Sort:  

2013 to be exact.

Had I known I was gonna get that story I woulda said something sooner. Only a cool dad would leave the chick out like "you're missing the picture!"

That commission he did, the bikini one, was pretty damned good. Alas, I never go to meet the lass.

Like the fish that got away story. They're always so much more exciting than the catch.

Wassup man? Your mates memorial came and went I imagine, how was that?

All good here mate, and yeah it did. I wasn't able to travel for the funeral but there was an online thing and that was nice, all things considered. I speak with his wife every day still and there's a few things going on to help from a financial perspective. She's working through it though, little by little.

Insert the sentence that makes everything better. Sorry you couldn't attend the service. Friends of ours in England lost the wife's mother and neither of them could attend. She had to view her own mothers memorial via zoom meeting.

It's a different kinda hurt when they were my age—dude who's been there with me forever vs dna. Both are their own unique miserable. I didn't know how long I was gonna wait to do this but I knew it was coming.

Stop me if I'm outta line.

That's the same dude you just met up with a month or so ago for coffee, right? Or was that a different mate with PTSD? The one I'm talking about was kinda having a tough time and you were trying to cheer him up. Same dude?

The one who took his life was a different mate. The one I met up with a few weeks ago is here in my State and the other was up in Queensland, thousands of kilometres away across closed borders. Just so you know, that one I met up with is doing well. He's a proud dud and at the time had a little financial hiccup and couldn't pay a medical bill. It sent him spiralling down.

We chatted, I paid the bill there and then and he has since paid me back. It's a funny thing really, the PTSD affects people differently. He could cope with most things but that one little thing just tipped him over the edge. Sad really.

The other chaps story is a lot different and I'm not inclined to say it here.