Two hundred and fifty [one] reasons

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago

Standard rectangle (1).png

Be sure you put your feet in the right place, then stand firm.

- Abraham Lincoln -



Finding something can inspire people to many different thoughts, attitudes and actions which can be good, bad, negative or positive and everything in between; the full gamut of emotions are available and, as there are so many possible scenarios, everything on that scale has, or will be, deployed by someone at some point.

Imagine a person finding they have a terminal illness or one who finds they are pregnant, have been conscripted to fight in a war or that they have been accepted into the university degree they have been working towards. All will come with a different set of thoughts, attitudes and actions.

I found something last week myself and I thought I'd share it here as a response to my #weekend-engagement posting concept which you can find here and pinned to the top of my community, THE WEEKEND.


I say, I found something, but that discovery was due to someone else finding something.

The first find

I have a friend, an ex-military chap who, like so many, suffers with post traumatic stress disorder [PTSD] based around his service. He struggles in life although most will never see it because he is stoic, reluctant to bring his misery to others and a little hard-headed as well.

He found himself so detached from life after his service ended his marriage stretched to breaking point, then broke completely and he drifted from place to place, job to job and couldn't seem to find a commitment to anything, least of all his life. I'd not say he was homeless although it was borderline, just that he drifted, physically and emotionally. I get it too, I know what he went through and know also that many wuold not be able to carry the burden he carries.

I had a burger with my buddy last week and in talking he told me about a fortuitous moment in which he found $250 on the footpath (sidewalk) with no one around to claim it. He scooped it up and put it in his pocket.

I was thinking at the time, that couldn't have happened to a more deserving fellow. Sure, it was a little sad for the person who had lost it, but as always, one person's loss is another persons gain. I asked what he did with the money of course, knowing he currently operates from paycheck to paycheck with nothing, or very little, left in reserve. He goes without a lot.

Ever the person to keep tight-lipped about things he was reluctant to tell me, but I pulled rank on him and he ended up telling me, albeit in a very shy and humble manner.

The spend

My mate went to the supermarket and bought a pile of protein bars in boxes of six bars. He also picked up a twenty four pack of one litre spring water bottles and some bags of lollies of various types. He then went to the newsagency and bought twenty four scratchy-tickets that offered the potential for $25,000 in prize money for a winning combination.

Loading this all into his, almost completely dead, should be crushed into oblivion, held together with duct tape, zip ties and hope, vehicle and off he went.

Over the next couple days my friend visited various locations around our city in which he knew homeless people gathered (from prior experiences) and proceeded to give twenty four of them a bottle of water, box of protein bars, a bag of lollies and a scratch-off ticket each.

The second find

Returning back to what I found.

I'll be honest and say that I know very well the character of my cobber; he is a man of honour, integrity and humility. He is a man of action and one who cannot abide injustice. He has done things most people couldn't understand and is a man who knows how to lift heavy shit, despite that weight bearing down on him so severely that it almost breaks him. But, I learned something, I found something in him, that I'd overlooked and...it aligns with something within myself that most don't know about me.

I'm not going to name that thing as it cuts too close to the bone and I don't think it's the blockchain's business however I'll say that it was a revelation for me to find that thing in a person I've known for so many years. It reminded me that we never really know a person, despite our perception and belief that we do.


I can give you two hundred and fifty reasons why this person means a lot to me but, again, many of them are not blockchain-appropriate. All are good reasons though and reasons that would see me stand with this guy and watch his six, look after him as he would me.

Last week I found another reason and that was prompted by his actions around that $250 he found which, he really could have used himself, but didn't really need. So, my two hundred and fifty reasons have grown to two hundred and fifty one reasons.

Lastly, I can't help but wonder if the person who lost that $250 would have done the same thing as my mate? We'll never know of course and, in truth, it's a moot point. My mate did what he did and it caused me to find another reason to call him friend.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

The image is my own and not for your use

Sort:  

That's a very nice story. Your friend sounds like a charming fellow.

Thank you, and yes, he tries to be his best version; he fails a lot and succeeds sometimes as well.

Glad to see hear that story, and the awesome outcome to help others. Wouldn't it have been a cool add-on if one of the people he was helping won the jackpot?

!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@lordtimoty just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @galenkp.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
You can still slap 1/1 more people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

You're welcome and yeah I guess we'll never know if one of those chaps managed to get a win. It would be good if that happened, but I know for a fact that what my friend did brought him all the satisfaction he needed and that's what matters.

I hope you're Saturday afternoon is rolling out nicely.

That's a really honourable thing to do - give to others even though he himself didn't have much. I think that if you have experienced being in dire straits financially, you tend to see things differently to others who haven't, but with this person it sounds like it goes deeper than that.

I enjoyed the fact that he passed on the chance of a jackpot to them...almost like he was sharing the luck he had picking up that $250.

Life is made up of pressures and how we deal with each determines how the rest of life rolls out, to some degree at least. My friendbhas had people help him at times and he felt inclined to give some back. Had he not found that money he would have been in no worse a position, just as he was not after he gave it away. Status quo.

But, he felt like he did a good thing and that put him in a better position anyway.

How kind he must be and to know that his empathy and sympathy were such that in that moment he thought, 'How often I'd love to get that helping hand' and thus He could become that very same hand.

I always feel so sad and bad about all the vets. Our current world leaning more and more towards more war (heaven knows there are always war going on in so many places) that the very people who have to do ALL the work in the war are those who so often get left behind.

I'm happy your chum found that money and that he was able to share the love and feel a moment of joy in giving that which he too would love to receive. It's stories like this that make me feel Hope for humanity in general. Thanks for this @galenkp

Unfortunately war happens, it's always been the way and, in our lifetimes at least, it will always be the way. I say this as there's been no indication of it changing. In fact, the contrary.

Anyway, people fight those wars and most back home do not understand what they go through when they return home. Some don't make it. I've written about mates of mine that have returned and been unable to cope so take actions to end their suffering. Some, like the fellow in my post here, find a way to struggle on. What he did with this money is part of that. It was something that meant a great deal for him, brought him some self respect, and gave rise to the honour and integrity that has shaped his life, reminded him of it.

Thanks for your kind words.

What a story, I wish he wins that $25,000 prize money - I am sure, if he wins, he would definitely use that for so many other people who are in need. Life always does not offer a right place to some - by the time, we realize its wrong or right, its too late some times. But one can only look forward.

One of the homeless people who my friend gave those scratch-off tickets to may indeed win, we'll never know I guess.

Sometimes it seems that people with the least, give the most. I think it could be because they know personally how it feels to be in the other person's place. They understand that what might only be a "tidbit" to someone who has never been there, for some that have, it is worth the equivalent of an emotional hug that can last for days.... or longer.... and a refill of hope.

Of course there are others too who have never been there, but are capable of having great empathy for other people and their situations. I affectionately say I think I was born with an over-sized empathizer. 😄 I know, for real, is that a thing? I know my Mom may have indicated at one time that I "might" be a smidge gullible from time to time, although she didn't use that word and who knows, a time or two maybe I was, but most of the time I've ventured to help someone I thought had a need I might could help with, I'm sure of the need and if I helped somewhere that wasn't validly needed, that thought doesn't bother me.

I'm glad you pulled this story out of your friend so you could share it. Now his selflessness has done even more good by making others feel good. I LOVE a sweet positive story. It restores my hope as well.

Being kind is a good thing and it seems empathy is your superpower. Also a good thing.

My friend is a hard man, one has to be to live through what he has, but also a fair man. I am the same. Some deserve help and some do not in our (his and my) opinion and the key is knowing which and when, then acting. It is amazing to see people who are able to find balance with it and not lean (and stay) one way or another.

Sometimes difficult things need to be done and that takes special people. Sometimes people just need help and that takes special people too.

What I didn't write was the emotional turmoil he went through over the person who had lost the money and how he may get it back to them. Giving it to the police isn't an option these days. He is decisive though and so did what he did.

I hope this makes sense. ☝️

I know a few gullible people but it's not a word I like to use and certainly couldn't be called that myself. It's not a good state to be in I guess and those that are often get taken advantage of. [Think those who prey on the elderly to rob them of their savings.] I often wonder if those people were always gullible/easily influenced or it's an age thing. I wonder because I am slowly getting older, like others. I can't see myself becoming gullible, but what if?

It makes perfect sense.

I am sure that sometimes old has something to do with it if we lose a little of our ability to discern the truth of things, but that would be a little more of an issue than just aging.

I think being exposed to the internet for years might help us be more aware than before as we have gotten to see all the ways bad people have/are scamming and cheating others. I know I'm suspicious of everything thing ! LOL

I don't believe caution is a bad thing when applied to certain situations and circumstances and suspiciousness is a form of caution right?

I came across this post last night but, alas, as Life of Dad, didn't get back to it until this morning.

Your friend certainly has an inner light to him. I can honestly say that I think most people who would find that sum of money would most likely not spend it for others in need. It's nice to hear that there are still people like that in the world, and people looking to make the day just even a little bit brighter for others. Thanks for sharing.

Hey mate, #dadlife takes priority, I understand.

Yeah, my burry huh? Champ. He did it for himself also though as he gained a lot from the act of giving; it made him feel good. I htink that's a good enough reason and the by-product of showing generosity is that others also gain. A win-win.

Great story but reading the comments nobody really touched on the lost money. I'm pissing myself laughing at the pulp fiction moment.

Meanwhile in a house close by, Mrs Rafferty, a 90 year old widow who lost her entire weeks pension money on her way to the grocery store is starving for the week as she wondered how she was stupid enough to carry such an amount on her person. She gives her cat mittens her last morsel of ham from her plate and bunkers down for the long week ahead too ashamed to call her daughter. Meanwhile some lad is using her cash to by fucking lollipops and scratchcards. Hahah. 🤣🤣

This post resonated with me from the lost money because I'm still very sore over losing £50 going down to the videogames store to buy Street Fighter II on the SNES when I am 10.

Your friend seems like a nice guy. No disrespect. Cheers.

Good point however I think my friend figured he had more chance of success of making a small difference to a few people than actually getting the money back to someone who he didn't know, wasn't there and he couldn't track down.

Giving the money over to the police (probably for use in their end of year Christmas function) isn't much of an option these days.

Anyway, he did what he did...It can go on the very bottom of the list of reasons he's going to hell I guess, it's a long list. Like mine.

I hope you find the ability to recover from the lost $50 episode...And that you managed to get Street Fighter II after all.

My mate did what he did and it caused me to find another reason to call him friend.

Who wouldn´t want to call him a friend with what he did. I bet you, the real owner of the money might not even think of doing what your friend did by helping the poor ones. Sure, there are opportunities that comes by to us, and testing our true integrity. Your friend did maintained his integrity and extend his hands to the needy with the money he found.

Indeed. I'm glad he found the money and happy how he spent it. He is a champ.

This story absolutely made my morning, thank you so much for sharing it! I know I would love this guy to pieces and I bet there is no way in a million years he would have told a soul about these good deeds had you not made him...lololol and that make me love him even more!

If we can have just one friend like that we have inherited the all the world can offer! Thanks again for sharing!

He's a good mate and I insisted he tell me. It was like pulling teeth and when I found out I didn't make a big deal. Sort of said, good work bro, gave him a meaningful look and that was enough. Trust me, everyone needs a mate like this chap. Sure, he needs propping up at times, but he's a good egg.

he needs propping up at times

we all do to some degree.

Indeed we do.

Your friend is so kind and generous. Even if everyone claims they will do the same thing he did with such money, who knows? 🤷 But we can only confirm via actions. The true claim is in the doing not in the claiming!

Yes, actions speak louder than intentions right?

Your friend is a great person and I can see why you are friends.

From my experience, it is that those who have the least are the ones that give the most.

I'm selective with who I spend time with and this fellow is one I'm happy to give some time. He's a good chap.

Well he certainly sounds it.

"Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind"

This part in the story got me. I'm motivated and also learnt something about life. Thank you for writing.

Yes, I live my life by that phrase.

Either you're friend must be a really good man or you're a really good friend because the way you speak so highly of him, makes me appreciate your friendship with him even more.

Your friend seems to me as a kind, humble, generous, and empathetic person. And I just love people like that.

I adore your friendship with this mate of yours and I really did enjoy this sentimental story between you and him.

It reminded me that we never really know a person, despite our perception and belief that we do.

Or at least till you live with them. LoL, i speak from experience.

My friend is a good man for aure, he deserves more than he has because he's given so much.

I'm very careful with the word friend as I believe it's a word that should only be used for select people and for good reason. Acquaintance is one I use a lot though, I know a lot of people. This doesn't mean I like acquaintances less than friends, just that I trust them less. I hope this makes sense.

No. I completely get it.
I actually don't expect you to trust your acquaintances that much! LoL, who does that?