A long weekend at the beach with my family

The weekend is the moment in which I dedicate all my free time to my family and recently we have also resumed walking more quietly after the end of the lockdown. During the week my wife and I work hard and our son is divided a little between his grandparents who help us to be more peaceful. But from Friday afternoon our attention is dedicated exclusively to him, our little one year old plush toy.

This weekend we spent in the same place where I lived the sea in the last 20 years of my life, called the blue grotto, a stretch of coast of rocks and reefs from which freezing water sources flow and in summer they are truly a delight. with prohibitive temperatures and the scorching sun!

IMG_20210521_174607.jpg


My son is struggling with his first approaches to the sea and the springs and his reaction was really funny: despite the cold water and some hesitation, he slowly wanted to walk with his bare feet, looking for little ones. stones or small living beings such as crabs or almost invisible fish that populate this environment.

IMG_20210521_174911.jpg


His curiosity is astounding, at every step he shows us something and expects an answer from us, even if we don't know what he can understand, but his facial expression is satisfied, we probably underestimate him and he also seems to know this.

IMG_20210521_174717.jpg


We also took some walks in costume and costume and it seems that the sea does not scare him, even though it is a little rough he is not at all fearful and this is good. In fact, I have seen many small children on the beach being afraid to put their feet in the water and it is a trauma that somehow they will have to overcome to fully enjoy this wonderful creature of nature.

The passion for the sea was such for my son that he began to drink some sea water, in a moment of relaxation on our part, and immediately spat it out, having noticed its salinity. Our first weekend at the beach was positive, we actually got tired because the energy of a one year old child is incredible and at this age it is necessary to be beside him every second of the day, the unpredictable is always around the corner.

After a good shower, returning from the sea, we continued to play a little longer but last night he collapsed really early, tired from the long weekend. In truth my wife and I also fell asleep immediately afterwards, very tired but happy to have spent our time together, and seeing him fall asleep happy between us is something inexplicably exciting.

Sort:  

This reminds me of tessellated pavement.

In geology and geomorphology, a tessellated pavement is a relatively flat rock surface that is subdivided into more or less regular rectangles, blocks approaching rectangles, or irregular or regular polygons by fractures, frequently systematic joints, within the rock.

Can I ask where this is?

Sure, South Italy, Puglia 😉

Ah cool, where my MotoGP hero Valentino Rossi is from right?

Valentino was born a little above, in the Marche region, although I thought he was born in Bologna, in Emilia Romagna! lol 😁

Ah ok, my mistake.

This is beautiful! Can imagine why you spend your weekends here. I always love seeing the curiosity of young children too :)