milán.

Becca 🌼

Noticed you switched flowers, does that mean I've been promoted?😁

Just checking. It's a series? Something about a Sundered Realm.

Congratulations @becca-mac! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 800 replies.
Your next target is to reach 900 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the December PUM Winners
Feedback from the January Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-12 - Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I believe that buying antiques has great value, some things can be restored, others it is not even necessary because the patina of time makes them even more beautiful.

Moreover, as you say, giving new life to a used object helps to make this world a little better than we found it 😉