La "Mama negra" : An Ecuadorian party on the weekend  

in Weekend Experienceslast year (edited)

Greetings to all who are part of this wonderful community, today I come to tell you about what was experienced in the festivities in the city of Latacunga, Ecuador. An event that was held yesterday (November 5) which has been full of colors, fun and popular traditions.

Copia de Copia de La magia Existe p (66).png

I am excited to tell you about one of the most anticipated festivities of the year in the region where I live, it is the parade of the "Mama negra". For this reason I wanted to document some moments that have been special for me and the Ecuadorian culture. In addition, I enjoy being part of parties that have been organized by the towns where there is food, orchestra and dances. I am not a party person, but I admire the work of the people who take months of time to put on these types of presentations.

Días sabroso (4).png

It was the first time I attended this parade, I had many expectations of what it would be like, some negative and some positive, so the first thing I did was to get ready in the morning to find a good place where I could take pictures. Once I left home I noticed that the whole city was paralyzed, streets were closed, public transportation was suspended, and people were walking like ants everywhere (I am not exaggerating about ants). I had in mind that this party has many fans, but I did not imagine that people would remain throughout the event with a weather that was very varied (sun and rain).


20221106_225958.GIF

20221106_231453.GIF

Nothing could stop the parade, the people here celebrate it every year with love and devotion, especially because for some this festival has a great significance in the religious theme, it is said that the event is in honor of the Virgin of La Merced, who intercedes with the creator so that the volcano that is near the city, does not erupt. Others say that the feast of the black mother is done as a way of thanking the black-skinned woman who once fed many poor people centuries ago. The thing is that several of the leaders give their best in this parade, each group (workers, companies and social sectors) prepare a dance, carry liquor in small bottles to throw to the public, so they are encouraged to dance with the town bands (orchestras) that parade in the same way. There is not only free drink for the spectators, as some participants also bring food, candies and small souvenirs in little wooden boxes for the public.

20221106_232314.GIF

IMG_20221106_233052.jpg

The most recognized characters in the parade are the following:

IMG_20221106_212413.jpg
The black mama


The black mama, the star angel, the Moorish king, the standard bearer, the captain, the guarichas, the loeros, the ashangeros and the Champuseros. These are some of the ones that I have been able to identify because each one plays an important role in the parade, for example, it was surprising to see the level of physical effort that the ashangeros made when carrying on their backs a huge pig, chickens, guinea pigs, rabbits, a variety of fruits and liquors. A weight that is equivalent to two quítales, for a 4.2 kilometer stretch. Nothing easy, the tiredness of the people was evident, and the reason why they do it leaves me thinking, since it is a form of penance.


The Moorish kingThe standard bearerThe star angel
IMG_20221106_204715.jpgIMG_20221106_205846.jpgIMG_20221106_203946.jpg

Días sabroso (5).png

The ashangeros

One of the most amusing aspects, from my point of view, were the "loas" which are statements with mischief dedicated to each spectator that is chosen, and after saying a "loa" to you, then they serve you to drink aguardiente, something really unique. If I had to say one negative aspect it would be the excessive alcohol, I couldn't afford to stay until the end due to safety concerns, but if you are the type that enjoys dancing and maybe trying a few drinks without spending, well that would be great for you. For the most part I had fun, sang along, got a few "loas", if I had another chance to go I would gladly do so, as I like village festivals. If you made it this far I want to thank you for wanting to get to know with me adventures that make me happy.

Días sabroso (6).png

IMG_20221106_205516.jpg

IMG_20221106_210656.jpg


The cover photo and the banner are my property edited at Canva
All images in this publication are my own photographs taken with a Xiaomi Redmi note 9 pro.


¡THANKS FOR VISITING MY BLOG!

Gracias (1).png

Sort:  

Están muy bonitas las fotos, el clima se presta para usar esa ropa típica. Gracias por mostrarla 😉🤗👍.

Claro que sí, muy pocas personas continúan usando atuendos típicos del pueblo, se puede apreciarlos únicamente en eventos como este tipo jejej 😍. Gracias, amiga bella por tus palabras. Una abrazo para ti 💞💜😘.

I've never heard about this festival, but it looks really colorful and fun as well. This is why I love Hive, you can learn a lot from those who are experiencing things first hand. So thank you for this!

Aww thanks, for stopping by, "la mama negra" is one of the most awaited festivals of the year in Ecuador, I enjoyed it 🤍⭐️🎆. Hive is the best of the best, it always makes us feel close even if we are far away, I love it too. A hug and greetings 🤗😊.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @enclassecu ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @enclassecu! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 1000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 1500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

CBRS Hive Infographic Contest - Get your badge and win 1000 HIVE
Our Hive Power Delegations to the October PUM Winners
Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day - New Turnout Record