Intelligence or Looks — My Perspective as a College Student

Edited on Canva. Image from Unsplash by Emmanuel Ikwuegbu

If I will be asked if intelligence or looks, I will choose intelligence. However, this is not a firm decision since I am still having a second thought if I will choose looks or not.

In building your career or future, intelligence is vital. For instance, I am taking college program right now and I need to use my brain to pass all the required subjects to advance into the next level and hopefully to get better opportunities after graduating. I can't just use my looks and immediately get 100 on my test scores (Well... unless you're flirting with your professor, jk.)

Yet I also know several people who are dumb but still able to build their career and gain a lot of money just by using their looks. The problematic influencers are perfect example for this. No matter how dumb they are, as long as there are people who support them, they still have a career and will still earn money for living.

This is where I am having a second thought. I am on the intelligence side but looks can give you the same advantage with, somehow, lesser effort.

We can't deny that intelligence is so underrated nowadays. People prefer beauty and looks as it always captures the eyes; we are accustomed that visually appealing things are good to see and fantasize. On the other hand, intelligence can't be seen immediately, but it can be observed. Not until you do something smart, people don't care about you.

Good looking individuals are magnet to a lot of opportunities. They naturally have the charm, and they can use it as an advantage to reach their goals. I have a good-looking friend who' now living independently from her parents and currently have a stable income to sustain her expenses from college. Her job? A live streamer/entertainer on a well-known platform. She doesn't spend a lot of time there. Maybe just a few hours then she gets rewards from her viewers.

Image from Unsplash by Higor Hanschen

On the other hand, intelligent individuals have limited option as of now. Sure, they can excel in class but cannot use it yet as a credential in applying job. They still need to spend several years to gain knowledge and experience before they can say it's enough to impress an employer. If you just have the brain and not the looks, it feels that the choices are narrow. And often you need to double your efforts to widen your opportunities.

In terms of finding potential relationship, there's a harsh truth that if you don't have the looks, the chances are slim of getting successful. If you're just have the brains, you need to exert more effort to be noticed and convince the person you're pursuing.

But if you think about it, the beauty and looks are short term, while the intelligence is on the longer term. Why did I say so?

Beauty fades overtime. If your only investment to yourself is the looks, time will come that skin get wrinkled, your hair will get white, and other good physical feature will disappear. With that, your opportunities became limited for the rest of your life.

While if you choose intelligence, maybe for now its limited but in the long run you will gain lots of opportunities. People will use you for your knowledge and you will be paid for your contribution. You can use the money to enjoy all of your wants. You can even improve your looks by paying for plastic surgeries. You will be looked up as a useful and functioning member of the society. And even though you're old, as long as you're intelligent enough, you can still use it for something.

The only disadvantage I see on choosing intelligence over the looks, is you can't totally enjoy as early from now. It's like you're planting crops on a wide field and then waiting for it to sprout and then bear fruits before you enjoy it.

In the end I still choose intelligence.

There's a lot of dumb people at the present time, and I can't imagine being like them. This world needs more intelligent people that will suppress stupidity. Aside from that, being intelligent is sustainable. Well, at least in my perspective as a college student.

Sort:  

Ako, natuturn off talaga ako kapag makakita ako ng gwapo tapos pagnagsalita hindi pala katalinuhan. K bye. Char! 😅

Same. Sure nakaka attract talaga pag gwapo/maganda pero once you heard them talk about something taos di pala katalinuhan, ekis na agad hahaha

Brilliantly Said everything so well... I do agree with your perspective.. in a world full of hustles or problems we need intelligence more than Looks but when you have intelligence Good looks can be bought nowadays!

You mean like buy ass and breast for ladies ba 😆

Don't mind me, I perfectly understand you. Anyone can pay for surgery and have their looks re-made.

Ahahaha that's what I meant.... Welcome to 21st century 🤣 everything is possible here.

Looks, Intelligence > Elon musk working on putting chips in our brain !LOL

Hahaha.... That's my gender for you, we always feel insecure in our own skin... Lol.

Haha... Chips? Damn, most religious folks will start saying the Anti-Christ are here if that happens 😃

!LOL

Haha I have seen such people already 🤣😂

Hahaha... Oh, you're experiencing it already? That must be giving you goosebumps 🙃

Agree! Thanks to science, with money you can alter anything on your body that you feel insecure about.

Indeed.. gotta become rish bruh!!!

I do agree with you. Intelligence is still more important than physical beauty. In a professional field, beauty doesn't work much, they have to be fit for work and should be able to prove themselves, so beauty alone can't do anything in life.

Looks can be use on the professional field, especially if your boss is finding some entertaiment, lol. Just kidding!

Yep, I agree with what you said :))

substance over looks, hehe

I think the reason why it aeems as though the intelligent ones always seems to struggle in areas that the beautiful ones excel is because they are obsessed with their intelligence.

They are not flexible enough to be able to adapt to what the society really really admires.

They feel with their intelligence everyone should bow to them, listen to them, give them credit and stuffs like that.

But the beautiful ones knowing that they do not know so much learn about social intelligence and understand the psychology around human beings and then they use that to their advantage.

Exactly. You have great input :)). Intelligent individuals are too obsessed with knowledge because they are aware that this is more important than anything else.

!PIZZA

I am glad you agree

Mas maganda pa rin taalga kung intelligence rather than looks. Meron naman na ako non (kahit papano) kaya sana may looks rin ako haha joke. Wala kasi ako non haha, mukha akong basahan HAHHAHAHH

Gain knowledge para madami ding job opportunities in the future hahaha. Pag maraming pera, kahit ano pwede na ipabago haha. Balak ko magpa enhance ng ilong tas papabrace para pumantay panga ko 😂

Wait wait...why are y'all ripping my brains apart, especially you and @blachy? In his post, he pretty much convinced me that looks are much better. But now, with your perspective, that narrative has changed. I think I'd prefer something more long-term and valuable to many people.

I'll take this as a compliment 😂. Sorry for giving you a hard time with what to choose hahaha.

I always look at practicality and sustainability, so for me, intelligence is a win 💯.

For me in particular I would like to have both, however, I think it's a matter of choosing one. Maybe I would choose intelligence to see if I can find a way to have half and half hahaha.

Very good writing.

You're lucky if you have both. How I wish I didn't need to choose, lol.

Thank you for checking this out :))

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@cli4d(1/5) tipped @iskawrites (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Congratulations @cli4d! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 6000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 4
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Our Hive Power Delegations to the November PUM Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!