You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 34: Who has influenced you

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago

Great man, thanks for filling in some blanks...I was going to say Phillying in some blanks as a Philly-reference but decided against it as it might be seen as a bad dad-style joke...So I didn't mention it. 😂

I had a mate whose dad was Sergeant at Arms for one of the most feared motorcycle groups here (we have a pretty bad organised crime situation with those people) and he was not one to trifle with. Also...You may not know this but back two years I served on a jury for a murder trial where one had bludgeoned another's head into pulp with a huge spanner for some reason or other. Wasn't pleasant but the right result occurred. I don't mix in those circles though, despite riding bikes.

Sort:  

Sergeant of Arms, I know those titles. I was never into'em either Galen. CW taught me how to build, was the President, I wasn't interested, I just rode with them and went home after. Both my uncles, I never told you this, they're both gone now but they were both Angels out of San Diego, Ca. Again, I'd just go to a party here and there, I never needed a patch to ride.

What's is a "spanner?"

Phillying.. you know I got so many nicknames for that man and I never put Philly and ing together. He just got another nickname. 👍🏿 I got a buncha ideas already.

 3 years ago (edited) 

Ring spanner. Wrench. The one used was about half as long as a baseball bat, and heavy. I hefted it in the jury room, the very one used. Bagged of course.

Spanner wrench, I'm with you now sir. Dang. I'm glad I never had to do anything like that—serve on a jury. Especially that kinda case

Does it mess with you? How long ago again? Sorry if you already told me.

It does a bit, it's all pretty graphic and all, quite draining emotionally also. They offer counseling after it's done but I was all good; I've seen enough in my life not to be affected.