Should I Stop Buying Things Intentionally to Feed My Wants?

in Weekend Experienceslast year (edited)

A3EE25B9-70E0-4E5A-AEFB-FD6015878B7C.jpeg


BUYING A BIKE FOR A STUPID NEW YEAR'S RESOLUTION

It was January 1, 2021 when I bought my second mountain bike (the old one was sold to my cousin years ago). It is not a very fancy and expensive mountain bike compared to the ones used by pro cyclists and mountain bikers, but it did cut-off a big percentage of my monthly salary as a teacher. I purchased it for 15000PHP or 274USD.

31C3FB63-BAA5-4A62-9192-B66CC83136D3.jpeg

I bought it for two reasons. First, I wanted to engage again to an active physical activity since it was my new year's resolution and I could not go to gyms because of the strict health protocols and guidelines because of COVID19. Second, I wanted to go with my cousins who bonded with each other by going to different places riding their bikes. But, I never got the chance to ride with them because of the conflict of schedules, and so eventually I stop using my bike also.

I still have this bike now, junked in one corner of our house, but it has already rusted since I have not used it for a while. I wanted to sell it but I do not think somebody will get interested on it because of its current state. I want to bring this to a repair shop but I am afraid that I will be spending again for something I do not do very often now. I realized I just wanted biking when I am with a company and do not find it enjoyable alone.

So, yeah I maybe just bought this bike for a stupid new year's resolution! Not so wise then.


4A81105D-F259-4EEC-9FF2-108CE21EE3A5.jpeg


I DID NOT LEARN FROM BOOKS THEN

Maybe this post would define me as someone who impulsively buy things. These people buy things without really thinking if they really need them. But first let me explain, I just need to say my side even if you don't buy it...

I love or loved reading books. It was my hobby when I was in high school. I specifically love reading romantic and erotic novels and eventually fell in love also with sci-fi books. I told myself that when I could already afford to buy books, I will buy many of them.

Then, I met my girlfriend, Grace (my wife now) who is a bookworm. She has a mini library in her parent's house. So, I get envious and also made my DIY book shelf.

46FE0437-42B4-455C-8FA3-F878878ACB1F.jpeg

I bought this deluxe collection of books of Paulo Coelho because I know he is a very well-known author. I also have a friend who collected all of his books and treasures them so I thought that I would also love his books.

I finished reading The Alchemist. That took me three weeks or more because I did not really like the book or the story. But surely I have grasped the meaning and the lesson of this book. If I have to rate this book, I would say it only scores 5 out of 10. Because I was really not liking what I was reading, it discouraged me to read his other works.

2F11270A-5722-4196-AC05-0EB32C0A17CA.jpeg

But, I still hope that I could read all these because I spent maybe 2500PHP for this collection. I challenge myself not to buy another book if I do not finish reading all these. If you have a suggestion what to read in this collection, please let me know.

I do not want to say that this was not a good buy because I have not read all of these and buying books is really a good one because it feeds your brain and soul but perhaps, I really did not learn from these books.


3E060DCE-6E45-4175-ACBD-3D31B1F3589A.jpeg

BUYING ART MATERIALS, BUT NOT CREATING ART

I used to be in love of making traditional visual arts especially on colored pencils and charcoal and graphite pencils. But since I got my iPad four years ago, I have automatically shifted to making digital arts because of its convenience and the no-need-to-clean-after thingy.

But when I see art materials in the physical or digital art stores, I am just tempted to purchase another one. Like this Strathmore Toned Gray Sketch Paper, I bought this one few months ago but I have not scketch anything on here yet. I just also used that Canso Mix Media Paper a year ago but just used it once. The guache, acrylic paints, and soft pastels are no different, I have not used them for ages.

6C15E1C3-8BAA-4DAD-8FF5-C6DCF3A320E1.jpeg

I do not know if I was just feeding my old "very poor" self of the things I really want before but could afford or I just want collecting and storing them now inside my art box. But, I was extremely happy when I get to hold and feel these art materials. i love unboxing them from packages.

I feel guilty that I am buying these art materials but I have not been making art for a while now.

0011DD15-B31D-4731-A583-ADA9ECBE824D.jpeg

Insights

I do not know if I have learned the lessons of wise-spending now. But, I have given the full authority of my finances to my wife who knows how to manage it very well. I just ask her if I want something.


Anyway this is my entry to the Weekend-Engagement Week 145 by @galenkp. There are other fun prompts that you can choose from so please check it out.

I think that would be all for this post. Good day and cheers!!!


5932BD4B-C3E2-4B75-A300-F9EA530A0C20.png

| Instagram | Tiktok | Youtube | NFT Showroom |
Sort:  

Looks like you need to do some thinking. Buying things you don't need or use is a problem and you already realize that. A bike is not cheap and if it sits there and gets rusty, then you throw your money out of the window. Books you can read later, just don't go crazy on buying them as space is limited. I'm sorting my old books as we speak and donating them to the library.

Art supplies is another thing that can go both ways. Pencils you can use later, but paint dries in time. You have the iPad but it's not the same as the good old drawing. So who knows, maybe one day you'll go old school again.

In any case, it's good that you realized you may manage your buying better.

Yes. I realized that now. Actually I had so many crazy purchases during the pandemic, but I am really using the other things now.. So, I think they are a good buy.

And my girlfriend had stopped me buying things and instead invest them. I am so lucky to have her. I have been paying for a piece of land, in 4 years time I would pay it in full and there we will build our small house.

Yes, I really hope I can go back to the old me who loves doing traditional art. I miss that.

Thank you so much. 😍

I think many of us get trapped in this - I know I used to do it quite a bit and art supplies was also one of my impulse buys but I did use them, probably not as much as I should have, but I still have them all.

As for your bike, well I think you need to weigh it up- are you ever going to use it? If not, if looking at it doesn't inspire you to use it, then sell it. Sell it as it, don't spend extra money on it. The longer you keep it, the less you'll get back for it as older models tend to decrease in value fast.

Perhaps you need to arm yourself with a list of questions the next time you feel the impulse to buy something that you don't necessarily need.

Am I actually going to use this in the next 3 months? (Be honest) if no, then walk away and don't look back.

If yes, then ask yourself is it an investment into something you are currently interested in seriously pursuing? If no, walk away.

If yes, then ask if this is going to add value to your life or enjoyment of life and then weigh up the price point in terms of value for money.

I've managed to cut down my spending a lot by asking if I really need something or if I simply want it. I haven't bought art supplies for years as a result.

I like to use that too (asking if I am actually going to use this in the next three months).

I am still thinking if I am going to use my bike or really sell it already. I just hope Ill have no regrets after.

Thank you so much for your words...


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Sooo.. I read 5/10 of the books but the only one that I had a physical copy was The Alchemist. ( symopre wala na dito at di ko na alam kung san ko nailagay.)

Grabe ano when we have such impulsive actions, I cannot say that it is bad because it will feel that I am saying this to myself din HAHA. But it is helpful talaga when we weigh things over and over again.

Most of the time when I purchase new stuff I ask, am I going to use and abuse the item or not. Because if I do that then I might buy it. But if it is just spur of the moment and leave them as is after two to three days collecting dust then it's not worth it. ( sorry na sa stationary bike na binili ko nung pandemic di ko na assemble nung lumipat kami almost 2 years na sya naka stock)

image.png

Salamat,bro!

I have no regrets pa naman sa books at art materials kasi mababasa ko pa lahat at magagamit. Kailangan lang ng tamang timing 😅. Sa bike, lang talaga ako nagsisi ng masyado.

Hi @christianyocte, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rem-steem!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

Thank you so much.😍

:-D I know the feeling! Happened to me so often...(you realize it when you need the space). Great post

Very true. The books are placed outside the bedroom now. The bike has no permanent space that is safe from rain, and the art materials are placed in a storage box. It cannot be placed anymore in the cabinet near my table. 😫

I'm a little surprised you didn't like that book but hey, everyone has different points of view. I loved "eleven minutes".
I love the materials to create art, I think it's the dream of every teacher, even if you're not going to use it.

Heheh. Ill try reading eleven minutes. Thank you.

Ok, this time you will not be disappointed.

Congratulations @christianyocte! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 80000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 81000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal