You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 33: Best or worst

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago

Hi @jennynas, thanks for coming by the #weekend_engagement post and for joining in. Google translate doesn't do a good job of translating Spanish to English but I think I got the concept or essence of your comment.

Every day we wake up should be deemed a good one, although literally no one will get through life without bad days. Sure, it's all a matter of perspective of course, but bad days happen, bad things happen, it's unavoidable. I'm not one to seek out bad things or to dwell overly long on the bad things in life but I'm certainly not the type to see everything as good. Every day is not good, a simple fact.

Last year my dad died. Three days earlier my cat of 22 years died and I was heart broken. Three months later my mother in law was diagnosed with her second cancer which will end her life...There's been plenty of bad days in my life, these are just a few. Sure, I'm not dead, my wife isn't either...But bad days happen nonetheless, and there's little point in hiding from them in my opinion. We just need to work through them, the bad days and events, and see them for what they are. It helps us appreciate the good days I think.

You know, last week I found out one of my good friends has pancreatic cancer...He is going to die within a few weeks or so...His perspective on it is a little different than some may have considering his background but he's not filling his last weeks with bad days or bad thoughts despite the situation being bad. Of course he's struggling and refuses to see anyone other than now. I guess I don't blame him. So, There's more bad days to come.

Anyway, enough on that huh? Let's just say that bad happens and so does good and there's no point ignoring either.

Thank you for sharing your image-collage showing your birthday and a little about your life. It's been a funny year in that we were mostly isolated. I turned 50 years old in March and was supposed to fly to Tasmania for a holiday with my wife...Didn't happen obviously. We were also supposed to fly to Scandinavia in July which also didn't happen...So, small celebrations is all we were able to have and I guess we needed to make the best out of a bad situation right? It looks like that's what the three of you did and I see smiles all round so that's a good thing.

I know your country has troubles, @hlezama keeps me informed and I engage with many Venezuelan's on Hive - I wouldn't say I know all about it, but I get the gist of it. It's probably very easy to lapse into thoughts of all the bad but it's also nice to think about the good, to make the most of the situation.

Anyway, sorry, this is a long comment. Thanks for coming by.

!ENGAGE 25

Sort:  

Es interesante lo que comentas y si los dias mas los estan relacionados en su mayoría con perdidas, duelos, abandono, algo que no salio bien, de esos dias solo quedan recuerdos y de alguna forma se revive el sentimiento. De lo malo no tenemos fotos, no las tomamos, porque es terribles quedarnos enganchados alli, en mi pais hay muchas cosas que no quisira ver que me dan impotencia y dolor, me deprimen y puedo pasar un dia sumida en ese pensamiento de angustia. Pero hay que superarlo la vida es una y ha que vivirla al maximo. Gracias por tu comentario y pues feliz de compartir contigo desde tan lejos conocer tus aventuras y de desventuras.

Dwelling on the bad isn't healthy, neither is ignoring it...To move forward we must know our current position and where we want to go. Understanding the bad things and why they happen can assist us in that.