It's a [gift] wrap

in Weekend Experienceslast year


20221120_120020.jpg

Each day provides its own gifts.

- Marcus Aurelius -



In under six weeks my nephew will be here for a few weeks and I'm busy getting prepared. He and his mum and dad, [my brother and sister in-law], will be arriving prior to Christmas Day so will be spending Christmas with me which will make a usually bland and uninteresting day a lot more interesting and fun. We're not a religious family so the concept of Christmas doesn't mean anything, however because my nephew is only four we'll be making a big deal out of it and, of course, will have a pretty decent day of gifts, eating, relaxing and more eating, all together. I always make my world famous best-ever potato salad for Christmas day, so that'll be something else to celebrate!

I rarely get to see my family as the five of us, [my brothers, sister and me], are spread far and wide, so having this time will be really great and I'm looking forward to it.

I've been buying stuff for him over the last couple months and have really enjoyed it. I think his mum and dad better arrive with an extra [empty] suitcase to get it all home on the plane, or we'll just put it in a box and mail it I guess. I haven't gone too bonkers with it but yeah, there's some stuff for sure.

On the weekend I took time to get some of it wrapped up and, try as I might, I'm really bad at gift wrapping; I got it done though, and it looks [sort of] ok.

My nephew is one of those kids who doesn't go crazy and rip the paper right off gifts, he's careful. It's quite funny to watch really.

He doesn't like tearing the paper and if he does, he looks up at his mum and dad with an apologetic face as if to say, I tried so hard not to rip it, I'm sorry. He's such a nice little chap, bonkers as fuck just like me, but super-nice. I watched him unwrap his birthday present from me few months ago on a video chat and he did the same thing, take his time and be careful, when all I wanted to see him do was tear into it and get to my gift...A Nerf gun.

It might sound a little strange, but I had a good time wrapping up his things, a precursor to the good time I'm going to have with him here I think. I am really looking forward to them all arriving.


What's happening in your world in six weeks around Christmas time?

Have you got your shopping sorted out...do you even bother Christmas shopping? It's not something I usually do to be honest. What about your Christmas day food? Is it all sorted or are you still in the planning phase? I've seen a few Hive users making nifty home-made decorations which I think is so cool; what about you? Do you decorate the house for the festive season? Feel free to comment below and tell me what's up around Christmas time for you, what you've planned or how it rolls out for you and your family.

Oh, also remember what Marcus Aurelius says in his quote above too...Seek out those daily gifts, they're all around us, for those that are open to them.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Any images in this post are my own

Sort:  

When I first saw the picture above I thought, hey, I got the little guy that Ice Cream truck and then I thought, hang on. Ice Cream Launcher - no I didn't! It appears to be a crime fighting variant of the one we got! Looks cool as.

It is roundabout this time of year I get quite excited for it all. Buying them, wrapping them. Although the wrapping is funny as you say because they just savage the wrapping so it almost hardly matters that it is done well

I got him the snow mobile earlier in the year when I flew up to Cairns to see him. He called it a snow nobile which I thought was cute. My brother made me disable the launcher on that set and will probably make me do the same with this one because stepping on Lego with bare feet is the worst pain imaginable. But, I'm the uncle, I'm supposed to buy inappropriate gits! Lol.

I'll probably not disable the launcher though, he'll love it!

Having no kids no my own means that Christmas is a bit of a non-event other than loads of food and relaxation.

You know, I was told recently that it was fortunate I had no kids as I would make a terrible father. A comment designed to hurt me. But here's the thing, I don't think I'd have been terrible at it at all - Much the opposite actually.

So, yeah, I sort of lament the fact I don't have that kids-on-christmas-vibe to look forward too. This year with my nephew around it'll be super-awesome though.

He will love the launcher! Mine love anything that fires. I always have to be pulled over to Come see this!! for every time something gets pinged out of something.

I think you would have rocked the fathering. Whoever said that was obviously a fucking prize buffoon. The kind of person who said it in fact wouldn't be a good one. You prize fucking kindness and respect. I mean FFS. That what its all about. Goddamn, I hate wankers.

I bet he and you have a great bloody time. I love it when they mispronounce things slightly. The Little Boom still says "w" instead of "r" for a lot of things and I still get a kick out him saying his womb is too cold or too hot or something :OD

Yeah, they love the stuff that shoots huh? It's really cool that they have such imaginations and can make fun out of all sorts of things, no matter how simple. My nephew and me were making Lego men vomit and he loved it. I mean, seriously. Small things. I was laughing because he was laughing.

I call him Mr. Bonkers and he looks at me, gives me a grin, and says, you're bonkers! He's right too! 😂 It's funny as they grow into their personalities and how it changes so quickly. Mispronounced words make for a good laugh too! Cold womb! 🤣

On the other...see WhatsApp.

Mr Bonkers is a great nickname! Lego men vomit. Yup, that's exactly the kind of thing they love. Vomit,shooting things and talk of poos. Lol!!

Lol...It's hard to imagine that we were once like that...and probably still are. 😂

Defintootly still are!! When they start that kind of caper I am like woohoo, time to act my true agree 6!! 🤣🤣

Just like you, we are 7 brothers and sisters, and they are all scattered around the world. I put my gifts under the tree and then for dinner the video chat is activated to embrace and give us the gift of everyday unconditional love .... all the moments are perfect to receive gifts ...cheers for life 🌲⭐🍫

 last year (edited) 

It's good that video chats can happen as it makes the distance seem negligible. We will video chat with my brother @tarazkp and his daughter @smallsteps on Christmas day (they are in Finland) and it'll be cool because I'll have my other brother here and my nephew which is rare due to the fact they live so far. It'll be fun.

Tis the season...

My @pooky-jax is a "mailer daemon" no, Not the failed e-mail kind.

She has 2 nephews and a 10 year old neice that she loves dearly. We have none. So we spoil these kids year round on birthdays and such.

It is fun. And all about the children. ❤️💯❤️

I know you've got none, so it's a good option to spoil someone else's. Adopt me mate, you can then buy me stuff all the time!

Wow the gift is ready. This time I haven't planned for a gift giving because I don't have a budget for it unlike last year that I was able to give some simple gift especially to kids.

I'll just see if some blessings will come that I have something to share to others.

Simple gifts are often the best ones as they come from the heart.

You're right. Hopefully I can give some before the year ends or even during New year.

I hope so too. A genuine compliment, a kind word or gesture or genuine praise is a gift...and they're all free to give.

Getting into the Christmas spirit! Your excitement really shines through. Now I'm looking forward to the day myself... though there's some conflict personally. Haven't decided where I'm going to be yet. At the in-laws with my wife or over the other side of the state at my sister's? Though the latter hasn't been treating me very well lately so I'm not particularly keen. I can't abide bullshit drama, especially from family. I'd much prefer being at my place and hosting friends and family there, but the house is not really ready for that. Long story... maybe next year!
Well anyway. How good is Lego! Your nephew's surely gonna love the gifts.
And the gift wrapping lol, can relate.
Sometimes it goes well, other times it ends up a weird lump of paper and tape...

You have choices? For me my choice is stay home, or stay home which isn't really a choice I guess.

I'm looking forward to thins year as my nephew will be here, but it's more about their whole visit than just Christmas day I guess; I don't really get into it that much I guess.

I'd say you best go where your wife goes or that may not go so well for you down the track. Happy wife, happy life, or so I'm told.

:D haha yes I am quite lucky, but it's also a slight curse. I often wish everyone I cared about was geographically close by. Walking distance would be ideal. But we're all spread about quite far and wide. Much like your family as you say. But then, it all comes back to overemphasizing the importance of this "Christmas" thing. It's just another day, and we have the rest of the year to spend time with each other... we just have to make the effort.

The wife, my darling. She understands, even if I were to choose to be elsewhere on "the big day"

Very fortunate in that respect, I am...

I agree, and don't feel that these days people suggest we need to celebrate are any different to any other day.

Valentine's Day is every day in my relationship, meaning we treat each other the right way everyday. I've been told it's mean of me not to celebrate that day...I respond with, it's mean of you not to celebrate that day every day, if I can be bothered responding at all.

It's mean of you not to celebrate that day every day

This. Each day is a gift. So many take it for granted. Put things off. Of course, life isn't always simple, but it's a simple choice to live intentionally. What's the point of deferring the experience of life in the present? I don't get it.

My wife and I don't do Valentine's Day either for that very reason. Every day is Valetine's Day! That criticism you mention just seems like an unthinking, conditioned response. Herd-like behaviour. Where's the individual there? Buried under reactionary platitudes...

It's a bit like people who freak out when the conversation centres around death. Grief and respect for a specific person who has passed is different. But when talked about abstractly, for some people it's a visceral response: "Ugh! I don't like to think about that..." It's coming for you anyway, and talking about it freely can make you appreciate the precious short time we have living!

What's that old quote? "I don't despair for those who have died, but for those who never really lived." Something like that...

Yep, on everything in your comment.

People are...well, I guess just people. Weirdos mostly, me included. Lol.

Mann, the way you write about your nephew, it just shows how much you love that kid, and I'm sure he loves his ole unc G-Dog as well.

He's one lucky little fella, that I can tell. My uncles were quite the same with me when I was younger; they would always bring gifts when they were around, maybe a little treat. They spoiled me in so many ways, but also guided me well too. They were a big influence in trying to get me into fitness. Even the classic style of clothing that I love so much, back from the 70s and 80s. One of my uncle's used to dress up just like Sly Stallone from the first Rocky movie, I guess that's where he found his love for fitness and bodybuilding.

It's a different scenario now though, I am older now, and so are they. They're busy with their lives and barely have the time to visit. Yet, we still do have our yearly family meetups, during Eid mostly. Alas, not everyone is present at these meetups, not like before, but I do know that they are living healthy and doing well, and that's all that matters to me.

It's true, I love that kid a lot and would do a great deal for him, whatever is required.

It's good you had a relationship with your uncle's but a bit sad they have drifted away. It happens though. Time changes many things.

They got busy with life, family, work and all. Fortunately, we still share that same bond, so whenever we get to meet, that same energy and love is always there.

It's good that the energy is the same.

That's early for Christmas shopping! Haha. I am not so much a Christmas fan/presents, but I think there's always the feel-good factor because it's the end of the year, work usually winds down a little and there are more gatherings and catchups among friends and families.

I hate shopping so go early so I don't have to bump into those fuckers who leave it until later to do their shopping.

Gatherings and catch-ups are good. I've got a few weeks off over the Christmas/New year period so am looking forward to relaxing and catching up with a few people for BBQ's and things. Should be good.

What a lovely nephew, I have a baby who behaves in same way in my school if he mistakenly tore any paper he will just say please am sorry he's just two but he's so cute.
This is season of gift everywhere because it the end of the year and a festive season of as well.
Please when are you buying my own gift lol 😆?

He's a good lad being raised with manners and respect.

Exactly, when a child is good raised you will see it by his or her conduct

You’re as bad as my parents seriously 🤣

Though they more just go nuts with cash now instead of on gifts seeing as I have one bordering on adulthood and one not that far off in the grand scheme 😱

I have unexpectedly less Christmas shopping to do now as my sister in law asked if it was okay if we didn’t do Christmas presents for the kids this year as she’ll be with the other half of the family anyway. Not complaining in the slightest 😆

Oh yeah, that's a win, the not do Christmas presents thing. Good work!