Initiate Operation - Weekend ENGAGED

It's Saturday in my part of the world. The Texas sun has relented a bit and i find myself outside on my laptop. I just caught up on all my comments and now it's time to Initiate Operation - Weekend ENGAGED


Make it so... number One. Engage!

Thanks to the #weekend-engagement community and G-Dog and company for the initiative of incentivizing engagement. I was nominated for a potential delegation by @xxxthorxxx & @hidave. I wanted to thank them for their consideration.

I also nominated two other under-appreciated fellow artists and i hope they make a weekend post and participate for an opportunity at receiving the delegated HivePower! Y'all can go check out and engage @kevmcc & @damoclesart either way!

I normally wouldn't write about my weekend or what's going on unless it was particularly eventful. However, i am ENGAGING this weekend fully.


Elvira

I have noticed that weekends slow down a bit around the chain. One would think that with most people having a respite from the workweek that they would be more active rather than less. So, i am thankful for this community and for the motivation to be more active outside of my normal M.O.

Over the last few months i have made a friend here in my backyard. A squirrel has been coming to the yard to inspect the bird feeders. Whilst here, i would toss out some peanuts in the shell that we have for the BlueJays. Apparently, the squirrel loves them.


Nut Lovers

Over the course of the time we have spent together i have been drawing the squirrel into my Love-Trap. I would toss the peanuts less and less far away. It got to the point that i have been out here on the patio and look up and the squirrel is only a few feet away with it's hands out like, "Where's my Peanuts, bro!?"


Where's the hookup?!

We have kind of become close. At times, i would go sit down on the ground and try to get the little fella' to come and eat them or at least take them from my hand. Usually, it will come pretty close but end up needing me to toss it just a foot or two away. The squirrel would then grab it and lay on it's belly spread-eagle right next to me.


On the belly...

I have to say it's been one of the most endearing things to happen since i have been back home from Sweden. I just recently realized that i am pretty sure it's a girl. I have never seen any nuts of it's own... but i haven't really been focused on that. As of last week, i was able to get the squirrel to come and take from my hand. I felt like it was a crowning achievement in my life! My true Bob Ross came out.


Bob Ross Chill Mode Activated

So, as i sit here a truly blessed man, sipping on my peanut butter coffee i have my camera right next to the peanuts that are waiting for my friend to return. I have been able to get her to eat more than once from my hand and i have been waiting to capture the moment in video or photograph. Hopefully, she will engage the weekend with me.

A fellow artist friend that i am trying to get to come back to the chain made a photoshop tutorial video for me. I have multiple art projects in the works, which you can see in my other posts. So, while i wait for my little buddy... i am going to sip some coffee, do some art, and get educated in the tools to help accelerate my output in productivity.


Napoleon Dynamite Technology Gif

I also made Lamb in the oven last night and there are plenty of leftovers... which means no cooking! I am very grateful and thankful for this day.

lamb.jpg

I am happy to have been able to share this operation initiation of having my weekend fully ENGAGED! I will be checking here and there to keep up with the comments and probably joke around on Discord a bit... but overall, i am hoping for a boring weekend. I always find a way to occupy myself.


Bob Ross Wisdom

Wish me well on the art endeavors and i will keep you posted on them and on my squirrel friend. I hope that you all get to enjoy your weekend as well.


Little Rascal

Actually, i think my friend may have just crawled down the fence and into the yard... we shall see what comes of it! Take Care Y'all

Sort:  

Right on looks like youve got a nice full weekend going on. Congrats squirrel whisperer. That will be my new nickname for you.

Dig the lamb. I love lamb and was fortunate enough to have someone who cooked it proper.

Yeah weekends are slow here on Hive. I'm actually wish they weren't as i usually get some Hive withdrawls on the weekends as i desperately look for someone, anyone to chat with.

squirrel whisperer

Now that's a skill I'd like to see!

I'm not sure why things are so quiet here on the weekends. With a lot of people probably not working over the weekends I would have thought there was a little more time although I guess people have families and all. That's why I did the weekend community with the hope that people feel inclined to drop a my weekend post or two. we'll see how it goes.

I hope your's is going well.

Yes! I am looking forward to figuring out that Photoshop stuff. There's a lot of bells and whistles... but it will be a tremendous upgrade (once i can figure out how to use it) from Microsoft Paint! I have mastered the MS Paint.... but the limitations are stopping me from being able to move forward on a few art projects without moving mountains!

Thanks again Dave for the referral! I appreciate it. I am going to pop in to Discord and see how it's going up in there! Hope you are enjoying your weekend browski! It is a bit slow.... but it doesn't have to be. Letting my Voting Power recover a bit before i go curation hunting! hahaha

Squirrels are a lot of fun to watch. We have one that loves to tease our cat, and tries grab all the bird kibbles before the birds come down.

Sounds like your squirrel has some awesome personality! Seems like the squirrels definitely have a hunger!

Boring weekends can be good you know...We use them as a recharge and, rather than fill every weekend up with stuff, sometimes we plan zero stuff and just relax, chill and go by feel. I hope you and your squirrel friend are enjoying your weekend so far and that your artistic pursuits come together.

I normally wouldn't write about my weekend or what's going on unless it was particularly eventful. However, i am ENGAGING this weekend fully.

You should mate! Shows personality and let's people know who you are. Thanks for using the community though, I appreciate it, and I hope you will do so again. Anything weekend related is acceptable. I guess that means literally anything, so get into it anytime you like.

Thanks bro! I will. I am just finishing up my buddy from India's tutorial he made for me for Photo Shop. I am recreating the gas mask gif from my last post. It's challenging but i am getting so many artistic thoughts about all that i can do with the tech.

The squirrel didn't come back yet (to get my nuts) since it can eat freely from the droppings of the bird feeders... less risk. We could learn a lot from squirrels. And i totally agree about recharging and planning zero stuff... for me, even relaxing is just switching gears to more enjoyable work. I don't see it as work when it's learning and something you love! I am sure you feel me on that.

Thanks for dropping by... and you and your brother never cease to amaze me man. Y'all are the go-getters and comment answerers that i am striving to be! hahahah I am not sure if it's monday yet where you are... but i hope you had/have a great last day to your weekend.

Guard your nuts bro! 😂

Nup, not Monday get, thank fuck. Nice Sunday afternoon right now, almost 1400. Just had a bite to eat and now kicking back under the verandah enjoying birdsong, a beer and chat with Faith and her mum. Heading over to the hardware warehouse soon, love me some tools! Lazy sort of Sunday really.

Seems like you're on the same trajectory.

Yes, having a beer at 23:32 and trying to keep up with your ass on comments.... just on my own interaction with you. How do you do it with all the other moving parties and people? I am intrigued and amazed! hahahah Bout to eat that late night lamb from my post....
I thought G-Dog came with all the hardware included! Faith needs to get her money back when y'all go to the store! hahahahah

Lol, how do I keep up with the commenting? This is a good question, I don't know how I guess, I just comment a lot, write some posts and reply to everything that comes in. I work hard.

That lamb looked good, making me hungry!

Congratulations @castleberry! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Squirrels do love peanuts. Several years ago I bought a bag and put them on the patio table for me and who ever else was there.

The next morning there was an empty bag and little squirrel holes all over the yard. They weren't taking any chances about their winter supply...

I have a cousin in North Idaho that actually has a squirrel that comes to the window in his kitchen and scratches. There's a little tub of peanuts there for exactly that purpose.

Glad you had a 'soft' weekend scheduled. That's a good thing.

Thanks BigTom! I think a BlueJay came and stole the last few peanuts i had set out next to my camera on the patio! hahaha I love peanuts too, so i don't blame the squirrels or birds that share my taste. I am gonna have to get some more just like your bag.

Sometimes the squirrel will try to dig on the patio where there is like this astroturf covering. It will dig and dig and dig to no avail. It's funny but not funny. They are so smart MOST of the time.

That's super cool about your cousin. We could all use some pet squirrels that live outside and are obedient for peanuts! Hope you had a great weekend too!