You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 34: Who has influenced you

Philip Dowse taught me how to go to work every day. I needed that. As a young apprentice I excelled and was appreciated as I perfected my craft. But it took me about three years to realize they needed me there every day, Philly taught me that.

Curtis Wilson, RIP. I built my first Harley with that man. I probably learned more in that garage during that six months than I have anywhere else. He taught me how to prioritize. What's real and what's not, what matter and what doesn't. I was able to tell him those things before he left. Fuck cancer!

My grandfather, the only man in my life. He was a bad mofo, too, without him I know I wouldn't be where I am. Probably still wouldn't even know how to shave.

Sort:  

Philip Dowse was the boss? It's cool that he took the time to educate you to the fact that showing up consistently has some distinct benefits. I know you don't need to work now but I guess that same ethos applies to other things. Showing up in a relationship is important...Same sort of principle.

Good on old Curtis Wilson (I don't know if he was old or not) for giving you some home truths, furnishing you with the ability to think a little deeper probably too. It's sad when we lose influential people like that ahead of time.

And of course, old granddad. I miss mine a lot and learned a great deal from him. I think if I was making a list he would be up towards the top, maybe at the very top.

Some good chaps right there dandays, and I appreciate your sharing them and the reasons they meant so much.

!ENGAGE 25

My pleasure. I appreciate your dedicated responses.

Philip Dowse was a boss of mine one time during my career but it wasn't for a few years after we met. There's a little more to this story actually, I'm glad you asked.

In our trade, we have journeyman and apprentices, right? A lot of us journeyman went on to be foreman, engineers, inspectors, etc. When I met Philly, he was my journeyman and I was his apprentice, I was his responsibility. Man he tuned me up nice. Very first time I met him went like this:

Our foreman introduced us and he said "this is Jim S's nephew, take care of him." Philly said "fuck Jim S. and anyone who knows him!" Man I was so intimidated like "wtf?!" Come to find out he and my uncle went through the Air Force together and the first time he met me was in my mothers arms in diapers about 20 years earlier—I didn't know that. Anywho.. he was just playing and just as excited to tune me up as I was to get tuned up.

Curtis, he went by CW. Dude was a giant. 6-6 about 250, President and Enforcer of his motorcycle club. You name it, pony tail down to his waste, "biker." One of the most instrumental pieces of my life. I haven't spoken to his family for about a month, thank you, I'm going to change that today. He was young bro, cancer for him at 55—gone!

And my grandfather, yes'ir. The reality is, I wouldn't have any of these stories if it wasn't for him. 👍🏿

Great man, thanks for filling in some blanks...I was going to say Phillying in some blanks as a Philly-reference but decided against it as it might be seen as a bad dad-style joke...So I didn't mention it. 😂

I had a mate whose dad was Sergeant at Arms for one of the most feared motorcycle groups here (we have a pretty bad organised crime situation with those people) and he was not one to trifle with. Also...You may not know this but back two years I served on a jury for a murder trial where one had bludgeoned another's head into pulp with a huge spanner for some reason or other. Wasn't pleasant but the right result occurred. I don't mix in those circles though, despite riding bikes.

Sergeant of Arms, I know those titles. I was never into'em either Galen. CW taught me how to build, was the President, I wasn't interested, I just rode with them and went home after. Both my uncles, I never told you this, they're both gone now but they were both Angels out of San Diego, Ca. Again, I'd just go to a party here and there, I never needed a patch to ride.

What's is a "spanner?"

Phillying.. you know I got so many nicknames for that man and I never put Philly and ing together. He just got another nickname. 👍🏿 I got a buncha ideas already.

 3 years ago (edited) 

Ring spanner. Wrench. The one used was about half as long as a baseball bat, and heavy. I hefted it in the jury room, the very one used. Bagged of course.

Spanner wrench, I'm with you now sir. Dang. I'm glad I never had to do anything like that—serve on a jury. Especially that kinda case

Does it mess with you? How long ago again? Sorry if you already told me.

It does a bit, it's all pretty graphic and all, quite draining emotionally also. They offer counseling after it's done but I was all good; I've seen enough in my life not to be affected.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Then it may seem though to keep up with the daily work, some days we get tired to get up and dress up for work but still we push ourselves and get it done. You did had some good influencers who contributed nicely to your life.

Good morning @jizzyjoe, I'm glad you think so man, thank you.

Good morning to you too and you are welcome. !wine

Good thing I tagged you, just realized I responded to myself. I do that regularly it seems. Its not as bad as upvoting myself and I'm ashamed to admit this but I've done that, too—TWICE!

Lol, its not as thing to be ashamed of. Most persons do regularly upvote their post, I have also done it but its rear

Oh, certainly. I'm not judgin, I just don't upvote my own content is all.

Well, except for those two

Lol, I didn't see it that you were judging. Its only a thing of choice, I have never read it to be wrong in upvoting your own post in hive. If you have, please do tell me

🤣

I will take the opportunity to mention a situation.... some two-three weeks ago, you replied to my comment, but I actually thought you replied to Galen... so I was not sure and didn't respond. 😢 Maybe you replied to mine, and I felt bad some time no responding, as I was not sure if it was for me or not 🤣
Sorry if I left you without a response 🙏

This is interesting. 🤔

Let's just pretend it was to Galen then that way neither you or I can hurt the one feeling we accidentally brought with us to the internet.

But do you remember of a "not responded comment" by me? If not, let's pretend it was to Galen :)

I can't remember what I had for breakfast.