You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 33: Best or worst

Damn that's a nice story, Tom.

I have a blood brother I didn't meet until I was about 37, he's a junky, poor fucking guy, not sure the last time I talked to him.

He and I have the same dad, a puke I've never met. Very cool for you to get connected.

Sort:  

There is always that possibility, isn't there?

The really good news? I was the alcoholic/addict for my family and had been sober for almost 30 years when I found them.

My birth father was the superintendent of schools when I graduated High School. He was a senior in college when my mother became pregnant. ALL my new siblings agree that he never knew. He was in Korea (the war) when I was born...

So, I was really lucky. Really good family and structure on both sides...

Yeah I know lots of families like that unfortunately. It's a shame but things turn out different ways and people make choices. Got a relative that's all fucked up because they choose to constantly "oh woe is me" type stuff. Grow up, grow a pair and move on with life is what I'd love to say.

It seems you've turned out quite well despite the blood-relatives not being upstanding citizens so that's good.