What's up with my weekend?

There's nothing better than spending the weekend in productive stuff. Here we are still in quarantine, so all the activities of the week get stretched to cover all days. I decided to get onto some luthier duties on a project I'm testing. You'll see about it soon enough. However, as everything was done quickly, I went out to see what were my parents doing. I knew they were painting stuff, but I didn't know they were going on with the garage walls. And unfortunately, they had already begun on that.

Why is it unfortunate? Well, that's a wall that gets a lot of sunlight and the coating is more than 10 years all. The old painting needed scrapping before getting on the new coat. Long story short, I came in like a scrapping god. Bad jokes aside. I did the scrapping necessary and a lot of the had to be painted again. And this time I lend a hand of this since it would have been pretty scumbaggish of my not doing so after taking of all that paint.

WhatsApp Image 2021-04-25 at 12.20.27 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-04-25 at 12.20.28 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-04-25 at 12.20.27 PM (2).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-04-25 at 12.20.27 PM (1).jpeg

There are more walls to paint and next time I'll be sure to supervise and help getting the surface ready to start working on these task. Now, speaking about changing all things, I took some time to think about changing Bri's strings. Last time I did this was after it was re-finished. It's been 2 years since that and well, I had an incomplete course of strings in the E string. So, why not get new strings are give her a new and bright sound?

WhatsApp Image 2021-04-25 at 2.43.17 PM (2).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-04-25 at 2.43.17 PM (1).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-04-25 at 2.43.17 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-04-25 at 2.43.18 PM (1).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-04-25 at 2.43.18 PM (2).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-04-25 at 2.43.18 PM (3).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-04-25 at 2.43.18 PM (4).jpeg

These packages are really fancy. These strings have been around the house for years. I had 4 sets. And well, I think they were bought on 2015 or something like that. It says that the envelope prevents corrosion, but it's not that good if you can spot the black dots in the strings you can see nothing prepares the strings to resist tropical heat. It's not D'addario's fault. I mean tropical humidity is a force to reckon. But they seem to be in pretty good shape regardless. And the sound is bright a little bit crunchy and full of beautiful harmonics. I missed listening to Bri with new strings. You'll get to listen soon enough once I get onto another recording session.

Hope you had a great weekend. Stay awesome!

Sort:  

what a productive weekend you had Bert. I played soccer.

You're parents must be real proud of you :). Great work with the painting.

More like pissed off because of wasting half a gallon in bad coating. But hey! I want the house painted and a coating that lasts. :D

I played soccer.

Whenever I read soccer, I go back to high school. Never again did I played soccer 😂

Lesson learned 😅. You should try playing more soccer too. Xd

Ha, ha, ha. I work out. Teams sports are not my thing.