Tito Bruce, the man he is...

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago (edited)

yellowbell.jpg

It is Sunday morning on my side of the world and albeit cold, I am feeling warm as I remember the many influences I have had with people whom I’ve met throughout the years, some unknowingly left beautiful marks in my life. Many thanks to @galenkp, who once again, came up with amazing topics for this week's engagement post, and I chose option 2 for my participation.

Tell us about someone, other than your parents, who has supported and influenced you and made a positive difference to your life. What did they do, how did they do it and how have you benefitted - What lessons do you remember the best.

A little over 3 years ago, we moved from the city to my parents’ county where people love to party and one doesn't need an invitation to attend. One of the parties we took part in was our neighbors' thanksgiving. This man, whom I learned to call "Tito Bruce" is a jolly elderly in his late 60s and is my father’s best buddy.

I was intrigued the very first time I met him and was drawn to getting to know him better so each time he holds a party, we would always attend. During such times, he would share some stories full of nuggets. He talks without sugar-coating, yet has that kind of charisma that made me glued to my seat listening to what he has to say.

At some point, we were warned by some of his distant relatives to not believe him because he is full of himself and is simply an arrogant man who has a very inflated ego. It made me why his own relatives talked about him that way. My Dad chooses whom he associates himself with and making this man one of his friends made me even more curious.

When our house was finished, the farm boy and I had our thanksgiving and house warming party and he came. When the other visitors left, he stayed along with Dad and we had some chitchats. They talked about different things making us laugh until the conversations got serious when it touched the issue of the farm boy and I having no kids after years of being married. He advised us to not lose faith and to never get bothered by what other people say about our situation.

It is quite common in our country to become the topic of others when they know you have been married for some time and they won't see you get pregnant. And throughout the early years of my marriage, I would cry and spend days and nights feeling sorry for myself because I easily get hurt about people’s negative opinions of me and take them to heart.

After meeting Tito Bruce many times over on different occasions, I watched him act with enthusiasm, kindness, and with no pretensions at all. Ironically, those who talk against him often run to him in their times of need and he would help readily. If it takes him to walk a mile or more from his home to a needy fellow's house, he'd go unmindful even if it’s hot, rainy, or cold, or even if he'd be home late at night. And whilst some people appreciate him with high regard, others don't seem to be happy about what he does and would often talk about him as being an 'egotistical tiny' man (they refer to him as ‘tiny’ because of his small body frame).

His wife narrated at one time that he was aware that some people often badmouth him, but he just didn’t let their opinions keep him from doing what he does best – working for his living and helping others anytime and in whatever way he can.

Although we left their neighborhood, Tito Bruce definitely left an indelible mark and impact in both mine and the farm boy’s hearts. His advice, way of life, and deeds taught us not to let other people’s opinions define who we are and to keep on lending our helping hands. His children must be so proud of him because I am, for once in this lifetime, I've met someone small yet big enough to inspire me and the farm boy to be just who we are.

I am also proud to say that we no longer care about other people’s murmurs and I don’t cry or pity myself anymore when hearing some untoward things being thrown at us. Tito Bruce's influence is beyond just letting go of what other people say. It made us shift our focus toward loving and enjoying life, doing better, and becoming our best. And for that, we will always be grateful to have met him.

Thank you for your time and have a wonderful day!

Hive1.jpg

FarmGirl writes from their lil kingdom in the mountains of PH. You can also find her on Read Noise Torum Twitter

Hive - lower.jpg

Sort:  

Those are some powerful lessons he taught you! Good to not care about the gossip of others.

Yes, one of the best we have been taught so far that freed us from stress :)

I'm glad that meeting Tito Bruce has helped you learn not to pay attention to what others say about you. Learning to don't care what others say about us isn't an easy task, but when we do it, is as if a weight of stones was lifted from our shoulders.

Yes sis, very glad we met him. And you are right, not caring what other people say about us is very liberating.

Congratulations @ifarmgirl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.
You published more than 50 posts.
Your next target is to reach 60 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 21


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

@ifarmgirl, thank you for supporting the HiveBuzz project by voting for our witness.

Here Is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 21