Sultan Bello Hall Week

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago

It's the end of the semester, and every department and hall on campus had a dinner party.

Sultan Bello Hall (my hostel) used a week to celebrate the end of the session. Below is how the week went down


Image shot by me

Day 1- Hall gyration and Rally

Rally
It started this last week. The activities performed that day were rally and gyration. The name sultan is a title given to Islamic rulers. So we all dressed like sultans by putting on jalamia and tying a scarf around our heads and neck. Two horses were rented, And as the culture has always been, the hall mayor will be the one to ride the horse.

We had our faces painted for the rally. Everyone with different face paintings.

We went for the rally playing music, drums, and trumpets. We rallied around the whole campus that day. We were jubilating and dancing, just for people to know sultan Bello Hall was there.

After hours of going about, we came back to the hostel. It was late in the evening, so the hall mayor told us to go inside and freshen up and get ready for the gyration.

Gyration time
At night, the gyration began, the DJ gave us the vibe. We partied that night with the presence of Chapman, palm wine, and Asun (roasted meat).

It was fun throughout that night. Immediately we finished the gyration, I went straight to my room to relax. I slept off and woke up the following morning and found out I didn't lock the door throughout the night. It was God that protected me because none of my things were stolen.

Day 2
Morning- Health care

The second day of the hall week. A health care group came to the hall to test us and lecture us about how to live healthily.

Health care
They did HIV test for us all. It was my first time doing the test. They pierced our thumbs with a little pin and took little of our blood for the test.

The results came out negative. None of us was HIV positive in the hall. They gave us condoms to prevent contracting HIV and other Sexually transmitted diseases.

Night- Movie/game night
This night was fun. As the game is what students like the most. We played a lot of games that night. From table tennis, to board games like scrabble and ludo. It was fun that night, as the games made everywhere lively.


*Image shot by me *

After playing those games for hours, then we moved to pad games, which is the real deal. There were three games available that night. Some played PES, some played FIFA, while the others played mortal combat.

I played the only one I can play, which is PES. Though I try sometimes in FIFA, but I'm not good at it like I am in PES.

That same night, we were shown a movie in the Hall's dome. I left there that day because I was stressed. I started hearing from people that I missed a lot, that the movie they showed was interesting.

Surprisingly, the movie they watched was Shang chi and the legend of the ten rings. I laughed and laughed because I had watched the movie already. I was happy I didn't even stay there to watch the movie. Though it is a very interesting one. A very great work done by the Marvel cinematic universe.

Day 3
Sultan of the kitchen

Day 3 was just about finding the best cook among the sultans. There were five contestants for the sultan of the kitchen. As you can see in the picture above. Individuals paid 1,000naira i.e $2 to participate. And the grand prize was 25k naira approximately $50.

I wasn't around that day, it was the same day with my department's dinner. I would have participated If I was around. But all well and good, my department's dinner was so wonderful.

I came back late from my departmental dinner that night. By the time I came back, they'd finished the cooking competition already. And I was told the guy with the red apron won.

Day 4- Spelling bee/ Spag night
Spelling bee
On the fourth morning of the sultan Bello Hall week, we had a spelling bee. We chose a representative from each floor of the hostel. They were all given words to spell. My floor's representative was good but he made a mistake while spelling a word, so we took the second position.

Spag night
This night was fun. It is a tradition that a night will be dedicated for common pot. Common pot means gathering of foodstuffs by all students and cooking them together.

This year's was great. The hall mayor-elect and some other people had gone to the market to get pepper. So all we had to do was to bring one spaghetti each. It wasn't compulsory, in the sense that even those that didn't pay ate out of the food.

We cooked the page together in a big pot. While the spag was on fire, we were gyrating at the same time. Singing like we were having a bonfire. We all brought out our plates as we ate the delicious spaghetti we made.

Day 5- Dinner party
To round up the week and session as a whole, we ended it with a dinner party. Where got our tickets for 3000naira ≈ $6.

Awards were presented that same night. The hall mayor-elect was sworn in as the predecessor is a finalist and is leaving the University.

Every activity performed during the week we're great. So glad we had a nice time after a long exam.

All images in this article were shot by me.

Thanks for reading 🙏❤️

Sort:  

It's nice to see events like this organized, not to mention it was for one week, I mean 5 days. Looks like fun.

Thanks erikah ❤️


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @herbae! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 20 posts.
Your next target is to reach 30 posts.
You got more than 100 replies.
Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2022
Balls of Steel - HiveFest⁷ Petanque Tournament Results
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!