More Updates from the Workshop

Once I get onto something, I tend to forget about some other things. It isn't like I stop eating. I can't stop eating. I love it. But I neglect things like books I'm reading or posting around. Just found out I haven't done anything in 8 days. That's a lot! But then, I tend to have some very inspired weeks and post every single day. Maybe even more than 7 posts a week. I guess that compensates the deal.

Two weeks ago, I went to the workshop to finish some work on bindings for a cuatro and get some tools. New tools made of wood and other things. This is the kind of thing called a jig in woodworking. It is a pretty sweet deal to make a tool out of a piece of wood. The idea is there and you try to get it into the physical realm. Adjustments and other neat details go in hand.

WhatsApp Image 2021-05-18 at 6.09.18 PM (1).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-05-18 at 6.09.18 PM.jpeg

The first item is something used to get fan struts into their specific measures. Cuatros have small bodies so struts have to be thinned out. This jig helps you get a piece of wood into 4 x 4 cm (height and width). The long dimension is usually varied according to the fan's display. These are some baby steps into going independent of my teacher's workshop. This is my mid-term goal as a luthier.

WhatsApp Image 2021-05-18 at 6.09.18 PM (2).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-05-18 at 6.09.18 PM (3).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-05-18 at 6.09.18 PM (4).jpeg

This second item is a circle cutter. I had one my teacher had given me. It was cool, but it had only 1 measure. That doesn't work for every instrument. Not even for every cuatro since I have to take into consideration making instruments for children. So I had seen this kind of cutter and went with the idea. I told him how it was supposed to be made and long story short, we were looking for every piece to make it. This is a kind of fancy tool because we ended up taking a piece of mahogany that was doing nothing and shaping it into this tool. Once it was done, he remarked that this was even more practical than his. It is certainly easier to adjust to any radius, you just need to draw the circles first. A tool like this is needed to step into some ornament crafts. Rosettes are the thing that I have in mind. I've been dying to start making some of my own and now I got the tool to get them into the sound board.

Sort:  

Congratulations @bertrayo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 41000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 42000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Siento el perfume de la madera. Siempre es lindo trabajarla. Tanto como hacerla vibrar!
Hay tiempos de inspiración, y el resto es para comer! Jaja

Y el resto de la vida es un ciclo de esto! 😂