You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 33: Best or worst

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago (edited)

Really cool topic here this week man! That place looks incredible, the mountains and glacier are breathtaking! It makes the place a whole lot better when you can have someone like your wife by your side through it all.

I think one of my best days was a weekend where I realized and decided that my wife was the one for me. I was a typical bro before that and wouldn’t really commit, I treated her not like a man should treat a great woman but that changed. I was talking to a friend who had just told me that he had plans to propose to his girlfriend and I have him the typical guy shit of why are you doing that, that’s stupid. He’s in the military though and a higher rank friend of his had bestowed some fatherly knowledge on him. He said you can spend plenty of time chasing women around but you should take a look at what’s right in front of you, if they’ve been with you through that sketchy shit then you need to not throw away the best thing that will ever happen to you, you will never find it again. It was some heavy shit let me tell you! After that I immediately understood that those were the words that needed to be paid attention to. It was one hell of a whirlwind weekend and following week. She met that guy, who was one of my best friends and kind of still is, then my family after that. I wasn’t sure if she would toss me away for changing so quickly but thankfully she didn’t and it’s been nothing but up from there! There’s always challenges you face and hardships along the way but if you have someone powerful and your equal by your side, there’s nothing you can’t get through I think. I’m glad I didn’t fuck up the best thing that ever happened to me, after that weekend that changed my life.

Sort:  

What a cool one of your best days. Like you many of my own revolve around Faith, we've been together for 33 years years so it's probably not surprising.

So yes, that advice was sound and probably something I'd say now to a lad in the same situation. Chasing tail is one thing, but being alone, not having that other person to stand beside you? Hmm, a lonely old life I'd say. I love having a significant other and growing together, changing as people and a couple and becoming something new as we go. It's cool.

Sure, some single people say how great it is and some attached people probably hate it...I say fine. Accept it or change it based on one's personal needs and requirements...For me...Well, I've got 33 years of history to draw on to prove how amazing a partnership like mine can be.

So, great thing man, good work and kudos to Siena for keeping your stupid ass around prior to and during your transition. Lol.

Thanks for coming by, opening up with this personal stuff and for sharing with hive. Nice work fella.

!ENGAGE 25

Hahah yeah I'm really lucky she kept me around! I was one step away from the garbage can is what she told me a few years later. Cut that one close!

I would rather have a relationship like we do and have the moments instead of being one of those people who just goes onto the next fling their whole life and then wishing when they got older they settled down. There will always be an argument both ways but to me, the path I took is much more wholesome and suiting for me. I was no good at being the bro but I had to try it to realize I didn't like it.

Thanks for the prod of the memory banks. These are great ways to look back even when we are so busy in the moment. I think reflection is important to get a stabilizing sense.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Very cool.

One of my truest friends in this world, RIP Curtis, we rode bikes back in the day. We've both had our share of injuries but I've never had both hands busted at the same time—he did.

He said don't ever get married unless she'll wipe your ass for you if you have two broken hands.

Probably not appropriate right here but it came to my mind so now you gotta read it.

Hahaha to totally appropriate man! Those are the relationships that we need to cherish and is definitely some sound advice. Might be in a different way to say it however it's the same point. Don't get rid of the best one!

What a terrific story. Seriously.

I've done a little in my life. Smart and stupid. Once in a while I've gotten some shit right in spite of myself. I'm not saying that's the case for you and your wife, but it sorta sounds like it might be.

And then the rest of the story. It doesn't really matter when and how you got here it's how you are here. I can tell pretty plainly that you and Mrs. plxty have it going on pretty well.

Thanks for a big smile this morning!

Thanks Tom I appreciate it! There are days and times that things are challenging but that’s how life is. It’s the other end of the challenge that makes us stronger and better together. Thankfully we have been facing challenges longer than many have so we are aware of how it is and what we need to do to stay sane. I know I wouldn’t be who I am today, however good or bad that may be, without everything I’ve experienced with my partner.

We all need smiles my friend, I’m glad I was able to give you one and you gave me one realizing you connected with your blood relatives!

By the way I’m at the docks again today! Lots of fun stuff going on!

F9B9D84E6354482D9CB7C256C1B84E6C.jpeg