Weigh, heigh, up she rises.

IMG20221104134116.jpg

I’m not gonna lie, the choices for what to do this weekend are kinda tough for a homebody like me. But if I do have to choose, I think I’d go with sailing a small sailboat for the weekend, you know, to experience the whole pirate thing, even though I’ll not be doing any pirate-related stuff. Besides drinking, of course. Because, O, whiskey is the life of man, whiskey for my Johnny O! ( I hope at least some of you got the song reference right there.)

My fascination with this sailing and boats is not anything new, with my childhood spent reading adventure novels. But because of the fear I have of the sea itself, I try my best to steer clear of watery surfaces. Still, taking to mind that I don’t fear the endless sabbath of liquid death, sailing seems like a nice thing to do. I do like staring at the vast blue for hours end, and my last trip to the beach had been one of the most peaceful trips of my life, so yeah, why not give the old blue lady a chance? We might even get along well if things go smoothly.

I’ll rent out a small boat, call up some of my friends, buy some booze to keep things buzzing and head out without a care. I’ll wear a fishermen’s cap and jacket, some kickass shades and a lot of sunscreens. With fishing rods in one hand and beer in another, the lads and I can pass our time singing weird shanties as we try our luck at catching fish. Just a chill afternoon, you know. In the evening the trip will turn into a quiet endeavour, with everyone nodding off or gazing at the purple sky as the sun sets on the horizon. Maybe one of my friends will bring a guitar, and we will have some quiet music sessions. As I know close to nothing about boats, I’ll try my hand at learning from the captain and see if I’m any good at it. And, as I’m a total romantic and idiot at heart, I might even try to find the north star Polaris, and then proceed to think I’m back in the time when compasses didn’t exist, smiling like a loon as I daydream.

Honestly, I will be a pretty useless crewmember and a student. By the time the trip is over, the captain might be downright annoyed at me for my continuous questions and lack of skills. But who cares really. I will have the time of my life in that boat singing What shall we do with a drunken sailor, while being drunk out of my mind myself.

And a weigh, heigh, up she rises,
Weigh, heigh, up she rises,
Weigh, heigh, up she rises,
Early in the morning….

Sort:  

Oh I so enjoyed reading this adventure that you would plan out. It sounds like a good one. Yes, take a lot of sunscreen and don't forget good food, especially if you aren't particularly adept at catching fish...it might be slim pickings on that front. I wouldn't mind being a midship buddy of yours for this meander, could be fun. Ye ho to the horizon and over the curvature of the earth shall we go!

Ohh yes! Yes. Food!! Almost forgot about it!
This is why you’d make a great midship buddy. Someone who will remember the small(on in this case rather big cause a whole day without food isn’t a smart thing) details. Hop on board and lets set sail on a greate voyage!

I'd be happy to supply snacks. It sounds like a great way to spend a day!

That seems to be a great sailboat ride, enjoying a liquor that keeps us in heaven and singing with friends to the sound of a guitar, there would not be much desire to return to land.

Yeapp. We are sure to feel down when it was time to come back. The sea has a thing that makes everyone want to stay. That's why sailors could never settle on land for a long period of time. The ocean calls them.

Hope you are having a great day!

Honestly, I will be a pretty useless crewmember and a student. By the time the trip is over, the captain might...

throw you over the side. Lol.

Thanks for taking the time to join in this week.

He might. He just might make me walk the plank 😂

Life has been busy recently, but if I find the prompts interesting, I'll always make time for the weekend!
Hope you are doing well mate.

Haha, I was going to say that but wasn't sure if the reference would translate.

I'm well, couldn't be better if I tried. Thanks for asking.

Drunken sailor song made me laugh, how those words resound in memories of having fun when young. Now life of the sailor would require calm seas or the song of joy would not be sung in the morning.

!BEER