You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend Part 2: Homemade Fruit Butters

Of all the things I miss in my life one near the very top of the list has to be my Mom's canned pears. When the local pears were in season we'd go buy a couple of boxes (50 lbs each) and she'd can almost every one. We had enough canned pears to have maybe 3 quarts a month for desert. Her peaches were spectacular too. Her sister always canned peaches with her and each of them would make up a 'special' quart for the county fair.

That's some great deep memories for me! Thank you.

Sort:  

Ah that’s awesome man, I’m glad you were able to reminisce about such a nice memory. That’s why I am trying to start these types of things so hopefully our son, someday will be able to look back fondly on it like this!

I would love to get those 50 pound boxes of peaches! I hate the skin of peaches but I love the taste of a nice ripe peach. I think in the past 2 years it’s the first time I’ve had a truly fresh peach from a local farm. I always used to just eat the junk ones from the store in questionable liquid. I’ve definitely come to love them now!

!ENGAGE 25

In Eastern Washington, in peach country (Omak) there is a local only peach called the donut. It's about the size of a Krispy Creme and is as sweet as can be. It only lasts a couple of days on the shelf so they don't raise many, but man are they good!