Coffee shop, cakes and boobs

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago

20220630_125129.jpg

Make the best use of what is in your power, and take the rest as it happens.

- Epictetus -



It's been one of those weeks, you know the kind; super-productive but somewhat hectic. Besides the job workload I've been managing a building project at home and juggled between the two leaving me somewhat drained, but satisfied.

At work, I'm stacking up opportunities and whilst I would have preferred to have reached my annual budget in my first month that's not a reality. I'm quietly confident I'll smash it when some of the current opportunities reach the tipping point and drop though. It's exciting; not just for the commissions I'll pull in, but the satisfaction of the win I feel when my hard work, skill and effort comes together to create a successful account. This week I've taken no prisoners, figuratively speaking, and have pushed very hard.

The home project is a large pergola or about 100sqm along the side entertainment area off my house. I ordered it back in November 2021 and it's finally being built.

The existing structure needed demolishing and removal and with the new product delivered on day one my front yard has resembled a construction site for a week and I've not been able to get my vehicles into the garages. Typically there's been supply issues with various components not arriving, a delay or two and some rain as well, but the crew is reasonable, a few Australian chaps I get along with well, and they've been plugging away at it all week.

There's been a few discussions with the architect and home improvement company I went through for the design and product, I've issued a few attitude adjustments as has the construction crew chief, but generally it's been ok-ish.

It was all completed last night and looks great, certainly better than the previous one.

I have added more height, more honey-combe opaque panels for light and the structure itself is more able to deal with rainfall due to my explicit instructions on guttering and roof fall. I asked for 4° of fall away from the house, rather than the 3° they suggested, to ensure the water sheets away well. There's some additional bits and pieces I have to do like some repair work to facias left damaged by the old structure, electrical for lights and fans and a little patching up of pavers where the old poles were cut out but G-dog has skills, and that'll all get taken care of in due course.

So here I find myself, this Saturday afternoon, at a local coffee shop unwinding from the weeks' activities with a little cake and some books.

I had to bring two as I'm almost finished the first of a series and didn't want to be left short whilst relaxing here for the afternoon. I've taken a pause to tap out this quick little post but have basically been sipping coffee and eating that legit looking cream-filled lamington cake you see pictured for the last couple hours.

I find relaxation in so many different ways, one of which is sitting in a café people-watching, reading or working on my computer. I know people often say they can't concentrate in coffee shops but for me that's not an issue. It also provides the ability to feel a little closer to society but maintain distance which works well for me; people irk me most of the time. (Here I wanted to say, people vex me, but I chose to go with irk as I've not used irk in a sentence for some time...which irk's me.)

It's been a nice Saturday, relaxing and tasty; I don't just mean the cake though, I had a pretty legit egg and bacon toasted sandwich earlier as well. I've finished the first book and will start on the second when I finish this post. Sunday I'm looking into that electrical situation for the pergola, a couple ceiling fans and the wiring to do the job. I'm also considering doing an outdoor kitchen so will do recon what's up and available out there to see if there's something I might like.

I hope y'all have a great weekend. Feel free to drop me a comment below and tell me about it, what you have planned and, don't forget, if you are looking for something to write about on Hive you can follow this link to this week's #weekend-engagement writing options post or just head over to the WEEKEND EXPERIENCES community as the post is pinned to the top of the community feed.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Any images in this post are my own

Sort:  

So here I find myself, this Saturday afternoon, at a local coffee shop unwinding from the weeks' activities with a little cake and some books.

Did I just see boobs as part of the title? 😆😆 That made me wanna keep reading until I saw the statement. It's actually a mistake right? Lol

I can see you are having fun with your coffee, cake and writing books. Fun weekend is it.....

Enjoy your Saturday, G-dog 😊

Lol...The boobs thing must have been a little typo...or not. (It's called clickbait.)

Hehehe! You caught me then 😆

Indeed.

Yea - apart from the title I only see boobs in the comments.
Find in page —> boobs

You had my upvote at 'Egg and Bacon' - but, more significantly, it takes a brave man to undertake building work with all the supply shortages. Glad to hear the project is being pulled together.

It was a bit of a trial to be honest, the company were...close to meeting one of my other personalities. I refrained though, kept it professional. It's all done and will be awesome...Now just the electrical, lights, fans and all...Then BBQ's and good times!

Hey, the first look at the thumbnail made me think you somewhere got a Krapfen! But the second look I saw its none, although it looks real yummi too.
Happy you had relaxing time in the coffee Shop to get new energy for all your house and work protects.
Have a nice weekend! Me now watching out for WE, if the subject will catch me :-)

And here you go again...teasing me with krapfens! Lol.

This is a lamington cake, cream filled. (real cream). They come in non-cream filled versions also. So good. I like the pink ones that are dipped in pink jelly on all sides so they have a nice moistness to them. https://myfoodbook.com.au/recipes/show/pink-jelly-cakes

Have a great weekend Beebs. 😀

Na! Who is teasing whom now? And where could I find a pink lamington cake NOW? Hmmm.
!LUV

Lol, I know...I had to throw that link in there to even the score.

!LOL let the games begin

Don't forget to watch out for our newest tag ;-) !LOL

Epictetus and his view of life was a refuge for me in a difficult period of my life! He was truly a driver. A breath of relief. Exactly the opposite of the photo of your dessert! Haha, I just got back from morning training and I feel like getting on the screen!

Ps: Waiting photos from your new pergola

Epictetus had some interesting views and his words have also had a strong impact on me. I read a lot, much of which is history and people such as this fellow - I find great value there...Just as I found great value in that cake. (Sorry, not sorry.)

Ps: Waiting photos from your new pergola

I was waiting for someone to say this. When it's all done I might do so, but it's at my house and I like to maintain some privacy. We'll see, maybe in the next few weeks.

Came for the boobs, kept reading because of getting hooked by the mention of renovation (I blame Youtube for my sudden liking towards this demolish and building up thing...)
Would love to see the pictures of this pergola you’ve mentioned!

Have a nice day 😊

Lol, yeah I don't know what happened in the title...I meant to write books but was thinking about boobs so..yeah, I decided to leave it. 😉 (I'm not above a clickbait title now and then).

I may do some pictures of the pergola later. It's at my home though and I prefer to maintain some degree of privacy. I'll see what happens down the track. I'll probably do a post I guess.

Boobs books both things are addictive in their own way I guess! I see no difference! 😂

And would love to read about the pergola. Hope you do get around posting about it. (while keeping the privacy intact of course.)

I'll put a post together. 😉

Then I will keep my eyes out for it 👀👀

I feel like the only time I get to scroll through my feed lately is as I'm going to bed and you always seem to tease me with a photo of a mouth watering cake. No wonder I drool on my pillow at night... 🤤

Lol, well I don't do it on purpose...or do I?

I don’t know if I’m vexed or irked that you drew me in with boobs in the title but didn’t extrapolate the cause of the mammaries in the title. Flustered! Lol

That’s good man, it’s nice to get things finished like that and to upgrade the specs a little bit for that added drainage is good. Don’t want water hanging out too long on the top of it, fly right off!

I thought about adding a picture of my boobs just for continuity but figured I'd keep them hidden (except for on my Only Fans). Lol.

We've been having more solid rainfall latelt, like very heavy downpors rather than steady rain. It cases water issues for gutters and downpipes. I think this new pergola will handle the water a lot better. That's the hope anyway.

Ah so you are also getting an onlyfans side hustle as well? Well gotta show off them knockers somewhere! Lol

Interesting with the rain. I could certainly see where that’s problematic! Don’t want that rain to linger, the plants need it more than the roof!

Ah so you are also getting an onlyfans side hustle as well? Well gotta show off them knockers somewhere!

I'll make bazillions!

Glad you able to have relaxation during this weekend after a productive weekdays ☺️I am one of those people who can't concentrate with work doing outside just like in a coffee shop. Hihi I easily get distracted that's why.

You and many others I think. I've learned the knack of single focus though I guess, so I'm able to block things out and get down to work.

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 65500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 66000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The 7th edition of the Hive Power Up Month starts today!
Hive Power Up Day - July 1st 2022
NFT for peace - Thank you for your continuous support
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Awesome cake but what is the series of the books?

Glad your pergola is done. Its good when you can input into the building and tell em exactly how you wa t it and not just take how they think you want it

And boobs :OD

Lol...Boobs? Dang it, must have been a typo. 😉

Awesome cake but what is the series of the books?

King of Ashes: Book One of The Firemane Saga and Queen of Storms (book two.)

I had some trouble with the pergola man; the sort of trouble that makes we want to crack some mother fucker in half, but sense won out and I did not. It's done and will be awesome, but yep, building in this environment is a fucken nightmare. It's all done though, and no people were harmed in the making of this pergola.

Sometimes a building work needs someone to be harmed to appease the gods!!

Sounds good, I will check it out. If it's good enough to move onto number two them it can't be bad!

More than one almost got sacrificed to the gods of build.

They are hungry and demanding those gods!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Haha😂😂😂 you finally got to use the irk word again, how lovely!. It is good for the project is moving on despite the delays. Sipping a coffee and reading is great, surely it is a Shakespeare novel of some sort if I am ever right with the man😆😆😆

I had a nice afternoon indeed. The book wasn't Shakespeare though, it was a Raymond E Feist book.

Pheew!!!😂😂😂 knew had fuck it up there.

Sounds like a pretty full week you've had. My weekend has so far been spent taking the kids to the pool today and possibly tomorrow there could be a bbq and repeat performance! Have a good one!

BBQ on a Sunday is always a nice idea. 😊

It's a great thing to do on a weekend. Thanks for some great prompts this week 🙂

😀

... but... but.... but... where are the boobs? Man, we I need want the promised boobs!

Haha, me too, always. On this occasion though, just clickbait.

You always sound as busy as a one legged man in an Ass Kicking Contest.

JMO.

untitled.gif

Yeah, I can be mate, and it's not always good, or bad for that matter. I have my downtime as well though, and know how to take the best advantage from it.

 2 years ago (edited) Reveal Comment

I thought about actually adding some boobs into the post, but didn't think anyone would be interested in seeing mine.