Weekend Wandering: Riverbanks Carnival

I was busy these past few weeks that when my wife asked me if we could unwind to shake off boredom, I felt a bit guilty. Ever since we arrived home from our Dagupan trip for a convention, followed by a continuous outpour of rains due to Typhoon Paeng, we have been staying indoors. It's no wonder she got really bored watching series, reading books, and browsing the internet. And since it's weekend, I know in my mind where to bring her.

After I finished my errands, we immediately headed to Riverbanks. It's just a jeepney ride away from where we live, and it is better visited at night time because their annual Christmas amusement is now in place.

As soon as we arrive at the Riverbanks, we entered alleys of shoes, shirts, toys, and novelty items. The place is teeming with gift items! The place is totally different from the past two years. It is very noticeable that we people are looking forward to a renewed Christmas spirit this year!

Shoes.jpg

Carnival Entrance.jpg

The rides are full of patrons - not just kids, but also couples and adults! There was a Funslide (a giant slide full of balls), a "Superbee" (a Jollibee-inspired ride), a Ferris Wheel, a "Frisbee" (a ride I wouldn't dare try!), "Caterpillar", "Octopus", a galleon-type ride (like Enchanted Kingdom's Anchor's Away), and "Mixed Up" (just like Enchanted Kingdom's Flying Fiesta). There are also horror-themed amenities - Horror Train and "Musuleo."

Ferris Wheel.jpg

Frisbee.jpg

Mixed Up.jpg

Octopus.jpg

Superbee.jpg

Slide.jpg

Musoleo.jpg

I am not a fan of these rides. Personally, I'd rather watch people riding these machines rather than get dizzy and fill myself with fear and anxiety because I might fall or the machine might malfunction. To each his own, as they say. Good thing, my wife is not a fan of such machines as well.

Basketball.jpg

Pachinko.jpg

Strike Zon.jpg

What we tried are the classic games. The one game where you need to throw coins and have them fit into drawn boxes with corresponding prizes. There are also games such as gun shooting, basketball, the BINGO, and many more! These games offer prizes from cash to plates, chips, and teddy bears. Ohhh, classic Filipino Perya!

After hours of roaming around the Carnival, we went straight to the food section. We bought chicharon bulaklak and paired it with melon juice. We also bought stir-fried noodles. There are lots of foods to choose from - pork sisig, barbeque, crablets, hotdogs, fries, shawarma, and tons of street foods. They also have a live band to entertain you while you eat!

Food Court.jpg

Food.jpg

It was almost midnight when we decided to go home. This weekend, I have accomplished two things: eased out my wife's boredom, and filled my cravings with some legit street food.

Design.jpg

Peace Love.jpg

Riverbanks at Night.jpg

Until next weekend!

Sort:  

That's a very dangerous place for the wallet and for one's diet as well, but once in a wile it is not only affordable, but recommended as well.

This weekend, I have accomplished two things: eased out my wife's boredom, and filled my cravings with some legit street food.

Looks like it wasn't in vain 😀

For diet - a resounding yes! But it's all worth it :)

What a beautiful place of entertainment, by the way I saw there was plenty of food

Yes, lots of food to choose from!

Oh, I forgot, I hope to see you more on Hive after your busy period :)

I would love to! I haven't been updating my hive account lately. Thank you erikah!

Congratulations @devowriter! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 20 posts.
Your next target is to reach 30 posts.
You received more than 1750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

CBRS Hive Infographic Contest - Get your badge and win 1000 HIVE
Our Hive Power Delegations to the October PUM Winners
Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day - New Turnout Record
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!