You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Looking through time's window

Man, those photos!

Looks like a nice site to spend some time outside the box of life. I wonder why ruins have that kind of aura. Maybe there's something intrinsically attractive about places reclaimed by natursa that once held human structures. Who knows?

Those are some interesting numbers for a business at the time. Pretty interesting thing to keep around and make some money.

It sounds as no surprise some fires got a part of the place. Is that a normal thing in Australia?

Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited) 

I'm not sure what it is about ruins that make them feel as they do. Maybe the finality of it reminds us that all things really do come to an end, so make us feel more alive in the moment?

Bushfires happen annually in Australia although this summer we didn't have any really devastating ones thankfully.

I was 13 in 1983 and remember the Ash Wednesday fires well..my sister was born right in the middle of that period but the news was all about the loss of life and property due to the fires. I think the nursery was already quite deconstructed by then as it was over 100 years old, but the fire came through and did it's worst anyway.

I like going to this place, I'll do some photos in July when the flowers are all out and another post.

Well, that's another way to see it. It's the glass half-empty waiting to be filled with something. I hope it's rum!

It must look beautiful covered with flowers.

Oh, I see. Well, I guess life sprouting during Bushfires is something good among all the tragedy.